We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most authentic place”
Review of Banyan Tree Ringha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banyan Tree Ringha
Ranked #1 of 165 Hotels in Shangri-La County
Certificate of Excellence
usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Most authentic place”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

we enjoyed a lot with this stay after long travelling in china. It was such a great experience that staff were so polite and sametime they give the most valuable service to everyone that we saw during our 4 nights stay in April. Though the weather was still cold but we really enjoyed it a lot and we are going to come back soon to see the different seasons of the place.
Would like to thank to all the team who took care of us.

Room Tip: the rooms are large and for couple tibetan suite is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ltracylow08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    62
    20
    7
    7
See reviews for
71
109
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Lovely hideaway with unique Tibetan Houses. As always Banyan Tree lives up to it's name in terms of hideaways and this one is really hidden - a 7km unlit dirt road off the highway leads you to a secluded Tibetan village surrounded by rolling hills, yaks, sheep and pigs (that roam freely around the BT compound). Trekking around the village brings you to a temple on a hill or yak meadows overlooking a creek. However beware that getting to the old town or anywhere else is quite a journey (takes 15 mins just to hit the highway). The spa is excellent as always. Food in the hotel is mediocre and you're better off getting a local meal in the old town if you are already out there

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LottieYeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
204 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Banyan Tree is a wonderful hotel connected to a Tibetan village. If you are looking for somewhere peaceful then Ringa is for you, but if you are looking for a clean, efficiently run resort with great food, then Banyan Tree Ringa isn't your cup of tea.

Staff management is poor, and often things justj happen without any planning or respect for their customers.

The silk cushions are stained, we had holes in our bedsheets, dusting and vacuming are not high on the agenda, and the resort is extremely expensive.

I don't mind paying if I am getting value for money however it really is a million dollar view.
however when you get fed up with the food it will take you 45 minutes to get to town!

A beautiful concept, but too many small things let it down.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenjenrossco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, washington
Level Contributor
195 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

After a 4 hour drive from Lijiang we arrive to this hidden gem. It was very cold and snow had arrived just before we did so we were not prepared for the weather. This hotel is a series of Tibetan houses that have been bought from the villages and rebuilt on the top of this hill.
You must first drive up a long narrow road through a very poor farming village with pigs and yak on the road. When you entr the gate you will be met by a person to guide you up steep steps to the reception area. There was very little heat in this building so everyone was wearing a heavy coat. We were each taken to our beautiful rooms. Each suite is two floors so you beds are upstairs with a large sitting area. You decend a steep set of stairs to reach you bathroom and dressing area. ( tough climb in the middle of the night.)
We had dinner in the dining room and shared the most beautiful hot pot I have ever eaten. The next day after touring we returned to a 2 hour hot stone massage, a must after how cold it had been all day. I think the best time to go is after mid April and before the rains come.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

I love the Banyan Tree Hotels.

Have stayed in many different ones and for me these are the worlds leading hotels.

Rooms are big and amazing, great service, just amazing. We had dinner on the riverside, were picked up with horses.

the only problem is that its very high (altitude...many people get sick). and its quiet high priced, but the banyan trees all are...

Would love to be back soon...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank schumpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
153 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Our family of five (2 adults and 3 kids under 7) spent 2 nights at Banyan Tree Ringha (after spending the earlier 2 nights at Banyan Tree Lijiang). The location is stunning, and the cottage we stayed in was an experience in itself - the furnishings, the furniture, the wooden bathtub ... all of them gave a really wonderfully rustic feel to the stay.

The staff were extremely helpful, and understanding of our needs, including those of our children. Warmth was not in short supply in this cold place!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SNottIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

the surroundings are very classic Banyan, miles of pristine hills and random yaks and horses grassing away near the hotel. the villas are large and well designed. seeing that it's a converted farmer's house, can't complain that some of the amenities are old looking but better care would be needed. some of the bathroom fixtures aren't well fitted and since the villas are so spread out, too much hassle to call room maintenance. good value for luxury villas in the middle of shangri-la, feels like we're staying in the middle of the national park. will surely go back again for a quiet getaway.

Room Tip: try the spa, surprisingly affordable and a very nice treat for exhausted limbs walking all over shan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daisyJakarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shangri-La County hotels
7.8 mi away
Songtsam Shangri-la (Lugu) Hotel
Songtsam Shangri-la (Lugu) Hotel
#2 of 165 in Shangri-La County
338 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hylandia by Shangri-La
Hylandia by Shangri-La
#4 of 165 in Shangri-La County
80 reviews
5.0 mi away
Arro Khampa Shangrila By Zinc Journey
Arro Khampa Shangrila By Zinc Jo...
#5 of 165 in Shangri-La County
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Songtsam Retreat at Shangri la - MGallery Collection
Songtsam Retreat at Shangri la -...
#3 of 165 in Shangri-La County
313 reviews
0.0 mi away
Huajinzhao Boutique Guest House
Huajinzhao Boutique Guest House
#6 of 165 in Shangri-La County
6 reviews
6.0 mi away
Paradise Hotel
Paradise Hotel
#8 of 165 in Shangri-La County
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Ringha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Ringha

Property: Banyan Tree Ringha
Address: Hong Po Village, Jian Yang Town, Shangri-La County, Shangri-La County 674400, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Shangri-La County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 165 Hotels in Shangri-La County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Ringha 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most secluded hideaways in the world, Shangrila is a remote paradise hidden in a Tibetan valley. Surrounded by snow capped mountains, Banyan Tree Ringha is nestled within this fabled valley, offering awe-inspiring views and experiences within a tranquil retreat. Leave the modern world behind and step into a land of great beauty and peacefulness. At the Banyan Tree Ringha, the feeling of exotic isolation converges with all the comforts of a pampering resort stay. Discover all that Ringha has to offer with the "Spirit of Shangrila" program. Designed as an all-inclusive package, the program covers the best tours and treks in the area. With transport, meals and accommodation taken care of, as well as a local guide to show you around, all you have to do is to relax, enjoy, and take in the beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Banyan Tree Ringha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Ringha Hotel Shangri-La County
Banyan Tree Ringha Shangri-La County, China - Yunnan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing