We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveler rating
24
43
32
16
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
43
32
16
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot watermichael palinrooftop terraceprivate roomincredible viewselectric blanketsrooms are basica great place to relaxwestern toilettrekgorgefrankiecourtyard
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 135 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2017

The guy who runs the place seems sick of the whole thing. His surly wife and daughters are totally disinterested. The rooftop and rooms have incredible views and it was generally clean and adequate, however the power is only on for part of the night, I missed out on hot water, and there is no power or wifi during the day.
It feels silly to whinge about such things when you are in the middle of such a stunningly beautiful and remote place but other guesthouses had power and wifi and hot water. It's hard to get around without light.
It's very hard to order food and drink because the staff don't want to serve you, they are more interested in watching TV on their phones, and the order is often wrong. "coffee with milk" was served without milk, and when I asked for some, you'd think I'd spat at them. A jar of powdered milk was slammed on the table.
Food was good, place was amazing but not keen on the staff.

Room Tip: Demand the best room you can get because otherwise they shove you wherever or overcharge you.
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mowby1Kanoby123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2017 via mobile

We spent a night in Halfway Guesthouse in July 2017.
We paid 150¥ for a double room with private bathroom. The bathroom was not so clean and there was a disgusting smell from the sewer. The water was not so hot.
The owner speaks English, but the staff in general was not friendly.
We had naxi bread and vegetables for dinner (48¥). The vegetables were too oily and I didn't digest my dinner well (it was not good for the second day hike).
Overall, quite expensive for what they offer. We'd recommend checking out other guesthouses nearby, maybe they are better.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Serena_xue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2017

My partner and I had high hopes for Halfway Guesthouse; it was spoken highly of by other travellers along the Tiger Leaping Gorge hike, it was professionally advertised along the route and had a much sought after spot on the semi-official maps which were circulated about. Sadly, it definitely failed to live up to these expectations. Admittedly, it's roof terrace has a phenomenal view, though I imagine this is shared by its local competitors. It was twice the price of Naxi guesthouse, both in terms of accommodation and food. The service was fairly poor; the owner was generally unfriendly. The rooms had good views but were fairly dingy and lacking in basic amenities. I'd recommend checking out other guesthouses nearby.

Room Tip: Probably check out the other local guesthouses
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ed N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2017

the location of this place means it will never struggle which is a shame because the neighbouring hostels might give it a run for it's money. We had a double room with view (through v dirty windows), an bathroom that took 20 minutes and 2 staff members to get hot water into, electric cables hanging from the light fitting and tape around the bathroom windows. highly suspect the room isn't meant to be finished yet but how knows! food was fine - basic but that's to be expected but the reception staff were miserable. the viewing terrace where you chat with other hikers over a beer is the saving grace really

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GayleUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2017

We were planning to stay at Come Inn but there was nobody at home so we went next door to Halfway. Having read the reviews about Halfway G H it was not really on our plan but we had little choice.

Actually, it was fine, we had a room with twin beds, a clean western toilet and steaming hot shower plus a wall of glass looking at the mountains. Cost CNY150. There are a range of room , some without views, and going up to CNY200 with balcony. We had a few beers and a chat to fellow travellers before eating a delicious meal. We slept very well and rose late to enjoy an extremely good trekking breakfast. The owner, ‘Frankie’ was great and we think that previous reviews are probably a bit unfair. Those poor reviews might explain why he’s clearly done some renovations and was in the process of doing some more.

A big ‘thumbs up’ to Frankie who does have a claim to fame. When Michael Palin was filming his TV series, Himalaya, he stayed at Halfway G H and Frankie proudly displays a modest hand written sign advertising the fact.

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Itcanbedone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews