We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel with excellent rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Degenija

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Degenija
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rakovica
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels
Level Contributor
146 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very good hotel with excellent rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

We (family of 4) stayed for one night. The reception was excellent, the rooms are large and modern. Breakfast is more than alright. The restaurant is also very good (e.g. very good and large pizza) and also there service was excellent.
We booked a quick Quad tour in the neighborhood (15 min direction of Zagreb) for one hour (Kn 120 pp) before we drove to the airport (2h drive).

Very recommendable hotel and restaurant.

And of course the walk between the lakes and waterfalls is top! We did almost the whole park in 5h (including the free boat shortcut).
Food in the park is not so good... maybe better bring your pick-nick.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBelgianBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    170
    26
    0
    0
See reviews for
95
292
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

Firstly, this is not a B&B, it's a hotel. We stopped here randomly on a visit to the Park, and were very pleased with our choice. The lift wasn't working, but the guy on reception took our bags up to our room (and I'm sure someone would have brought them down again had we asked). Large, modern room, nice bathroom. Breakfast was equal to any other we got during our holiday. Plenty of parking outside.
We had a nice lunch in the restaurant next door, but our evening meal there left a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trinash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Excellent rooms .u can rent a bilke .arange paint ball .taste the fimous Ivan home made palm brandy .

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nira-Israel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

This hotel was reasonable accommodation. I stayed a night at a twin room on the second floor. There was no lift so it was a bit trouble to bring our suit cases up and down (the receptionist willingly helped us, but there was only one person at the reception desk so that my husband had to bring his suit case by himself). The room was clean and urban style, it didn't seem like a hiker's hotel at all. I was very satisfied with the room but not the bathroom so much. The shower head couldn't bend down because of water pressure while showering so that I had to hold it in my hand. Besides, I think I could feel more comfortable if there were spare roll of toilet paper. The restaurant nearby was really convenient and the food tasted good. The location was 15 minuite away (by car) from Plitvice Lakes National Park.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Baci0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

Easy to find. Exceptional service. Fab authentic restaurant 50 metres away. Make sure you ask for a double bed rather than twins pushed together as it is mountain country and the hotel caters for treckers and families as opposed to couples. That said, the guys on reception were happy to help in moving us to a suite. I enjoyed my stay here more than 5* hotels in Dubrovnik we stayed in on the same trip. If I ever return to Plitvice I will return to Hotel Degenija for sure.

Room Tip: Room 31 - suite with king bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank poorlybandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viseu de Sus, Romania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

We got a very nice welcoming with a very good bottle of wine. The hotel stuff gives us their tips on how to spend our time best in the plitvice park area. The restaurant was really good.

We recommend the hotel and restaurant.

Ana & Dan

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danut_Bersan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

This is a brand new hotel about 5 minutes drive out of the main entrance from Plitvice Lakes. The views were stunning but I think all this area could boast amazing views!
The rooms look just as good as they do on the hotels own website (hotel-degenija), all beautifully designed, very modern and ours had a seperate sitting area, extra attention to little details like luxury pillows, free wifi and 100's of TV channels make this feel more like a 4 or 5 star hotel. The staff were so friendly and helpful and really went out of their way to look after us on our stay. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice and was continually refreshed even if you turned up quite late.
There was plenty of good parking outside and it was right next to a really lovely restaurant which we ate at on both days (owned by the same people) so you could just walk across to it. There were bus stops to the lakes nearby and a small mini-market within walking distance (probably about 1/2 mile).
I have already recommended this hotel to several friends who are visiting the area and can't wait to return in the winter! Definitely an excellent choice for families and couples alike.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tinkerbell42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rakovica
2.0 mi away
Turist Grabovac
Turist Grabovac
#1 of 3 in Grabovac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
4.5 mi away
Plitvice Hotel
Plitvice Hotel
#2 of 9 in Plitvice Lakes National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Jezero
Hotel Jezero
#4 of 9 in Plitvice Lakes National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Villa Mukinja
Villa Mukinja
#5 of 9 in Plitvice Lakes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
4.6 mi away
Bellevue Hotel
Bellevue Hotel
#6 of 9 in Plitvice Lakes National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
5.4 mi away
Plitvice Miric Inn
Plitvice Miric Inn
#1 of 98 in Plitvice Lakes National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Degenija? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Degenija

Property: Hotel Degenija
Address: Seliste Dreznicko bb, Rakovica, Plitvice Lakes National Park 47245, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Plitvice Lakes National Park > Rakovica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rakovica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Degenija 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the village of Seliste Dreznicko, Hotel Degenija offers rooms with free Wi-Fi and a flat-screen TV. The entrance of the Plitvice Lakes National Park is just 4 km away.The rooms at Degenija Hotel feature a modern interior with dark wooden furniture and parquet floors. All rooms have a work desk, a minibar, and an en suite bathroom with a tub.Degenija’s restaurant offers traditional Croatian dishes as well as international cuisine. The restaurant’s speciality is freshly caught trout.For those who want to explore the hotel and the beauty of its natural surroundings, Hotel Degenija offers rental bicycles. Children can have fun at the playground. Free private parking is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Degenija reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Degenija Rakovica, Plitvice Lakes National Park, Croatia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing