We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not at all a 4* hotel”
Review of Ionian Princess

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ionian Princess
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Acharavi
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Not at all a 4* hotel”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This hotel is positioned as a 4*. But it is not even close to this.
Service is below average, facilities are dated but the main thing is the food.
It is badly cooked, the choice is poor and very limited and IT IS ALWAYS COLD !
Meaning that the "hot" dishes are of room temperature. Would you like to eat rice, pasta, baked beans or meat in sauce when they are cold ? By the way - these items make the average complete menu for lunch/dinner. Add to this some tomatoes/cucumbers on the tray nearby. And that's it. Nothing else.
A monument to the owner's greediness.
They call it "greek 4 star".
Don't disgrace the country.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Passenger-to
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    42
    39
    38
    55
See reviews for
99
61
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Just returned from a week at the Ionaian Princess. The hotel is in a beautiful setting surrounded by lovely trees and flowers, spacious clean rooms, we had a huge balcony and lovely bathroom. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, especially the receptionist. The restaurant staff were great. Choice of food was limited,there was no toast or facility to make toast at breakfast you only got the same bread cobs that you also got at lunch and dinner, limited choice of jam, cold meat 'hot' selection of eggs, bacon etc was only warm. I asked if they would make me an omelete one day but they would not do this. Food at lunch and dinner similar, lovely salads but limited choice of 'hot' food which again was only ever just warm.Not many British at this hotel maybe that's perhaps why the food didn't really suit us.Other than the food everything else about the hotel was wonderful. It has a lovely pool area and is situated very close to the beach and the shops, it was very easy to get around, the local bus goes to Corfu town and there are plenty of places to hire cars, bikes etc. The whole coast is very pretty.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank janshf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We visited the hotel in May and it wasn't very busy so we had some piece and very good service. The surrounding area is absolutely gorgeous with exotic plants and blooming flowers, ideal for morning and evening long walks.
We tasted some delicious specialties and pastries home made.
The renovated room had a wonderful mountain view and we used to sit on our balcony to have our coffee.
We had every day Room service free of charge and we appreciated the hospitality of the people. We definitely recommend this hotel to other holiday makers.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nickcorfu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

My husband (70) and myself (66) have just returned from this hotel, we arrived at 2am and were taken by a staff member to our room, we were on an upper level in pitch darkness as there were no lights, the chap kept flicking his lighter to check the room numbers, and we were walking into what we thought were trailing electrical cables (washing lines) we were shown into a shabby tiny self catering apartment, broken mosquito nets and lots of them flying about. we were too tired to try and find our way back down in darkness so slept and were both badly bitten, when we got up the shower didnt work, and there was so little space that you couldnt shut the door of the bathroom. We complained and said its 2 star, not the 4 star room we had booked, and staff said they would try and sort out a better room. We then went into breakfast lol- there were around 25 people (all greek- who had booked for the Easter holiday) AND.......there was NO food at all save some scattered cornflakes and a few crusts of bread strewn on the table, it was as though an invasion of locusts had decended and eaten everything, no coffee no juice NOTHING!!!! we went to reception and complained as it was just 8.30am and breakfast was from 8-10am, and they said' Sorry, it will be better tomorrow' laughable? We walked to town and paid for breakfast, and we did that every day except the last two days. on the Saturday Sunday and Monday we had no evening meals either, there was nothing laid up! The greek party left on the Monday and there was much shouting and screaming almost coming to blows, aimed to staff at the reception, a greek girl said we are complaining because there is no food and we have paid!! When the greeks left my husband and I were the only guests there for the next 7 days, it was lonely,no interaction with other guests we were isolated, no food in the mornings, but by the Wednesday they offered us meals in our room which they had to send out for food to nearby restaurants to feed us. The food was never hot as it had come from a distance, but it was better than the hotel had provided, we felt afraid and abandoned at times, there was no entertainment, the TV was dated and blurry and it was just greek or german channels, the staff couldnt apologise enough. We were told the hotel had problems for a few years and suppliers hadnt been paid so no food! The staff were nice people, but could do nothing. One member of staff stopped by us as we went for a walk and was crying, he told us he had just been sacked, it was not the holiday experience we expected and believed we were going to have - dreadful and we paid good money for a holiday from hell - but I see today that the Hotel website has a sign saying: Availability:We're sorry, but it is currently not possible to make reservations for this hotel.
Its dated, shabby, uncared for, and nothing like the website, its misleading to say the least.yet a beautiful old building, but so many things are not right, the lack of food, and general taking care of guests needs is non existent. 10 days of what we were expecting to have a lovely break was dreadful. I actually lost 4lb - But we were really sorry for the few staff they had, as they were nice people, who's hands were tied, and they took a lot of flak.

Im seeking redress for my money back.

Room Tip: If you do venure here book a superior room, thats still poor, but if you go to a self catering apart...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Guvver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Acharavi hotels

Bologna, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Spent with my 2 children 7 days at Ionian Princess and felt very happy with our choice. Acharavi si very nice and quiet, the beach is long and sandy, many watersports too and the hotel provided us with everything a family would need for a quiet and relaxing vacation. If we go back to Corfu we will definately choose this hotel.

Room Tip: Some suites have big balconies with great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TMoschi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IONIAN P, Manager at Ionian Princess, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for choosing Ionian Princess Club Suite Hotel for your vacation and for your positive review. We will be very happy to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We spent our holidays in August and even if the hotel was full we enjoyed every moment without being annoyed by oyher guests. The room was always very clean, quite big with a jacuzzi tub+extra shower+extra bathroom, meals abundant and of great quality and the only time we decided to eat outside the hotel, we regret it. The sea is a long sandy beach, clean and with affordable prices for sunbeds. Very good Wi-Fi connection and FOR FREE... so we will definately go back on our next trip to corfu

Room Tip: Ask for a suite -very good prices- and if you have a large family there are suites that are like an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bakaliaraki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IONIAN P, Manager at Ionian Princess, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for choosing us for your vacation and for posting this review. We will be very happy to welcome you again this forthcoming season
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rethymnon, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Visited the hotel in the mid September and was absolutely happy with our choice. I had read reviews of previous years and was not sure what to expect. The truth is, we have had a family vacation and enjoyed every single thing about this hotel. The rooms were spotless and spacious, the food great and abundant, the staff extremely helpful and polite and the hotel itself a marvellous resort.
Do not read the reviews... they have nothing to do with the reality -even if I was told that the hotel was fully renovated.
I would recommend it to anybody for a family relaxed vacation. Will definately come back!!!

Room Tip: had a family suite and was a great choice and an excellent value for money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dolphin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IONIAN P, Manager at Ionian Princess, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel for your vacation and for posting this review for us. We will be very happy to welcome you again for your Easter or summer vacations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Acharavi
3.0 mi away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
2,060 reviews
15.9 mi away
Alexandros
Alexandros
#8 of 9 in Perama
523 reviews
9.6 mi away
Blue Princess Beach Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Hotel Magna Graecia
Hotel Magna Graecia
#5 of 15 in Dassia
243 reviews
20.7 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,236 reviews
17.4 mi away
Grande Mare Hotel
Grande Mare Hotel
#16 of 17 in Benitses
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ionian Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ionian Princess

Property: Ionian Princess
Address: Acharavi, Corfu, Acharavi, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Acharavi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Acharavi
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Acharavi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ionian Princess 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ionian Princess Club Suite Hotel is a Club hotel that sits in Acharavi, a sea-side village on the northern part of Corfu.Its guests enjoy a 7 km. beach and a peaceful and idyllic environment.Fully renovated recently, the hotel features family holidays with the best accommodation, dining, and leisure that are guaranteed to convert your stay in Corfu into an unforgettable experience.Ionian Princess Club Suite Hotel consists of independent traditional buildings, that form an elegant and harmonic structure with gardens, trees, exotic plants, trellis, stone-paved alleys, restaurants, bars, a disco, parking, 2 pools, mini-soccer, tennis, beach-volley courts, amphitheater, and ramps for persons with special needs, lifts, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Ionian Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ionian Princess Acharavi, Corfu, Ionian Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing