We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a disappointment!”
Review of Paradise Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Paradise Hotel
Ranked #8 of 165 Hotels in Shangri-La County
Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a disappointment!”
Reviewed June 5, 2011

From many of the reviews I was expecting to stay in a very nice hotel. I was sorely disappointed the moment I checked in. There was confusion on the amount of money they wanted me to leave for a deposit. Then I walked almost 10 minutes down a dark hall to my room that stunk with cigarette smoke. They told me that no other rooms were available and that they would send someone to "spray". No one ever came. The refrigerator was broken and when my local guide called, they said that is how it is. the room was small and cramped. Both the chinese and western breakfast buffet were horrible.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dragon0419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    56
    10
    8
    2
See reviews for
7
11
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2010

Our guide told us this was the best hotel in Shangri-la and we were not disappointed. A Chinese five star hotel, equivalent to a European four. The hotel also has the benefit of a large pool, although we didn’t use it.

We had a spacious, pleasant room, with what the Chinese apparently call a European bathroom (having a glass wall between the bedroom and bath, though I am pleased to say the loo and separate shower were both out of view). Our flat screen TV had three English language channels, CCTV 9, HBO and Discovery and the internet was freely available from a well equipped desk.

Hotel Check-in (and out) was fast and efficient and quite a nice touch was the complementary, airline style essentials pack on arrival. Service was actually good here, but as with a lot of Chinese hotels, the staff seemed quite reluctant to make the first move.

Our only main criticism is the location of the ‘coffee shop’ restaurant, which is used for breakfast, drinks and light meals, as it is located in the main lobby area and proved to be really quite chilly and uninviting. There is an English menu and food is good, though the Chinese eat dinner early here, so there is little atmosphere after 7:00. The buffet breakfast offers Chinese, English and Tibetan food. Well at least you can say you tried Yak's butter tea.

We also had altitude problems here, resulting in breathlessness, headaches, sleeplessness and nausea. Nothing to do with the hotel, more to do with the local area ranging in altitude between 3,400 and 4,000 meters. We were given some pills on the plane (which apparently are herbal based and are to be sucked every three hours) and encouraged to leave off the alcohol, drink ginger tea (delicious), eat chocolate and drink plenty of water. The symptoms only lasted a day or so and after that I would advise you to head for the large Carrefour’s in town, where you will find some very drinkable wine at affordable prices.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chinarog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2008

We were initially checked into Pacific Rim Hotel as part of a trip booked from ctrip.com but the hotel had no heating. We decided that trying to sleep in a 5 degree room was impossible and moved to Paradise Hotel on the same day. Our expectations weren't very high given the first accomodation so Paradise Hotel was a pleasant surprise.

Check in was efficient. Took us only a few minutes to get our room. But as the mentioned by the previous reviewer, you may encounter problems if you cannot communicate in Mandarin. The staff aren't exactly bi-lingual.

We had the basic Tibetan style room which was quaint and beautifully furnished. Most importantly, it was nice and warm inside! The fruit basket was also a welcomed sight and it was topped up each day with fresh bananas, apples and chinese pears. There was also a humidifier to reduce dryness in the room . The bed was typical of chinese hotels - hard but not too bad.

The bathroom was large and I loved the glass shower stall which gave plenty of room to move around. Toiletries were provided including travel size Colgate toothpaste, toothbrush, oatmeal soap, body moisturizer, shampoo and shower foam. There were bathrobes and bedroom slippers as well.

The hotel spa was under renovation when we were there. And it appears that there's only 1 restaurant in operation. We had both breakfast and dinner at this same restaurant. There was a Chinese - Western spread at breakfast. Having tried both, I can say for certain the Chinese is much much better. Coffee is pretty good unlike most Chinese hotels! I understand it's because Yunnan coffee ranks as the best in China. Dinner consisted mainly of Chinese homestyle cooking e.g kungpao chicken, mapo tofu. Dishes are huge. We ordered 3 dishes to share between 2 girls and we only managed to eat 1/2 of everything.

On the overall, we had a great stay and trip in Shangri-la, encountering no altitude sickness even when we reached 4500m above sea level. If you are worried about the altitude, there are plenty of shops selling bottled oxygen. Paradise hotel also has an oxygen bar.

  • Liked — quality of the rooms
  • Disliked — lack of any night entertainment
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hainult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, Holland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2008

Date: July 24, 2008:
reviewer: Vincent &Karin S. from Holland
Stuation: This Hotel is situated at the 3300m high Valley, close to Tibet mountains. The low amount of oxigen in the air can give you a headache and you might get restless as you are searching for fresh air.
Arriving late at 21.00 hours in this 5 star Hotel, we were forced to pay upfront and soon found out why. We got a room in which it was over 25 Celsius and the airco was off. Only the fan worked a bit to give the impression of a airco. It took us an annoying hour with 3 different hotel managers, who suddenly spoke less english than during Check-in and were using all non relevant excuses to not give us what we paid for. After getting at almost shouting level we finally got an other room, completely without airco but at least we could open the window.
The Next day we were asked to move out again to a standard room because it was 20 euro's cheaper (although the hotel was half empty due to low season). Also there only the window provided fresh air, but unfortunately you had to close the window at 18.00 because there are no insect screens on the windows. At night i stood up several times with a big headache and opened the room door and started with a towel to move some fresh air in to the room.
Next mornig we wanted to get a full Spa treatment with massages etc. , But it was closed due to maintenance!
The indoor swimming pool was without any chlorid, probably because it is in the middel of the hotel atrium and next to the restaurants, so nobody dared swimming in there. We also never saw a poolmen checking the water quality.
Than we went to the business center downstairs to arrange a taxi to some sites. ( The taxi drivers do not speak one word of english)We ended up in the wrong place and spent a fortune with out own mobile phone to communicate between The hotel, the texidriver and ourselves.
When ordering dinners half of the served platters where NOT what we ordered.
Paradise it was not.

  • Liked — the rooms are very nicy
  • Disliked — the non-service educated management
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jeeperV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2007

This hotel's English name is Paradise Hotel, and it does live up to the name. I was a plush option before going to Tibet.

ROOMS: Rooms are spacious and decorated in a modern, minimalist style. They are also extremely clean, including the bathrooms. The bathrooms even have a nifty glass shower door that doubles as a bathroom door. Bathrooms come with both showers and tubs.

My only complaint is that if you're not traveling with your spouse, the bathroom situation can be awkward since the glass door doesn't provide much privacy.

LOCATION: This hotel is about a 30-minute walk, 15-minute bus ride, or 7-minute taxi ride to the Old Town.

There are a lot of small restaurants and shops nearby.

STAFF: I had only limited interaction with the staff, so I didn't notice anything particular good or bad about their service.

FOOD: The hotel restaurant is really good. We had dinner and breakfast there, and the dinner was one of the best I had in Yunnan. The dishes have interesting twists to them that you don't see in standard hotel restaurants.

MISC: You might experience some altitude sickness in Shangri-la, so be sure to rest up and drink water.

  • Liked — Quality of rooms, good restaurant
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madridtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2006

Judging from the interior deco, Tian Jie is indeed a 5-star hotel. Greenery abound in this enclosed garden set around the hotel. Very pretty. I only spent a night there and did not manage to try the oxygen bar (sounds like a god-send for many who suffer from altitude-sickness there) The breakfast isn't that great (perhaps our appetites are affected by the altitude)
Generally a nice hotel with friendly staff. I remember smiles wherever I go.

  • Liked — The deco
  • Stayed December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tseblevart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shangri-La County hotels
0.4 mi away
Hylandia by Shangri-La
Hylandia by Shangri-La
#4 of 165 in Shangri-La County
80 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arro Khampa Shangrila By Zinc Journey
Arro Khampa Shangrila By Zinc Jo...
#5 of 165 in Shangri-La County
72 reviews
6.0 mi away
Banyan Tree Ringha
Banyan Tree Ringha
#1 of 165 in Shangri-La County
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Songtsam Shangri-la (Lugu) Hotel
Songtsam Shangri-la (Lugu) Hotel
#2 of 165 in Shangri-La County
337 reviews
2.5 mi away
Songtsam Retreat at Shangri la - MGallery Collection
Songtsam Retreat at Shangri la -...
#3 of 165 in Shangri-La County
313 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Wonderland
Hotel Wonderland
#25 of 165 in Shangri-La County
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Hotel

Property: Paradise Hotel
Address: No.165 Changzheng Avenue, Jiantang Zhen, Shangri-La County 674400, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Shangri-La County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 165 Hotels in Shangri-La County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Paradise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Hotel Shangri-La County, China - Yunnan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing