We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chaotic and expensive”
Review of The Compass

The Compass
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
london
Level Contributor
177 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Chaotic and expensive”
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Came here because the reviews were so good but we were really disappointed. Ordered a pot of coffee that was not filled up properly so we ended up with cups full of coffee grounds. Ordered breakfast but nothing came at the same time. Eggs were served undercooked (cold and almost raw, and the hash browns arrived after I had finished everything else - it was all ordered together so why it was not served together on the same plate I have no idea...

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dizzle-Bizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    32
    9
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shangri-La County, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“breakfast wrap”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Easily one of the best breakfasts in Shangrila: the ham and cheese wrap. Coffee included! Helpful and friendly multi-ethnic staff.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank N K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Our favourite cafe in Shangri-la”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Food and beverage were western standard, good quality, well priced. They had the best carrot cake there.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jarrad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zhuhai, China
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Went here for a nice romantic meal and really enjoyed it. The food was gorgeous and the service was fast and friendly. Had a beautiful slice of cheesecake for dessert, highly recommended. It's authentic food at a fairly reasonable price.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
125 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Although I tend to be skeptical of the quality of many "western" restaurants in Yunnan's many historical towns, I must say that Compass in Shangri-la is an exception. Great quality of food such as pastas, pizzas, mediterranean fare and others. I had chicken kebab and it was delicious. The staff is great and very helpful, the clientele very international, the ambiance lively without being loud. Lots of families seen as well as backpackers and couples. Located just to the northwest of the central plaza. Give it a try.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vicbruin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Compass also viewed

Shangri-La County, Yunnan
Shangri-La County, Yunnan
 
Shangri-La County, Yunnan
Shangri-La County, Yunnan
 
Shangri-La County, Yunnan
 

Been to The Compass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing