We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Benzilan Songtsam”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Songtsam Shangri-la (Lugu) Hotel
Ranked #2 of 166 Hotels in Shangri-La County
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Benzilan Songtsam”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I would love to keep this place to myself. We planned to stay only two nights at Benzilan. We decided to prolong the stay on the first day. The formula, pay a fixed rate and get 3 meals included is absolutely fabulous and excellent value for money. The food is superb. For breakfast there is a buffet. For lunch and dinner a set meal is offered. We love Chinese food and in this hotel it's as good as it gets. Everything comes from the hotel's own organic veggie garden. Guests are encouraged to pick their own. Five stars all round for this gem.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    41
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
86
116
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This hotel is modern but built in a traditional style. The rooms were comfortable and the staff were genuinely friendly and helpful. The Tibetan staff couldn't do enough to look after you and were charming. The views from the hotel were lovely and you are a short walk from the Songzanlin monastery.

Room Tip: Go for a room as low down the hotel as possible. The altitude really affected me and I really strugg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

A charming hotel with wooden floors and spacious rooms. Services were highly attentive from the check-in time to the end. For example, when we checked out, left the luggage at the hotel, and asked for a ride (free) to the airport later in the day, the staff offered to have the hotel van pick us up in the old town in order to save us a trip back to the hotel. As mentioned by other reviewers, the staff also provided an English-speaking guided tour of the Tibetan Buddhist monastery at a specified time. To get to the old town, hotel guests can choose between town taxis (negotiated rate, meter not running at all), or a regular bus between the monastery and the town. We loved this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puzzled02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
446 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at the Songtsam Lodge, not to be confused with the Songtsam retreat, which is at the back of the village, set back from the road.
This is a typical Tibetan style hotel.
Our room was on the fourth floor, and the steps are very steep. This was a problem for me, with the altitude, but there is oxygen on tap in the library if you need it.
Unless you want to catch the bus into Shangrila town, you will need to eat in the hotel. The food is typically Tibetan, includes a lot of yak, and is very nice
Our room also had super view of the lake,
The hotel offers to get tickets to the nearby monastery, which is very useful as they also provide one of their english speaking staff to show you around
Another quaint custom is that they give you 'hotel shoes! - you leave your own in lockers outside.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the lake. The higher the better, but stairs are very steep
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crans Montana
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We loved this hotel. Dont get confused with the other Songtsam Hotel which is managed by Accor. That is a large 5 star hotel at the back of the monastery. This Songtsam is just a short distance from the monastery by the lake. It is small and more intimate. We like the Tibetan style and hospitality. We enjoyed breakfast and all the meals at the hotel. The free guided tour to the monastery by one of the hotel staff was excellent. It was so much better to have a local personal guide rather than the large microphone robotic guided groups you see there. Very interesting to learn about the Buddhist culture and way of life. Take the little bus from in front of the monastery for about 3RMB to Shangri La old town. Runs very regular and very easy to catch there and back. If you dont want to travel with the locals then a taxi is around 40 RMB.
Please use this hotel if visiting Shangri La, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: You have to try Yak meat in some form here. The meat is not anything special but you dont get to eat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garyt123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We started off at the Songtsam Shangri-La Lodge...then did the Songtsam Circuit by staying at the Songtsam Tacheng...Songtsam Meili...and back to Shangri-La at the Songtsam Retreat.
We were taken to the different hotels by wonderful drivers...greeted warmly at each of the lodges where they're located in living villages so we can experience the sense of place and culture.
The scenery at each location were bucolic...peaceful...serene with various choices of activities should one chooses to be active !!!
Besides the beautiful Songtsam lodges...the team members and managers were genuinely friendly...helpful...and welcoming.
Loved that the team members spontaneously break out in humming or singing beautifully...discreetly...their local folk songs while working...
Truly great value for...experiencing the architecture of the area...beautifully appointed decor...natural scenic villages with it's stillness...mist...rice fields...majestically snow capped mountains...and incredibly warm and genuine people...and all meals included in certain Songtsam Lodges on the Circuit !!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the Songtsam Tacheng have views of the rice fields...Songtsam Meili...views of majestic mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolhawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

It's our honeymoon in China and we stayed in some 5 stars hotels. Some of them are OK,good.amount had horrible service.
This hotel is great.very clean, very Tibetan style that was great.service is amazing. The staff really care and they're really trying to help.we got upgraded to a better room because it was our honeymoon.
tea time between 3pm to 5pm was great.
breakfast was tasty.
The hotel provided free ride to the airport.
It has two apple computers to use.
Its 10 minutes drive (taxi 30 rmb. Bus 1rmb) from old town .

I would return for sure if I got back to shangrila.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tourist_Specialist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shangri-La County hotels
0.4 mi away
Songtsam Retreat at Shangri la - MGallery Collection
Songtsam Retreat at Shangri la -...
#3 of 166 in Shangri-La County
314 reviews
7.8 mi away
Banyan Tree Ringha
Banyan Tree Ringha
#1 of 166 in Shangri-La County
373 reviews
3.4 mi away
Arro Khampa Shangrila By Zinc Journey
Arro Khampa Shangrila By Zinc Jo...
#5 of 166 in Shangri-La County
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hylandia by Shangri-La
Hylandia by Shangri-La
#4 of 166 in Shangri-La County
83 reviews
0.0 mi away
Huajinzhao Boutique Guest House
Huajinzhao Boutique Guest House
#6 of 166 in Shangri-La County
6 reviews
2.7 mi away
Dujinimi Hotel Shangri La
Dujinimi Hotel Shangri La
#13 of 166 in Shangri-La County
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Songtsam Shangri-la (Lugu) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Songtsam Shangri-la (Lugu) Hotel

Property: Songtsam Shangri-la (Lugu) Hotel
Address: Songzanlin, at the foot of Songtsam Lama temple, Shangri-La County 674400, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Yunnan > Shangri-La County
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 166 Hotels in Shangri-La County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Songtsam Lodge at Shangri-la (Songtsam Lvgu Hotel) is the flagship lodge of Songtsam Lodges - a series of luxury boutique lodges built in pristine and beautiful locations in Yunnan.Songtsam Shangri-la (3,280m) is situated right next to the Songzanlin Monastery, the largest Tibetan monastery in Yunnan province. The lodge is housed in a traditional Tibetan dwelling within this typical, self-sufficient Tibetan farming village where the founder of Songtsam, Baima Dorjie, spent his childhood. Songtsam Shangro-la has hosted thousands of intrepid travelers from all over the world in the past 10 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Songtsam Shangri-la (Lugu) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Songtsam Hotel Shangri La County
Songtsam Shangri-La (Lugu) Hotel Shangri-La County, China - Yunnan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing