We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, peaceful & good food”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shangri-La County
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tea Horse Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, peaceful & good food”
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Just at the right location if you started TLG in the afternoon, Tea Horse Guesthouse is clean, has comfy wooden rooms, and even hot showers. The food is prepared in the kitchen were you go to order and can see that everything is prepared fresh to order by extremely cheerful young women.
We paid Y120 for a smaller double room with ensuite shower and western-style toilet.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lina077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    58
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
15
44
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

We went for the more expensive room - larger and with en suite bathroom and things like towels, toilet paper, soap, included. We paid RMB 180. The cheaper option is a room with just a bed, using the public toilet. For us paying for a private, western-style toilet was definitely worth it, but both rooms were clean, basic but fine. The electric blankets were a nice touch and very helpful as we were there in October and the night was definitely cold! Lovely views from the inn, the menu is big and so are the portions, which are simple but tasty and served in the open-air restaurant for reasonable prices. More details about the guest house and Tiger Leaping Gorge here: http://alongthewaytj.wordpress.com/2011/10/28/tiger-leaping-gorge-my-two-cents/

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jyogini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
107 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

The Tea Horse guesthouse is ok, but nothing special. We stayed here after having stayed in the Halfway guesthouse and Woody's guesthouse, and the Tea Horse is the least of these three. The views are not really impressive and they lack a proper terrace with views. Compared to the other places it is slightly more expensive, which is unfortunately not reflected by the quality of the shared bathrooms. These are just aweful. I would recommend spending the extra 1-2 hours of walking to reach Halfway.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schaapblater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
130 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Good GH with avarage food and option to take masage. You can also try local schnaps here - some corn spirit. For 120RMB per night you get room with bathroom. Dont expect to much privacy as walls are super thin.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Svestka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

After 28 bends you'll probably be wanting to stop for some rest and food. Tea Horse is conveniently located about an hour from the top of the 28 bends. Many of the people on the trail were continuing onto Halfway Lodge (another 1-2 hours further) but we decided to stop at Tea Horse because it was getting on and we were tired. We found that the most picaresque part of the gorge was after Tea Horse so it's worth considering staying here just so you can enjoy the scenery in a fresher state of mind. From Halfway Lodge it's only another 2-3 hours to Tina's. The bus to Lijjiang leaves Tina's at 10AM and 4PM so there is still plenty of time to catch the 4PM bus if you stay at Tea Horse and leave by midday. We found that most of the people who stayed at Halfway Lodge ended up having to hang around Tina's for most of the afternoon anyway.

The rooms at Tea Horse were fine given the location of the lodge at Y120 for a double ensuite or Y60 for a double with shared bathroom. The bathroom was a bit dirty but we had hot water and a comfortable bed. The food they serve at the restaurant is reasonable and pretty tasty. They also sell water and beer for a reasonable price. The views and sunset were fantastic - we'd defnitely recommend considering a night here.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank clare_nz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Our first night trekking through TLG was spent at theTeahorse guesthouse. Other reviewers have stayed here after the dreaded 28 bends. We came via an alternative route which was apparently much easier - but still a long and tiring climb.
The views from the guesthouse are stunning.
The staff are friendly.
The beer is cheap and cold
The meals were tasty and the servings were plentiful.
The rooms are good, but not great. There was a problem with no power to our room when we arrived, but one of the staff pushed a few buttons and we were powered up. The bathroom was only average. The showers were hot but the water pressure was poor.
We spent the next morning resting and drinking tea at the Tea Horse, before setting off to Tina's and enjoying on the spectacular trekre the spectacular views on the way to Tina's guesthouse.
We would have no hesitation in recommending the Tea Horse for a rest after the first day's trekking

Room Tip: Make sure they turn the power on
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie_Grey_Power
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

Teahorse guesthouse is a great place to stay overnight during the TLG trek. It's situated in just the right place - after the 28 bends, so you've done the most difficult part, and before the spectacular views and narrow paths of the second day.

The guesthouse is in a beautiful location - really stunning scenery from the terrace and the balcony of some rooms. The food is good, and the service friendly. The beds are not too hard - unusual for any Chinese hotel. Rooms are also good value for money - 120 RMB for a double with bathroom. It's not luxury, but it's not roughing it either. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellkellBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shangri-La County
24.3 mi away
Zen Garden Hotel (Wuyi Yard)
21.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
#2 of 927 in Lijiang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
51.7 mi away
Songtsam Shangri-la (Lugu) Hotel
Songtsam Shangri-la (Lugu) Hotel
#2 of 164 in Shangri-La County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
49.4 mi away
Hylandia by Shangri-La
Hylandia by Shangri-La
#4 of 164 in Shangri-La County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
48.6 mi away
Arro Khampa Shangrila By Zinc Journey
Arro Khampa Shangrila By Zinc Jo...
#5 of 164 in Shangri-La County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tibet Guest House
Tibet Guest House
#4 of 231 in Shangri-La County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tea Horse Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tea Horse Guesthouse

Property: Tea Horse Guesthouse
Address: Yongsheng Village, Tiger Leaping Gorge, Shangri-La County 674402, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Shangri-La County
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Shangri-La County
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Tea Horse Guesthouse Hotel Shangri-La County
Tea Horse Guesthouse Shangri-La County, China - Yunnan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing