We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i enjoyed it!”

Napa Hai Nature Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Lima
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“i enjoyed it!”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Guess that the landscape is nice but probably not extraordinary (i went in the low season). The difference was the private english speaking guide that was very friendly and explained me a lot about the communities, traditions, beliefs and even who's who in some villages (some gossip about the owners of the houses around). It was the perfect time to see some migratory cranes from Siberia and other couple of migratory birds and at the same time hanging out with the locals under a perfect blue sky. You can see big yaks (by the way, their meat is yummy!)pasturing in the grasslands.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank RoxLima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    46
    19
    3
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Valencia, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“LIke so much of modern China: a scam....”
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

We traveled to Napa lake while staying in Lijiang: loads of water when we were there...very pretty place, very peaceful...however, we paid the required 60y fee each to go around the lake and see the villages...why? it's a public road!?...but nevermind...got through the first village and our van was surrounded by villagers demanding more money...we produced our tickets and were told, through our guide, that we could have printed those ourselves and THESE tickets they were waving were needed...OK, we'll go back...but no, they wanted more money just to leave! Finally after much shouting, arm-waving and 10 minutes of negotiating our guide got them to drop the 'ramsom' from 200y to 50.. We paid and turned around and went back assuming that each village would do the same. This example is part of a complicated and depressing trend that we found all over the TAR: the Tibetan towns and villages have been changed into tourist attractions by the Chinese and everything is about making money....what a sad and tragic fate for a wonderful country.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PKChang8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puchong
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Should Try It”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Rented a bicycle for 30 RMB and cycled here. Takes 30 mins to reach here and another 3 hrs if you want to cycle around. Takes extra drinking water as it is difficult to buy water when you are here. Surrounding is very scenic. You can see yaks, cows, pigs and horses. The mountains surrounding it is breathlessly beautiful. Take your time to cycle as it is high altitude and you get tired easily.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank David_TanPuchong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Do it by bike!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We rented bikes in the old city.
We took a road called 环湖路 . It is quite flat and quiet (just a few cars and other tourist riding bikes). You will pass through little villages before reaching the lake. The local people are quite friendly (saying "hello" to you), most of them accept pictures without problem.

2 advices:
- I suggest you to ride this road on morning. In late afternoon, it is possible to meet some people that will ask you to buy "tickets" to pass through this road!
- Also, don't try to ride out of the road near the place of horse-riding. The people can get aggressive and ask you to buy an other "ticket"!

Sceneries are beautiful along the road and you will see a lot of yaks, horses, wild pigs and sheep.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tangbaozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Napa Lake bike circuit, first half great, second half awful”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We rented multispeed mountain bikes for 20RMB instead of the new ones for 30RMB and some of the gears did not work, so be prepared. We LOVED the first half of the 40 kilometer circuit, first riding down a hill from the city and then riding on relatively flat land around the perimeter of the Tibetan plateau with mountains to one side and flat, boggy farmland to the other. The road was little used except by bikes, a few tourist cars, farm vehicles and farm animals (our most demanding moment was crossing a Yak herd in the middle of the road. Those horns look really scary close up!) We LOVED this first half of the route BUT HATED the second half of the route. After we reached Napa Lake the route took us on to a long gradual uphill busy two lane highway with lots of trucks and buses belching diesel fumes. The shoulder was covered in sand, gravel and recent fallen large rocks; it was like an obstacle course. This followed by city street that lasted about 8 kilometers in city traffic. It was AWFUL.

We highly recommend you turn around at the end of the Napa Lake and repeat the first half of the bike ride.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ElaineClaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Napa Hai Nature Reserve also viewed

Shangri-La County, Yunnan
Shangri-La County, Yunnan
 
Shangri-La County, Yunnan
 

Been to Napa Hai Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing