We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveler rating
83
64
22
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
64
22
8
4
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 181 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2016

Very good spot for sport activities in spring and fall. Good service and excellent food. Close to a very nice beach. All well organised.
Only WLAN needs to be improved ( too slow and coverage only in the reception area)

  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2015

This hotel is Swiss owned. My first warning: barely anyone speaks English. So without knowledge of German or Italian, stay away. Unfortunately, knowing German does not really help that much either. Most of the staff may indeed be bilingual, speaking Italian and/or Sardinian. Department heads can also speak German. However, waiters in the restaurant, maids cleaning your room, Bademeister (pool managers) will not understand your German. At the reception, however, the situation is better.

You might think there is nothing to talk about with the waiters and maids. Think again: it is a Swiss-owned hotel, meaning there are many rules you will have to follow. You will be given a big red badge to hang on beach umbrellas to reserve them. If you forget to take the badge when you leave the pool area or the beach, the pool managers are instructed to remove it, as you will learn at the presentation in good German from Herr Direktor. So when you realize that you've forgotten your badge and try to find pool managers, they will have no idea what you want from them (also good luck finding them when you need them). When you return to your room after the beach and realize it has not been cleaned yet, the maids will be happy not to clean it now that you are there. But if you try to explain to them when they can come tomorrow to avoid such a time conflict, they will have no idea what you want from them. If you are a returning FerienVerein customer and want to use your loyalty card to get a 50% discount on a "pizza feast," as they word it in promotional materials, the cashier will explain to you in sign language (and good Italian) that the 50% discount is not applicable to take-out. You'll have to wait till the maitre d' comes to understand the required procedure: to enjoy the discount, you'll have to get your whole family dressed after the beach, walk to the restaurant, and pay the service fee of 2 Euros per person. The maitre d' would be apologetic and will point out the instruction from Herr Direktor on the wall.

Given that they cater to German-speaking customers and are Swiss-owned, this lack of German-speaking personnel is puzzling.

And now we come to the second systemic problem: greediness of the management. This greediness is propagated to the department heads and is partly micromanagement. And personally I get very annoyed when someone micromanages me treating me like a potential thief. For example, you would be advised not to get sick in this hotel. If your elderly mother has food poisoning and is too weak to go to the buffet breakfast (included in the price of your stay), you might think an apple and a yogurt are not too much to ask. Well, the head of the reception would be happy to charge you the 12 Euros take-out price for that. No mercy to the old and the weak. He would also smugly explain to you that these things (food poisoning) are too disgusting for him to talk about -- hence no need to learn the appropriate vocabulary in German -- and would be proud not to have plain yogurt in their small shop "because they are not a supermarket." You are welcome to walk 20 minutes in the sun to the nearest real supermarket, or better still pay them these 12 Euros.

More on the topic of food: all the four members of my family had stomach problems, some more severe than others. Whether this is related to the non-potable water, which of course we did not drink but which we had to use to brush our teeth, or to the way the food was prepared remains a mystery.

If you try to pay your bill the night before to avoid the queue in the morning, short answer: you can't. First, not all the reception staff understands that paying for the room does not mean vacating the room. Secondly, when you pay the bill for the restaurant, etc., they will ask you to return all the extras: the safe key, the beach towels, the above-mentioned umbrella badge... The check-out time is 10 am. If your plane is only in the evening and you'd like to have the last dip in the pool, you'll have to leave a deposit for the towels and the replacement badge. In cash. Never mind that the promotional materials boast of it being a cash-free hotel, never mind that the nearest cash machine is 20 km away. You need to leave a deposit in Euros now, for each item separately, only to get it back tomorrow upon departure. Do they really think you will steal the clunky wooden badge with a number painted? They will, however, let you have lunch at the hotel restaurant after the check-out, for which you cannot pay at the restaurant itself but will get a check without a deposit -- to be paid later, before your actual departure. So it does not make sense but does make your last day unpleasant. Even luggage trolleys -- on the hotel premises -- require a 1-Euro coin to operate. On top of everything else, this extra trip to get the coins really makes you mad. Especially when you learn that they are broken anyway and you need someone with pliers to get your coin back. So yes, if you don't want to stand in line to pay the bill upon departure, you will have to stand in line to get your deposits back. It's a lose-lose unless you're leaving early.

Our only experience with the Mini-club for kids from the age of 4 was as such: the two "animators" preferred playing a board game with each other, leaving the four children in attendance to draw something on their own. Our daughter did not want to go again, although she had been very enthusiastic about the idea of joining the Mini-club. They do organize mini-disco in the evening often enough, for those who love loud music and screaming at the top of their voices.

As far as the facilities go, the pool is excellent (when not occupied by the sports team who has an annoying habit of dividing it into two parts with water polo). The sand beach is close and nice. The food is mostly Sardinian, changes every day (a week's cycle), and is reasonable (although not gourmet). The rooms are fine, even the non-renovated ones (with the exception of the shower, which is impossible to point in the direction needed). Entertainment is way too loud in the evenings for a family hotel. The Internet is free but restricted to 4 hours per person/device per day and tends to ask for numerical passwords on a smartphone almost every time. It may also be unusable at unpredictable times.

All in all, I would not recommend staying in this hotel until the staff changes their attitude and the management changes their policies.

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MarlethEx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferienverein, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Tirreno Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2015

Dear Amorkuz

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Tirreno Resort. We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies.

Our hotels are Swiss owned but we are working with regional staff and we have always multilingual employees (German, English, French etc.).

At all our hotels, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

Best regards, Roman B., Ferienverein hotel group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We came back to the Club Hotel Tirreno for the second year in a row and eventually we are again satisfied. The strengths are: the size of the room (we chose a type A apartment) comfortable for a a family of 4 persons, the kindness and accuracy of the staff and the giant swimming pool ideal for kids of all ages; we also have to notice that the management has been investing over the years to renovate a facility which is definetely not new so that acceptable standard levels are achieved.
We noticed some weaknessess as well: quality and variety of food is not always up to sufficient standards (we noticed same dishes on several days and food no longer available well before the restaurant closing time that by the way is inacceptably too early), weekly activities are not sufficiently promoted as well as the animation staff which is for kids only. Finally the hotel beach is a bit cramped and overcrowded so that often we took this as an opportunity to enjoy the amazing locations in the vicinity.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trustworthy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed the 4th time in the Club Hotel Tirreno and enjoy it every time more - slight investments are done every year to increase the standard level and we are looking forward to see the first renovated room after the new reception and the excellent new tennis courts - biking is on a professional level thanks to Bici Tour. The kids love the pool and the beach and the buffet is very good. Special thank to Luc Schwarz who tries everything to do an enjoyable time, also when the weather is not perfect.

Room Tip: Take the one in the main building with the view on the sea
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marius178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2010

The hotel is perfect for families with children, as its standard rooms contain a small separate room with two single beds. The location is beautiful, close to the sea, but there are only a few restaurants or bars around the hotel. You can swim either in the huge pool of the hotel or in the sea. Most of the guests are Swiss, so a lot of the animation is in German. The hotel offers also a lot of sporting activites and daily sight-seeing excursions. The dinner buffets were vary tasty, breakfast is ok too. An excellent price performance ratio for Sardinia.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EHGZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews