We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Backpackers in Shangri-la”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
N's Kitchen & Lodge
Ranked #59 of 273 Shangri-La County B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Given the relatively limited choice for backpackers in Shangri-la we were satisfied with our choice of N's. The room was clean for Chinese standards, althought the bed was very uncomfortable. The staff were helpful in giving us directions around town and also in assisting with making online plane bookings for our onward travel to Chengdu. The breakfasts we ate at the hostel were very good value for money. Also met a number of fellow travelers sitting in the courtyard downstairs.

We heard some horror stories of other backpacker accomodation in Shangri-la but N's was far from terrible. Decent value for money, and a clean place to rest your head at night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Murray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 25 of 37 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

The rooms were clean, and the the only good thing were the showers that were great. The restaraunt and bar dont work so you cant even get tea.the service is bad, and it feels like they just dont care about you.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vardag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Me and my friends (we were 5) stayed in this guesthouse on July 2013. I have to admit that the dorms are fine and clean but it not worth the disgraceful treatment we received from the owners! It started when we asked for few more minutes with power generator to take a shower and the answer we got was "You can take your money and leave, we want to go to sleep", and continued when we asked for tea spoon and the answer was "You've asked for too many things, this is the last one" and it ended when my friend who asked the owners for directions, found himself in middle of the fight between the owners and another costumer who "dared" to intervene and explained them they are not treating well to tourists who are asking for help.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Byasaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for 1 night. It os rather an average hostel.

Common area is rather poor and we didn't find the stuff very helpful nor very friendly.

If you need a place to crash and meet few other travelers then ok, but there are better places nearby ie. Tavern.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bartosz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Fantastic owner who helped us book train tickets for no added fee. The hostel itself attracts very friendly travellers and met some great people here. Dorm rooms have everything you need, showers are v hot and bed warmers in every bed. The owner says they're gonna build a bar on the roof by March 2013. Thanks for a great stay and would come again. Great location, too!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
Thank samslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We booked a private room after reading the reviews, but were disappointed. The guy who checked us in seemed less than thrilled that we were there, the room had a funky smell, and in general our room and the common area weren't very clean. We were there for 24 hours and the same dirty glasses and plates that were on a table sitting on a table when we arrived and when we left. The location is good, but it is a little hard to find based on the directions given.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TJBB30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I made my booking in N's Kitchen & Lodge after reading the more than positive reviews I found. I have sorely disappointed for many reasons.
- We called to be given the directions and the girl at the reception said that she would come and meet us at the bus station. we waited 30 minutes, called several times but never saw her.
- When we arrived at hte hostel we were told than our room was ready but as soon as we entered, we were welcomed by a foul smell and the staff then said that the room had yet to be cleaned.
- We initially made a reservation for one night but changed our mainds they day we arrived at let them know that we would stay two more nights. The said it was okay but then the day after the management told us that we had to check out because somewhat made a reservation and they couldn't hold the room for us. They suggested to move to the dorms or change hostels straight away without any compensations.
- The common area is not set as to allow interaction between travellers and that was such a pity!
- The one day tour was nice but it lacks of preparation. They told us we would leave aound 9.00 am and ended up going at 10.05, plus the packed lunch is not suitable for anyone vegetarian or muslim as they make a bacon and cheese sandwich. Make sure to let them know this info in advance as they will not ask you.

But the picture is not all black. The room, even though far from being the cleanest was very spacious, the bed quite confortable (chinese standards) and the staff friendly and helpful. Furthermore, the central location allows you to explore the old town without much trouble.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shangri-La County hotels
5.2 mi away
Banyan Tree Ringha
Banyan Tree Ringha
#1 of 178 in Shangri-La County
423 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arro Khampa Shangrila By Zinc Journey
Arro Khampa Shangrila By Zinc Jo...
#4 of 178 in Shangri-La County
85 reviews
3.2 mi away
Songtsam Shangri-la (Lugu) Hotel
Songtsam Shangri-la (Lugu) Hotel
#2 of 178 in Shangri-La County
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
47.3 mi away
Tibet Guest House
Tibet Guest House
#1 of 273 in Shangri-La County
75 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hylandia by Shangri-La
Hylandia by Shangri-La
#5 of 178 in Shangri-La County
86 reviews
3.5 mi away
Songtsam Retreat at Shangri la - MGallery Collection
Songtsam Retreat at Shangri la -...
#3 of 178 in Shangri-La County
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to N's Kitchen & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about N's Kitchen & Lodge

Address: No. 24 Yiruomulang, St. Beimen, Old Town, Shangri-La County, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Shangri-La County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 273 B&Bs / Inns in Shangri-La County
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little hostel with great service ... more   less 
Also Known As:
N's Kitchen & Lodge Shangri-La County, China - Yunnan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing