We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Songtsam Shangri-la (Lvgu) Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Garden Inn Shangri-La(Shangri-La County)
$71
Hilton Garden Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Songtsam Linka Shangri-la(Shangri-La County)
$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
$125
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Xiangge Lila Maoyuan Hotel(Shangri-La County)
$44
$32
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Zhaxidele Hotel(Shangri-La County)
$35
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Hotel(Shangri-La County)
$52
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Wonderland(Shangri-La County)
$135
$129
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
7 Days Inn Shangri-La Ancient City(Shangri-La County)(Great Value!)
$24
$19
Agoda.com
View Deal
Shangri-la Old Town Hotel(Shangri-La County)
$22
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (355)
Filter reviews
355 results
Traveler rating
303
43
8
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
303
43
8
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslama templetibetan styleginger teasongtsam circuitmeili snow mountainloved this hotelhotel restaurantan unforgettable experiencehot potstayed nightswood stovetour guidehotpotaltitudeslippersvillagechina
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
159 - 164 of 355 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We were given slippers as soon as we arrived and then instructed to sit down and sip some sweet ginger tea by their wood-fire stove. It was a perfect landing having arrived with a bit of altitude sickness. The staff consistently looked after our needs. They helped with luggage, poured tea for us at all hours, came in to turn on lights if we were sitting in the computer room, turned down our beds in the evening.

The room was not spacious - no room for to set up a computer at a desk, for example - but it was plenty for our needs. There is an incredible library and beautiful lobby to relax in should you find yourself hiding from the rain. The monastery is the largest in Yunnan with 600-700 active monastics and a short walk from the hotel. The 9am tour goes there daily (free from the hotel) and it is definitely a worthwhile introduction. The tour was given in English on the day we went (there was a large group of Singaporean travelers), which was perfect for us. Our tour guide had studied Buddhist philosophy so he was able to give us a lot of background on what we were seeing in the monastery.

Food was deliciously prepared and there is not much other options around unless you take the bus or taxi into town. But why? The service is wonderful, food thoughtfully prepared, and prices are not unreasonable (given what we paid for food in town at the tourist oriented restaurants).

It was incredibly relaxing and comfortable there!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frebelcator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

The hotel is nesteled behind the monastry and is hidden. Entrance fee to monastry precinct is now payable by guest whereas it was paid for by hotel in the past apparently. very peaceful and comfortable hotel. Th electricity did go out for one afternoon and perhaps there should have been a generator? staff were exceptional. far away from shopping but there is provided transport to town.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shrink61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

This lovely hotel in a converted Tibetan house is just steps away from the Buddhist monastery (don't confuse this property with its sister hotel up the hill). The hotel is decorated with Tibetan art objects; it's small but cozy lobby was a great place to meet fellow travelers from around the world. We stayed in a delux room that had a beautiful view of the marsh and surrounding hills, and had a large living area in addition to the bedroom area. The staff was exceptional. We were greeted with ginger tea; when the staff learned how much we loved the tea they delivered a small gift of tea and instructions on how to brew it to our room. A knowledgable guide with excellent English took us on a free tour of the monastery. Arrangements were made to visit the nearby national park (highly recommended). The staff thoughtfully wrote out instructions to/from places we wanted to visit in Mandarin. We ate several times in the restaurant and had excellent food and service. The free breakfast is bountiful, varied, and very good. For an alternative dinner, it's a 20 minute walk to the sister hotel up the hill (bring a flashlight for the trip back) -- the menu is slightly different. Try the fried Tibetan potatoes! This hotel gets our highest recommendation.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ecschroeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

Very special place. Nice views and very good and personal service.
At first we were booked for the standard type rooms. It was very nice and clean though very very small. For additional 30 USD per night we upgraded the room type to junior suit, which was excellent. The hotel is beautifully decorated, very clean and the rooms are very nicely equipped.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaniM59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

We travelled for 8 superb days along the old tea road towards old Tibet driving and walking during the day, staying at different isolated Songstam Hotels each night. At each hotel we were greeted as long lost family and delighted with rooms and service. It turned out to be a journey of the heart and spirit in the most wonderful countryside. We met many people who welcomed us into thier homes and lives and temples. We walked up to 4500 metres, seeing magical snow mountains, including Meili. This was all made possible by the guide from Songstam and his driver, arranged by the Hotel and through Wild China Tours.

Room Tip: 205 at songstam meili and 306 at songstam tachen
Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank BillfromMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews