We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hiking the High Trail through The Tiger Leaping Gorge”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shangri-La County
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Naxi Family Guesthouse
Doonbeg, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hiking the High Trail through The Tiger Leaping Gorge”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This proved to be a spotlessly clean and very comfortable Family Guesthouse with spacious en-suite rooms, helpful and very friendly personnel and spectacular views towards the mountains across the Gorge of the rushing Yangtze. Dinner and breakfast, local produce, served in the Courtyard were delicious.
In the evening we were invited into the family living room and enjoyed local beer by a blazing log fire.
A delightful experience! Thank you!

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    21
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
40
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We took a bus from Li Jiang, organized from Panba Hostel, Lijiang. Panba also helped us to book for Naxi Family Guesthouse, by phoning a day earlier. A pleasant family run place, clean room with comfortable bed, bathroom with western toilet, clean towels, complete with individually packed toothbrush, soap and shampoo sachets. It even has wifi in the middle of the mountains! We paid Yuan140 for a triple room.

This is a typical Naxi courtyard house which the Lee family lives in. We had dinner and breakfast at the patio facing the courtyard - good simple freshly home cooked food. Do try the local dishes, and esp the hot ginger tea. Ginger tea is served almost everywhere but the best one is found here. Mdm Lee, the laoban niang (lady boss) is a pretty lady that smiles all the time. She was very helpful in booking the next night's accommodation at Halfway House. I would recommend Naxi Family Guesthouse for the cleanliness but esp for the warm, friendly reception. It is your opportunity to stay in a Naxi home.

Most people miss the Naxi Family Guesthouse because they take the trail from Qiantou to TeaHorse or Halfway House in one day. For us, we decided to make the hike less intimidating by doing it in 3D 2N because we are not hikers. We took the bus from Lijiang all the way to Tina's, deposit our big bags. From there we hiked to the Middle Gorge (you can do this in 2 hours down and up but we took 4 to enjoy better). We then went to Upper Gorge before going to Naxi Family Guesthouse. After a good night's rest at Naxi, we trekked all the way to Halfway House the next day, spending the night, before continuing to Tina's on the 3rd day.

Room Tip: Request for a upper floor room for better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kokngai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

As I was not well, I booked the Naxi Family GH which is 2hrs walking up from Qiaotou (or they can pick you up for 80 RMB). People pass through it during the day to stop and eat. Few stay to sleep. From there you can continue up the 28 bends and well into the gorge finishing at the Walnut Garden with several sleeping options (Tea Horse, Halfway Point, Tina, Sean etc).
What I did not like about the gorge is that all the guesthouses, and especially Tina and Sean say bad things about the others. This is not the case here.
My stay with a Naxi family was a great experience by itself and for that I am happy. The following day, I was taken to see the rock on which a tiger was said to jump from one side to the other (hence the name). Was nice and it is something you do not see if you hike as it is on the lower road.
I ate there too. Was nice, not super exciting. And I stayed in the famous room 201 which overlooks the mountains. And there is hot water.just wait 5 minutes and it comes.
For more of my personal recommendations check: http://chinainmyhands2013.blogspot.com/

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank ggbazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This Guesthouse is a wonderful establishment on the Trek. We chose to start the trek late in the day and walk the 2 hours from Qiaotou. We arrived weary and hot and sat in the courtyard complete with its wall of drying corn. Unannounced tea arrived with mint, so refreshing. Once we gathered ourselves we asked for a room and were given the view of a life time. Our delightful clean, spacious room, with balcony looked up the valley to some stunning mountains. That night we slept with the window open as the thunderstorms rolled up the valley and the lightening display lit up the sky. The views rivalled the European Alps and for a very reasonable rate.
We ate an alfresco meal in the courtyard, a lovely fare. In the morning we had a hearty breakfast on the top deck looking up at the mountains.
Our fabulous host arranged our very reliable donkey wallah to take our packs up the 28 steps while we plodded.
In summary a welcomed respite on the trek in a lovely accommodating family Guesthouse.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view looking up the valley, sensational.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Letramm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We decided well before we got to TLG. that four days and four different guest houses would be the plan, nice slow walk the first day and stopped at Naxi GH. We really enjoyed our stay here, the food was the best on the trail and the family were great hosts. Clean rooms, wifi, great views, and english speaking staff.( they kindly booked our next guest house for us ) One of our highlights in the gorge was when the clouds cleared (after two hours of constant drizzle while we were walking) and the sun came through while we sipped tea on the rooftop of Naxi. Stunning.

Room Tip: They do a fantastic Spanish style, pancake type omelette for brekky!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sticky d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

If you are like us and don't like heights or strenuous trails, you have the option to hike the first part only of the TLG. Just get to Qiaotou and walk up the easy/moderate trail to Naxi Family Guesthouse, located just before the 28 bends, and stay there for the night.
Absolutely recommended ...Nice and clean room with a big bathroom, friendly owners and good food.
The next day, get down the same route to Qiaotou and take a taxi or flag a bus to the Middle Gorge & Tina's Guesthouse. The road to get there is gorgeous. The gorges gets narrow narrower. The scenery around Tina's Guesthouse is also fabulous. WORTH THE TRIP!
You can catch a bus back to Lijiang or continue to Shangri La ( Zhongdian) in late afternoon. Check at Tina's for the time.
This was the highlight of our stay in Yunnan.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madyMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

first guesthouse on the trail or last one depending from where you start, very clean and confortable rooms western toilets hot shower, great food...... ooohhhh the chicken soup the family is super nice,they are all mountain guides and most of them speak English prices are reasonable, i stayed there two days instead of one i was planing to and i do not regret it i got so much useful informations

Room Tip: guet a room with a private bathroom it is worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beringer j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shangri-La County
19.2 mi away
The Bivou
The Bivou
#1 of 940 in Lijiang
303 reviews
23.2 mi away
Zen Garden Hotel (Wuyi Yard)
44.7 mi away
Banyan Tree Ringha
Banyan Tree Ringha
#1 of 168 in Shangri-La County
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
49.4 mi away
Arro Khampa Shangrila By Zinc Journey
Arro Khampa Shangrila By Zinc Jo...
#4 of 168 in Shangri-La County
76 reviews
52.8 mi away
Songtsam Retreat at Shangri la - MGallery Collection
Songtsam Retreat at Shangri la -...
#3 of 168 in Shangri-La County
317 reviews
2.2 mi away
Tea Horse Guesthouse
Tea Horse Guesthouse
#9 of 261 in Shangri-La County
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naxi Family Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naxi Family Guesthouse

Property: Naxi Family Guesthouse
Address: Zhongnuoyu Village, Changsheng Village, Hutiaoxia Town, Shangri-La County 674400, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Shangri-La County
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 261 B&Bs / Inns in Shangri-La County
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Naxi Family Guesthouse Shangri-La County, China - Yunnan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing