We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Perfect...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Songtsam Retreat at Shangri la - MGallery Collection
Ranked #3 of 164 Hotels in Shangri-La County
Certificate of Excellence
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Almost Perfect...”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Went there during the 24th to 27th. For around 850 CNY a night, we were treated to a great spacious room that has a real fireplace. The staff is probably the best I have ever seen. Sincere, patient, and always comes with a smile. The buffet breakfast and dinner are decent, but nothing special. Every night the staff will light up the fireplace in the room. The starry sky is breathtaking and I really enjoy the walk to the back side of the monastery even in freezing weather. The water is hot 95% of the time, since we were told the retreat uses solar power, there may be a few problems occasionally. Going to the city can be a pain due to the location, it will take around 30 to 40 CNY by taxi by going through a very bumpy road. But since this is a retreat, this really isn't anything to complain about.

Overall, this is a great place to stay, I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gesogeso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    65
    8
    6
    2
See reviews for
61
121
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
190 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

We were originally given a very basic room overlooKing the monastery, for $38 per night additional we upgraded to a junior suite, complete with wooden soaking tub,separate shower andtoilet room. The downside is that we froze! Slept in long underwear and the terry robe. Thenext day the hotel provided us within auxiliary heater, it definitely helped! Breakfast buffet was very complete, only negative was that the juice wasn't fresh. Ate dinner in the hotel one night, it was ok -- fine for one evening but not for more than that. The hotel is pretty far out of town kip a bumpy road, so if anyone in your party gets car sick I would seek accommodation elsewhere.

Room Tip: Spring for the larger rooms, they are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JZ16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

We were greeted with ginger tea in a lovely lobby with a fireplace. It looked like something out of the old west. There was a blanket over my door to keep the draft away. Alas a bucket and stool in the shower. I guess that was for the hot water to soak my feet. They had hot water!
The view from the room will only get better when the restoration of the monastery is completed.

The stone work was esquisite. The bar and spa had wonderful views. The staff was very accomodating. My room was wonderful and warm. The only drawback was that I could not find matches to burn excess packaging I accumulated in China. They have to charge a small fee for wood because otherwise warm weather clients would burn it all. Free intenet too!

Room Tip: All rooms have views. There may be less walking with upgraded rooms as the resort is on a hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielO2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blueys Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
263 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

We booked a Junior Suite on a discount website and were not disappointed. This is true luxury, a huge space, king bed on a raised platform, oversized wooden bath tub - like a Japanese bath, slow combustion wood fire, separate shower wet room, quality Chinese furnishings and tea ware. The negative would be that the hotel, built only a couple of years ago is a series of separate buildings and consequently there is no internal access to the reception area and restaurant. It is necessary to walk down steep stairs in the freezing cold to dinner and after your meal climb the stairs when you are at high altitude. Not fun! The positives, good food is served for breakfast and in the restaurant. The staff are Tibetan and impeccably trained. They have emerged from remote villages to work in a 4 1/2 to 5 star hotel and are brilliant. They are eager to please and I found extremely caring, they were all aware that I had a severe head cold. Copious cups of ginger tea were offered as well as genuine sympathy. The General Manager is very visible, he has worked tirelessly with the local Tibetan people to improve their lifestyle. We spent three nights at Songtsam Retreat, recharging and relaxing in a truly unique and tranquil atmosphere.

Room Tip: The Junior suite is good value and worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marj H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2011

I visited Songtsam Retreat midway through a business trip with my China-based colleague and 17 year old daughter who had accompanied me on the trip. We loved every moment of our time at the retreat. It is an extraordinary location and the accommodations...what amazing detail to art and decor - intriguing but not overdone and so comfortable. The staff is exceptionally attentive and helpful. One staff member gave us a tour of the nearby monastery, others just always there to provide a cup of tea. My colleague and I spent a long morning going over our notes and making plans with a delightful view of the monastery and mountains. We alsonenjoyed a wonderful dinner at the Inn. Don't miss this place!

Room Tip: The fire places are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BetsyCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

After travelling for two weeks through China this hotel truly exceeded all our expectations in any way!

First, its location. The hotel lies out of Shangri-La town behind the monastery and provides idyllic panoramic views of the monastery, the surroundings and the endless Tibetan mountains and plains.

Second, the service. All hotel staff was very welcoming, warm and friendly and went the extra mile to make your stay as pleasant as possible (which is an exception in China, especially in situations where initiative is required). For example, the hotel provides shuttle services to the airport and certain attractions. The other day we decided to join in (during breakfast) and after the car had already left they recalled the car to allow us to offer us the opportunity go along. During dinner, staff repeatedly asked whether we were ok and provided very good service. In addition, this was the first hotel in China where practically all staff could speak English!

Third, dinner service. We had dinner in the restaturant twice and enjoyed it very much. Because of its location, after a day trip in practice your only choice is to eat at the hotel restaturant. We did not regret, as the food was good especially considering the modeate prices.

Finally, as a general remark, the styling and decoration of the rooms and the hotel were amazing and perfectly blended in to the surroundings. Although not having seen the other rooms, I could recommend anyone to pay the extra for the superior suite (which was more like a huge loft) with fabulous views over the monastery and beautiful decoration - it really adds to your stay in Shangri-La.

For those considering the Banyan Tree - we have seen the location and met other guests who had been there, but its very far away from town or any attraction in the surroundings. If you are seeking authenticity, actually I think the Songtsam offers a similar experience, as it is located close to a Tibetan settlement that lies behind the monastery and would be the better choice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IAmsterdam81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shangri-La County hotels
0.4 mi away
Songtsam Shangri-la (Lugu) Hotel
Songtsam Shangri-la (Lugu) Hotel
#2 of 164 in Shangri-La County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hylandia by Shangri-La
Hylandia by Shangri-La
#4 of 164 in Shangri-La County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
8.1 mi away
Banyan Tree Ringha
Banyan Tree Ringha
#1 of 164 in Shangri-La County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Arro Khampa Shangrila By Zinc Journey
Arro Khampa Shangrila By Zinc Jo...
#5 of 164 in Shangri-La County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Wonderland
Hotel Wonderland
#23 of 164 in Shangri-La County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
2.5 mi away
Paradise Hotel
Paradise Hotel
#16 of 164 in Shangri-La County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Songtsam Retreat at Shangri la - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Songtsam Retreat at Shangri la - MGallery Collection

Property: Songtsam Retreat at Shangri la - MGallery Collection
Address: Son Zan Lin Ka, Shangri-La County 674400, China (Formerly Songtsam Retreat At Shangri-La)
Location: China > Yunnan > Shangri-La County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 164 Hotels in Shangri-La County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Songtsam Retreat at Shangri la - MGallery Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Shangri-La Hills, Songtsam Retreat, a member of the Mgallery Collection, offers exceptional boutique accommodation in a distinctly Tibetan Style. Boasting a breathtaking location in this beautifully remote area of China, unique architecture and stunning design, the retreat comprises 72 rooms and suites. Songtsam Retreat is located 25 minutes from Diqing Airport and 5 minutes from Songzanlin Monastery. It offers spectacular views, 2 restaurants offering superb dining, a day spa;Linka Spa by L'Occitane, boutique shop, takeout shop and a meditation/yoga room. The hotel is pleased to provide various activities in and around the hotel for you to have a truly memorable stay and ensure you experience all that Shangri-La, also known as the 'Eden in Dream' has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Songtsam Retreat at Shangri la - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Songtsam Retreat At Shangri-La Hotel Shangri-La County
Songtsam Retreat At Shangri La - MGallery Collection Shangri-La County, China - Yunnan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing