We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great stay at a beautiful property”

Review of Villa Stone

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 21
Rakovica, Plitvice Lakes National Park, Central Croatia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
uscballer...
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great stay at a beautiful property”
Reviewed September 25, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The property's surrounding is beautiful. It's clean, quiet and spacious. I drove from Zagreb to this property and the drive was so beautiful. A word couldn't describe how amazing the views were. Driving through the forest, up and down the mountain, the views were basically straight out of a fairytale. There's a restaurant on the property and free parking is available. My room was spacious with generous sized bathroom. The property is within 5 miles of Plitvice National Park. I had a great stay here. Highly recommend and I will definitely return.

Date of stay: September 2017
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael11...
Heemskerk, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Very nice guest house close to the Plitvice Lakes National Park”
Reviewed September 25, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We stayed for 4 nights at ‘Villa Stone’ whilst visiting the Plitvice Lakes National Park. It’s location is ideal for anyone visiting this beautiful area of Croatia and is only about 10 minutes drive to the main entrance (Entrance no. 1) of the park.

The guest house is stylishly decorated with lots of wood on the inside and still looks quite new. There is sufficient private car parking available in front of the house, with large parking spaces.

The bedrooms are also very large and with large, comfortable beds. The bathroom is also a good size and with a large shower. Despite the bedroom being very large, with plenty of available space, we did find that the cupboard storage space for clothes was actually quite limited.

A small buffet breakfast is available each morning in a separate dining area and evening meals can also be ordered, however we did not eat there in the evenings on any day.

In general, this is a very good, quiet, clean and spacious guest house that is ideally situated very close to the National Park. The staff there were also very friendly and we feel it fully deserves the 4-star rating it has. I would certainly recommend it.

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayall2013
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Villa and the Best Team!”
Reviewed August 24, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We should have stayed longer! It was really difficult to leave the villa and the lovely team.
Villa Stone is very modern and well equipped. The rooms are spacious and the location is great, just a few minute drive to Plitvice Lakes National Park.

But the most important thing is the friendly, professional and welcoming team!
Apart from their good advice regarding any activity around, they were able to satisfy all our needs, especially with the specific culinary requirements we were asking for. Not trivial at all!

We would warmly recommend Villa Stone to any traveler in the area and hope we will come back.

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacKennaM...
Thousand Oaks, California
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Such a wonderful find”
Reviewed July 29, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We stayed one night so we could be close to Plitvice and we wished we could have stayed longer. We were able to have dinner as soon as we arrived and it was an incredibly delicious meal. We really enjoyed the breakfast as well and our room was very comfortable and spacious. I enjoyed the beautiful surroundings and the quiet atmosphere. We also were given some wonderful travel advice.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2017
Dear
Thank you very much for this kind description.
Kind Regards!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissJen
Athlone, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Excellent countryside retreat”
Reviewed July 27, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Stayed here for our first night in lovely Croatia, my only regret is we only stayed one night. The surrounding area is beautiful, very alpine in nature as other people have mentioned. We choose the guesthouse for its proximity to Plitvice National Park. The guesthouse is meticulously maintained and the wonderful host welcomed us like old friends. Our room was the largest we had on our 8 night holiday and was beautifully decorated. We had dinner on site in the evening, sitting on the terrace looking over the freshly cut fields was very like home (Ireland). Menu had plenty of options for a small guesthouse. Dinner was cooked on an open grill in the garden. Local cheese and bread was offered to start. Everything was fresh, tasty and well presented. Highly recommend if you’re in the area, the Plitvice Lakes are outstandingly beautiful but yes they are as busy as everyone says. We did find late afternoon (4pm on) it got noticeably quieter.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naturlig...
Stavern, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect if you are going to visit Plitvice National park”
Reviewed July 18, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We stayed here for two nights during our visit to the national park. It takes only 10 minutes to drive to where you park in Plitvice. The villa is situated in a very quiet and nice area but there are no places of interest you can walk to. But most guests to this place will likely come by own car anyway. However, we enjoyed the fact that it was so quiet. There is a little store only a few minutes away by car, where you can buy what you want to bring to the national park, if you don´t want to buy your food in the park.
You can have breakfast at the villa if you order in advance for 10 EUR. The selection is good and it is nice to sit outside and eat. We also had dinner here one night and ordered the traditional Peka, meat cooked under the bell. However, we were a bit disappointed with this dish as the meat was nothing special. The staff of the villa is very nice and welcoming.

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gabyb186
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent food expertly cooked”
Reviewed June 25, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We were warmly welcomed by Marijan and appreciated his advice about food and wine. Dinner at Villa Stone was delicious - the kind of meal that makes going out a special experience.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing