We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Place To Stay when visiting the Plitvice Lakes”
Review of Hotel Degenija

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Degenija
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rakovica
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Perfect Place To Stay when visiting the Plitvice Lakes”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

To summarize: we (an older couple) found this hotel convenient; quiet; comfortable; helpful and friendly staff; good breakfast; a reasonable price; and a good restaurant next door. Overall it is hard to see how we could have had a better or more pleasant stay. By the way, don't miss walking among these incredible, beautiful lakes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tom828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    180
    28
    0
    0
See reviews for
103
314
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I stayed for two nights with my family and I was pleased with the experience. For a 4 star hotel is ok .I would like to emphasize that they have a wonderful terrace where you can take your breakfast or a wine in the evening. Is close to Plitvice lakes and also a good starting point for bike trips.
Rooms are ok maybe they need to work on the air conditioning system because is pretty loud and not very effective.
Overall it is a hotel with a good price/quality ratio

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ciprianjitaru_jitaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The hotel is well situated for access to the unmissable Plitvice Lakes. It is modern, somewhat bland, but clean and staffed by helpful and friendly people. We apparantly had the only suite in the hotel and it was relatively comfortable and spacious. The a/c was very noisy, but effective.
The restuarant is owned by the hotel and very busy - the food is no worse or better than most of the meals we ate in Croatia.
What we really did not like was the position of the hotel relative to the extremely busy road. The road traffic noise was intense for most of the day, well into the night and then started again in the early hours of the morning. If this kind of constant background noise does not worry you and you want a clean, modern hotel near the gates to the national park then this will be a good place for you to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

After 2 nights in Milan , this was amazing. This little hotel is perfect to visit the national park as its close to entrance 3. The restaurant has wonderful food and service that we ate here every night. Always people standing in line to get in. The receptionist was always helpful and courteous. The children's slide and swings was a winner for our two year old.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shimmer1704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights so we could visit Plitvice Lakes National Park. The hotel is only 5 or so km from the park entrance - great location.

Positives:

We received a very warm welcome upon arrival and also a locally made welcome drink. The staff is genuinely appreciative that you haven chosen to stay at their hotel.

The hotel grounds and building are immaculate. The flower gardens and landscaping are very well kept (the gardener was out everyday tending to the plants and watering them individually).

The rooms are nice and decent in size. The bathrooms are spacious but pretty basic. There is a room safe, although it won't fit a laptop. If you can, request a room with a patio - pretty spacious with a view of the hillside. I think we had room number 12 (or maybe 11?).

TV and free wifi worked well during our stay.

You can access the room by waving an electronic card key (or just your wallet/purse) in front of the locking device - very handy when your hands are full.

Breakfast buffet choices are sufficient and you can have fresh cooked eggs as well. You can sit inside or outside on the lovely terrace.

The cuisine at the restaurant hotel (next door) is fantastic and the setting is casual. Be sure to ask the hotel to make a reservation for you and sit outside if the weather is nice (they offered to take care of it for us).

Great value for the cost! The staff are warm and welcoming - the best we encountered during our two week Croatia trip.

Constructive:

The room safe doesn't fit a laptop. The shower head was a bit flimsy and wanted to spray outside the shower.

Room Tip: Request a room with a patio if they have one available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xctour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

As many others have stated, this is a delightful little spot close to Plitvice Lakes. We stayed in a room not in the main hotel, but in a little house adjacent to it. It was slightly less expensive, but I have no idea why as the room has everything the main hotel has, plus a balcony. The reception staff couldn't be nicer or more friendly. I'm very happy with this choice.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank ShoshTrvls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a night on our recent trip while visiting Plitvice Lakes National Park. The hospitality shown by the staff is probably the best I have ever encountered. The young man working the reception desk went out of his way to make our stay perfect. The rooms are tastefully decorated with large, clean bathrooms. The breakfast was one of the best we encountered on our 3 week European tour. The restaurant located next door has great local cuisine in a relaxed atmosphere. I can't recommend enough stars for this hotel; however, if you are in the area I would urge you to stay at Hotel Degenija.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hasbeanshockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rakovica
2.0 mi away
Turist Grabovac
Turist Grabovac
#1 of 3 in Grabovac
291 reviews
4.5 mi away
Plitvice Hotel
Plitvice Hotel
#2 of 9 in Plitvice Lakes National Park
534 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Jezero
Hotel Jezero
#4 of 9 in Plitvice Lakes National Park
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Villa Mukinja
Villa Mukinja
#5 of 9 in Plitvice Lakes National Park
124 reviews
4.6 mi away
Bellevue Hotel
Bellevue Hotel
#6 of 9 in Plitvice Lakes National Park
327 reviews
5.4 mi away
Plitvice Miric Inn
Plitvice Miric Inn
#1 of 101 in Plitvice Lakes National Park
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Degenija? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Degenija

Property: Hotel Degenija
Address: Seliste Dreznicko bb, Rakovica, Plitvice Lakes National Park 47245, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Plitvice Lakes National Park > Rakovica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rakovica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Degenija 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the village of Seliste Dreznicko, Hotel Degenija offers rooms with free Wi-Fi and a flat-screen TV. The entrance of the Plitvice Lakes National Park is just 4 km away.The rooms at Degenija Hotel feature a modern interior with dark wooden furniture and parquet floors. All rooms have a work desk, a minibar, and an en suite bathroom with a tub.Degenija’s restaurant offers traditional Croatian dishes as well as international cuisine. The restaurant’s speciality is freshly caught trout.For those who want to explore the hotel and the beauty of its natural surroundings, Hotel Degenija offers rental bicycles. Children can have fun at the playground. Free private parking is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Degenija reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Degenija Rakovica, Plitvice Lakes National Park, Croatia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing