We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful week at Caserma Carina on the annual...”
other traveler has booked this property

Review of Caserma Carina

Wish you were here!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wish you were here!
Sunset over the pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
244 reviews
Wish you were here!
Sunset over the pool
Elegantly fenced pool for safety
Monte Conero
Dine under the gazebo
Romantic terrace view
Stunning views from our terraces
Ancient Abbey only 10 minutes away
Gardens in colour
Views from our gardens
Caserma Carina Country House
Lake Fiastra January 2009
Mogliano festival
Caserma Carina's views of the mountains
Wine tasting
Fun art holidays
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Mogliano, Province of Macerata, Marche

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 244 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Tillee W
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful week at Caserma Carina on the annual Art Holiday”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

This was the annual art holiday with a great group of 'arty friends' and the 6th art trip that I have been on. Dean, Lesley & Grace were, as ever, the most helpful and perfect hosts. Dean took us all on daily sketching trips and we visited some beautiful mediaeval towns, villages in the hills and the mountains...with tasty packed lunches provided by Lesley. In the evenings we all went to some great restaurants and enjoyed fantastic food and sampled much of the fab local wine. Everyone produced some good drawings & paintings and we even had a little exhibition of all the art work produced at the end of the week, in the old palace, in Mogliano.
I also go to Caserma in April every year and this year also went back in early July for the annual Mogliano Festival. CC is the most perfect place and I love it! Such stunning views, incredible apartments, great swimming pool and such friendly hosts. I can't recommend it enough! My little bit of heaven and I can't wait to get back there next April for my 7th Easter holiday there!
A big thanks to Dean, lesley & Grace for making the trip such a success every year,

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artitalia
Epping
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect week with friends sketching, sightseeing and dining well in the local area”
Reviewed November 6, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

This was my fourth visit with a group of 7 art loving friends. As before, Dean, Lesley and not forgetting Grace their daughter were perfect hosts. We were escorted by minibus to and from the airport and were so well looked after from beginning to end, The itinery was carefully planned for us but not set in stone so we could alter plans as we liked depending on weather conditions, events or places that interested us.
The larger apartment allowed us all to `work` together indoors on the odd days it was damp outside (this was October). The apartments as before were immaculate as were the pool and gardens.
They managed yet again to find us some lovely restaurants to eat in the evenings. Lesley also supplied us with some tasty picnics and evening meals, washed down with the local delicious wines.
The setting makes for a relaxing and inspiring holiday and we all returned home with enough ideas and material to keep us busy during the winter months ahead.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
344Carole
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Marked Success”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

The property,pool and garden are pretty and very well kept with beautiful views of neighbouring hilltop villages.
Situated on the outskirts of a village all basic needs are readily at hand.
Lesley , Dean and their daughter are exceptional hosts; fun, helpful and attentive without being intrusive. We particularly enjoyed the supply of local wine and chilled beverages kept in the laundry room; the honesty box system is very refreshing.
The apartments are well furnished and kept to a high standard of repair and cleanliness.
Having recommendations and local knowledge readily avaiable meant we could make the most of our first visit to this unspoilt area of Italy

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The grounds and our hosts
Liked least: as a sun-lover choosing an apartment facing north
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenOxford
Oxford
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay shame about the rules”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This place is not sign posted so make sure you get directions from the owners. Also make sure you shop on the way as they only provide the very basics. This building has been partly restored and has a lovely swimming pool surrounded by a well maintained garden. We were staying for a week and as they could not accommodate us in one apartment for the full duration we stayed the first two days in the top apartment. It was a reasonable size but we found it very hot and stuffy as you are not allowed to keep the air con on if you leave the building. If you do it either turns its self-off or the owners switches it off. The rest of the week we stayed in an apartment at the back of the building on the second floor overlooking the countryside.. It was a very pleasant room, very clean and comfortable. Because this room did not get the sun it was a lot cooler. In spite of the weather not been very good we enjoyed the area and found the restaurants excellent value and quality. If you need any advice about where to go to visit or eat the owners are very happy to help. The only thing that spoilt our holiday here was that as soon as we arrived at 6pm we were bombarded with a litany of rules by the owner. This is sometimes the last thing you need after a long tiring journey. Whilst we appreciate that some people have no respect for other people’s property not everyone is tied with the same brush. The rules went on and on and on……….These were the air con, the rubbish to be put in the right bins at all times otherwise the owner would receive a £1000.00 fine, not to lose the door key to the apartment as it would cost him £500 to replace the door (seems they only have 1 key to each apartment?), do not sit on the sofas if you have any sun cream , do not sit on the loungers without a towel, do not try and put the umbrellas by the pool down as you may break them. A lot of these rules are surely common sense etc. The pool has a notice by it saying you must wear a cap when in the pool but no one seemed to adhere to that. We had to pay a deposit £200.00 and while we appreciate the owners are proud of what they have achieved and wish to keep it in good order for everyone to enjoy we felt all through our holiday we were worrying about whether we had kept to the rules.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We’re sad to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your holiday.
When guests arrive (apart from very late at night) we always spend about 10 mins running through useful information about the area and apartments which includes some requests and quirks about the property. These really help to keep our accommodation in the best possible condition for future guests. We do appreciate that some are down to common sense, but unfortunately past experience has proved that certain items are worth mentioning.
Our damage deposit is purely for more serious damages caused, and we’ve never retained a single deposit in our 8 years of business.
Our aim at Caserma Carina is to offer a high quality of accommodation, in a friendly and relaxing environment with contented guests; therefore we are disappointed if you didn’t experience this.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry n
Epping, Essex, england
1 review
“Excellent accommodation in beautiful countryside”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Caserma Carina is situated in beautiful rolling countryside dotted with medieval villages perched on hilltops, in an undiscovered area of Italy, and as such is tourist free and not at all commercialised.The apartments are furnished to a high standard, with lovely views. Lesley and Dean McCurran were an excellent host and hostess, who did everything possible to ensure we had an enjoyable stay. Usually accommodation is on a self catering basis,but they provided our small group with an all inclusive package,including transport and meals at local restaurants. This was an excellent arrangement.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and standard of accommodation
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgina2...
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful property and stunning views in every direction”
Reviewed October 18, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

This was our first family holiday with our 18 month old boy and we couldn't have picked a better place to go. We booked the larger of the apartments Girasol so that our little boy could have his own room for the fortnight, and we could not have been catered better for. The travel cot, high chair, plastic cutlery etc was all very clean, as was the whole apartment and the pool and beautiful gardens. Dean and Lesley worked hard daily to ensure the high standards were maintained.

The whole family were really friendly and made us feel right at home immediately. Our little boy was able to toddle around the garden exploring new things safely, and the family dog was friendly and gentle with him, and happy to put up with a slightly firm pat from time to time. There were also lots of toys by the pool as well for little ones to busy themselves with when the weather wasn't quite right for swimming (we went at the end of the summer and you never can rely on the weather!).

The local area is also beautiful and the people were extremely friendly despite our lack of Italian. We found local restaurants easily (Mariner in the square in Mogliano was our favourite - for lunch, dinner and take outs!) and any information we needed about anything in the local area and beyond was provided by our knowledgable hosts.

One other thing we couldn't fail to notice was how cheap everything was ... we were expecting to spend a fortune in Italy but as Marche has not yet really hit the tourist map the price tag was surprisingly low and we came home with a lot of change, not something that usually happens on holiday!

A brilliant holiday, we wouldn't hesitate in recommending it to friends and family (and have done so) and will definitely return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stunning scenery never failed to impress
Liked least: A little too far our of local town to walk especially with pushchair or at night
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandra-ja...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful surroundings with hosts who could not have been more generous and helpful.”
Reviewed October 16, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

This was an art holiday and this was the perfect spot for it. The countryside around Casa Carina was magnificent with panoramic views and many gorgeous little hill villages that one can find only in Italy. Sarnano was particularly lovely. The weather wasn't great, it was October after all, but that in no way marred our enjoyment because of the excellent organisation and the balance between trips out and and painting in and around the apartments. Dean and Lesley were wonderful hosts and took a huge amount of trouble in taking us to the restaurants and villages around Mogliano. The food was absolutely marvellous: I travel to Italy once or twice every year and have not experienced food to equal that of this region. For those who are not on a specialist holiday but are finding their own way round, most restaurants were fairly near and La Perla, the nearest, was fantastic. A great week.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Hard to say but probably the hosts and the food.
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing