We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Courteous, friendly staff”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shangri-La County
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Naxi Family Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Courteous, friendly staff”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stopped at the Naxi Family Guesthouse on our way toward Qiaotou after hiking the Tiger Leaping Gorge. Although we were not staying there or even eating a complete meal, the owners and staff were very gracious and helpful. We bought some cold drinks and rested our weary legs. The next time that my family hikes the Tiger Leaping Gorge, we will stay overnight in the Naxi Family Guesthouse.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spsark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    19
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
38
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
seattle
Level Contributor
57 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed at the Naxi Family Guesthouse while hiking the Tiger Leaping Gorge upper trail in October 2013. The location is spectacular with amazing views up the valley. We had a large en suite double room with a huge double bed on the second floor. The room and bathroom were very clean and it had a nice sitting area on the porch outside. Food was good and inexpensive, they make wonderful ginger tea. The muesli and banana pancakes make an excellent breakfast before hiking the 28 bends! The staff were all very friendly and a couple of them spoke good enough English to make communication easy. We would definitely recommend staying at the Naxi Family GH if you get a late start on the TLG trail from Qiaotou and/or are planning to take the hike at a leisurely pace. We had called ahead to make our reservation but that is probably not necessary unless you are there during high season. When we were there in late October there were only two other groups staying there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julianne24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We started the walk late and found Naxi Guesthouse the perfect place to overnight before the 28 bends. It was a total surprise to find such clean, comfortable rooms on the walk. We did have 3 rooms with ensuite with hot showers, western toilet soap, toothbrushes etc. The views from the deck are spectacular and food was perfect. Staff were very nice and accommodating. Would recommend this guesthouse to anyone contemplating the walk. We were a group in our 50's / 60's and all were totally impressed. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 146Ross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
163 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stopped at Naxi GH just to have lunch after starting the hike on the high trail. The food was delicious! We had eggplant and pork with greens.
We were really impressed with the meal. The setting was beautiful and the people kind.
After walking on, we wished we would have taken the trail slower and stayed here. A pleasant place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suttonase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doonbeg, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This proved to be a spotlessly clean and very comfortable Family Guesthouse with spacious en-suite rooms, helpful and very friendly personnel and spectacular views towards the mountains across the Gorge of the rushing Yangtze. Dinner and breakfast, local produce, served in the Courtyard were delicious.
In the evening we were invited into the family living room and enjoyed local beer by a blazing log fire.
A delightful experience! Thank you!

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We took a bus from Li Jiang, organized from Panba Hostel, Lijiang. Panba also helped us to book for Naxi Family Guesthouse, by phoning a day earlier. A pleasant family run place, clean room with comfortable bed, bathroom with western toilet, clean towels, complete with individually packed toothbrush, soap and shampoo sachets. It even has wifi in the middle of the mountains! We paid Yuan140 for a triple room.

This is a typical Naxi courtyard house which the Lee family lives in. We had dinner and breakfast at the patio facing the courtyard - good simple freshly home cooked food. Do try the local dishes, and esp the hot ginger tea. Ginger tea is served almost everywhere but the best one is found here. Mdm Lee, the laoban niang (lady boss) is a pretty lady that smiles all the time. She was very helpful in booking the next night's accommodation at Halfway House. I would recommend Naxi Family Guesthouse for the cleanliness but esp for the warm, friendly reception. It is your opportunity to stay in a Naxi home.

Most people miss the Naxi Family Guesthouse because they take the trail from Qiantou to TeaHorse or Halfway House in one day. For us, we decided to make the hike less intimidating by doing it in 3D 2N because we are not hikers. We took the bus from Lijiang all the way to Tina's, deposit our big bags. From there we hiked to the Middle Gorge (you can do this in 2 hours down and up but we took 4 to enjoy better). We then went to Upper Gorge before going to Naxi Family Guesthouse. After a good night's rest at Naxi, we trekked all the way to Halfway House the next day, spending the night, before continuing to Tina's on the 3rd day.

Room Tip: Request for a upper floor room for better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kokngai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

As I was not well, I booked the Naxi Family GH which is 2hrs walking up from Qiaotou (or they can pick you up for 80 RMB). People pass through it during the day to stop and eat. Few stay to sleep. From there you can continue up the 28 bends and well into the gorge finishing at the Walnut Garden with several sleeping options (Tea Horse, Halfway Point, Tina, Sean etc).
What I did not like about the gorge is that all the guesthouses, and especially Tina and Sean say bad things about the others. This is not the case here.
My stay with a Naxi family was a great experience by itself and for that I am happy. The following day, I was taken to see the rock on which a tiger was said to jump from one side to the other (hence the name). Was nice and it is something you do not see if you hike as it is on the lower road.
I ate there too. Was nice, not super exciting. And I stayed in the famous room 201 which overlooks the mountains. And there is hot water.just wait 5 minutes and it comes.
For more of my personal recommendations check: http://chinainmyhands2013.blogspot.com/

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank ggbazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shangri-La County
50.2 mi away
Hylandia by Shangri-La
Hylandia by Shangri-La
#4 of 164 in Shangri-La County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
23.2 mi away
Zen Garden Hotel (Wuyi Yard)
49.4 mi away
Arro Khampa Shangrila By Zinc Journey
Arro Khampa Shangrila By Zinc Jo...
#5 of 164 in Shangri-La County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
#2 of 927 in Lijiang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
52.5 mi away
Songtsam Shangri-la (Lugu) Hotel
Songtsam Shangri-la (Lugu) Hotel
#2 of 164 in Shangri-La County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tibet Guest House
Tibet Guest House
#4 of 230 in Shangri-La County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naxi Family Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naxi Family Guesthouse

Property: Naxi Family Guesthouse
Address: Zhongnuoyu Village, Changsheng Village, Hutiaoxia Town, Shangri-La County 674400, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Shangri-La County
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 230 B&Bs / Inns in Shangri-La County
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Naxi Family Guesthouse Shangri-La County, China - Yunnan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing