We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisitely decorated hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Songtsam Shangri-la (Lugu) Hotel
Ranked #2 of 165 Hotels in Shangri-La County
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Exquisitely decorated hotel”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Our family of 5 stayed at Songtsam Shangri-La for two nights, to end a wonderful week of luxury and comfort as part of a Songtsam Summer Family package. This wonderful hotel is exquisitely decorated; the restaurant serves excellent, varied local dishes - as well as pizza, pasta and ice-cream, for demanding little ones who are not used to Chinese food.

Although the centre of (the new) town is crowded and touristy, the hotel is situated away from the hustle and bustle, next to the Monastery and lake. A wonderful opportunity to go for a wander and explore, if you are not suffering too much from altitude sickness. Because Shangri-la IS at a very high altitude and it might take a little bit to get used to it (in my case, I was fine on day 2).

Staff were extremely friendly and they went out of their way to help us fix the ticket booking error. The Monastery next door is very impressive. Our favourite part was horse-riding through green meadows; visiting the local village, the biggest prayer wheel in the world and dancing with hundreds of locals in the Old Town Square. Marvellous!

Room Tip: Ask for scented candles for the room, they come in different flavours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chelinmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    41
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
83
116
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed ten nights at all four Songtsam lodges. Love the experience of this north Yunnan region. After each and every long day out, it is like coming back home. The staff was there to greet us with those smiling and warm eyes, making sure tea or drinks are ready. To us, the entire experience is Shangri-la, sun moon in our heart.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank B H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

The location is away from town so it is quiet no crowd no ktv. The surrounding is beautiful with a nice lake/wetland in front and a small village adjacent to it. The room is in Tibetan style but very comfortable with all the modern amenities. Would be great if there is a elevator to my fourth level room. The view from the room is amazing but the climb to my room is tiring. The service by all staff is impeccable. Free ginger tea and they are always ready to serve and attentive. Love this place.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yangt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Based on TripAdvisor reviews we upgraded our hotel in Zhongdian (aka Shangri-La) to this Songtsam hotel (#1 in Zhongdian). It was an excellent decision and it felt a great privilege to stay here. The room (photo attached) was large, clean and comfortable with a king-size bed, floor-level table and cushions and good views over the lake in front of the Songtsam Lama temple. The hospitality was excellent and included ginger tea on arrival and a bowl of fruit in the room.
Breakfast was good and satisfied our western tastes after many Chinese meals.
The hotel is pleasantly small and quiet in lovely surroundings. It was easily our favourite hotel on our 3 week trip that included two excellent 5-star hotels.

Room Tip: There are two Songtsam hotels in Zhongdian, the other being the Songtsam Retreat (#2). We chose this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuartFromKirkham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

the hotel was quite nice, well decorated and the staff nice and helpful.

the room I had was OK, but the bathroom was too small.

I do not recommend the bike rent in the hotel that is not so performant.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivier R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
73 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Next to Songtsam Monastery, and facing the wetland, and some fields --> excellent view. The windows were wooden, without screens, hence one night we killed 3 flies, but the view and quiet compensated for this.
Rooms were well decorated in wooden furniture, and beds were soft. WiFi was on-and-off, and slow during peak hours. If u have business, i suggest you go to the restaurant to use the WiFi. The restaurant serve good eastern-western dishes, but slight short of choice if you stay for long time.
If you want excursion, the front desk can book cabs for you, and fares can be settled at the desk. The neighborhood of the hotel is good to stroll around for a relaxing afternoon, but always to remember to bring a light coat, as weather can change swiftly.

Room Tip: If you have weak knees, choose ground floor rooms. The stairs have narrow steps, and no elevator ava...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed1982_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We have just returned from two weeks in Yunnan and visited four of the Songtsam Hotels. We have visited the Shangri-La hotel about six times and each time it gets better. The hospitality is unparalleled, all of he staff are friendly and welcoming and the situation of this hotel is truly magical. The walks behind the monastery were relaxing and we were able to find many wild flowers including blue poppies. We have visited many places in SE Asia and around the world and this has to rate among the best. We will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great but be aware of the altitude as it is a hard climb to the top floor if no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiddell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shangri-La County hotels
0.4 mi away
Songtsam Retreat at Shangri la - MGallery Collection
Songtsam Retreat at Shangri la -...
#3 of 165 in Shangri-La County
313 reviews
7.8 mi away
Banyan Tree Ringha
Banyan Tree Ringha
#1 of 165 in Shangri-La County
360 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hylandia by Shangri-La
Hylandia by Shangri-La
#4 of 165 in Shangri-La County
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Arro Khampa Shangrila By Zinc Journey
Arro Khampa Shangrila By Zinc Jo...
#5 of 165 in Shangri-La County
73 reviews
0.0 mi away
Huajinzhao Boutique Guest House
Huajinzhao Boutique Guest House
#6 of 165 in Shangri-La County
6 reviews
2.7 mi away
Dujinimi Hotel Shangri La
Dujinimi Hotel Shangri La
#13 of 165 in Shangri-La County
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Songtsam Shangri-la (Lugu) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Songtsam Shangri-la (Lugu) Hotel

Property: Songtsam Shangri-la (Lugu) Hotel
Address: Songzanlin, at the foot of Songtsam Lama temple, Shangri-La County 674400, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Yunnan > Shangri-La County
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 165 Hotels in Shangri-La County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Songtsam Lodge at Shangri-la (Songtsam Lvgu Hotel) is the flagship lodge of Songtsam Lodges - a series of luxury boutique lodges built in pristine and beautiful locations in Yunnan.Songtsam Shangri-la (3,280m) is situated right next to the Songzanlin Monastery, the largest Tibetan monastery in Yunnan province. The lodge is housed in a traditional Tibetan dwelling within this typical, self-sufficient Tibetan farming village where the founder of Songtsam, Baima Dorjie, spent his childhood. Songtsam Shangro-la has hosted thousands of intrepid travelers from all over the world in the past 10 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Songtsam Shangri-la (Lugu) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Songtsam Hotel Shangri La County
Songtsam Shangri-La (Lugu) Hotel Shangri-La County, China - Yunnan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing