We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveler rating
24
43
32
16
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
43
32
16
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot watermichael palinrooftop terraceprivate roomincredible viewselectric blanketsrooms are basica great place to relaxwestern toilettrekgorgefrankiecourtyard
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 135 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2017

The only reason to stay here is the view. Make sure to get one of the superior rooms with a view, otherwise it's pointless to stay here. The rooms are basic and not well maintained, the beds were kind of dirty. The food and drinks are overpriced but I guess that is due to the difficult location. Overall, it is a good place to stay location wise, but don't expect too much from it.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EU2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2017 via mobile

We had a private room with an excellent view on the mountain. The beds were OK, cleanliness average. Bathroom was bad, with indefinable spots on the floor. They have nice viewing terrace, and the price / quality of the food was fine. I found the son and father nice enough, not helped rudely or whatsoever. The price of the room is too expensive though.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Sjakie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2017

The guy who runs the place seems sick of the whole thing. His surly wife and daughters are totally disinterested. The rooftop and rooms have incredible views and it was generally clean and adequate, however the power is only on for part of the night, I missed out on hot water, and there is no power or wifi during the day.
It feels silly to whinge about such things when you are in the middle of such a stunningly beautiful and remote place but other guesthouses had power and wifi and hot water. It's hard to get around without light.
It's very hard to order food and drink because the staff don't want to serve you, they are more interested in watching TV on their phones, and the order is often wrong. "coffee with milk" was served without milk, and when I asked for some, you'd think I'd spat at them. A jar of powdered milk was slammed on the table.
Food was good, place was amazing but not keen on the staff.

Room Tip: Demand the best room you can get because otherwise they shove you wherever or overcharge you.
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mowby1Kanoby123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2017 via mobile

We spent a night in Halfway Guesthouse in July 2017.
We paid 150¥ for a double room with private bathroom. The bathroom was not so clean and there was a disgusting smell from the sewer. The water was not so hot.
The owner speaks English, but the staff in general was not friendly.
We had naxi bread and vegetables for dinner (48¥). The vegetables were too oily and I didn't digest my dinner well (it was not good for the second day hike).
Overall, quite expensive for what they offer. We'd recommend checking out other guesthouses nearby, maybe they are better.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Serena_xue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2017

My partner and I had high hopes for Halfway Guesthouse; it was spoken highly of by other travellers along the Tiger Leaping Gorge hike, it was professionally advertised along the route and had a much sought after spot on the semi-official maps which were circulated about. Sadly, it definitely failed to live up to these expectations. Admittedly, it's roof terrace has a phenomenal view, though I imagine this is shared by its local competitors. It was twice the price of Naxi guesthouse, both in terms of accommodation and food. The service was fairly poor; the owner was generally unfriendly. The rooms had good views but were fairly dingy and lacking in basic amenities. I'd recommend checking out other guesthouses nearby.

Room Tip: Probably check out the other local guesthouses
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ed N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews