We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An apartment or not”
Review of Eriva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eriva
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Acharavi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We recently, end of August, stayed at these apartments. We have stopped in Acharavi on a number of occasions. We booked an apartment and a studio but were given two studios instead of the rooms we booked. The owners could not change the rooms becase they were full. I would suggest that you are very careful when booking a one bed apartment at these apartments. The rooms are basic but clean and the site is OK. The pool area tends to be busy so if you want peace and quiet there are other pools near by that can be used. We would not stop here again but that is purely down to the room situation.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room near the reception and not near the pool as the bar remains open late
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank friarmere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 185 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2012

I moved house earlier in the year and our inttention was not go abroad this year, but due to the terrible weather we had at the time ended up booking this on a wim. Let me tell you it was one of the best decisions we ever made! Aside from Corfu being one of the most stunning islands in the med, the Eriva apartments really made the holiday that little extra special. The pictures posted by people on TA and also the professional shots used by Thomas Cook really don't do the place justice. If I am honest our room could have done with being updated as well as being slightly cleaner (this is the only reason I haven't given 5 stars), but like us you only use the room as base, it should not bother you. What makes the Eriva apartments special is the atmosphere around the place. The Eriva apartments are a family run business and the some of the friendliest people you will meet. The grounds are fairly small and well looked after and set in the relatively quite resort of Acharavi and seems to attract family’s looking of a relaxing holiday. Everyone we met at the apartments were so friendly, and we will genuinely miss some of the people we met. I would say that more than 60% of the families we met had come to the Eriva apartments before which is testament to the place. In one case we met a family that had been coming 17 years! The Greek night that organised by Eriva excellent! All of the owner’s family turned up and following a show put on by some local dancers the night ended you with the owner’s family introducing us to some Greek maneuvers on the dance floor!

The local Greek dishes in the local Taverners were excellent where ever we went but if you don't like the local cuisine there is plenty else on offer at really low prices. Woody's, which is on the sea front close by, has to get a special mention, the food and the prices are excellent as well as the service. I recommend a trip to Paleokastritsa which is one of the most stunning beaches I have ever been to. The journey by car across the mountains to get there provides unbelievable views of the island. If you need a hire car, don't book through Thomas Cook but go to Gregs Car hire in Acharavi, which is just next to the Pump House and has half a Car poking out of the shop front. They are a local firm and provide full insurance and great service at competitive rates. We paid 100Euro's for 3 days.

Unfortunately before we left we found out that Thomas Cook would be dropping Eriva in 2013 because the refuse to offer All Inclusive. Let me tell you this is not and should never be an All Inclusive hotel. Our friends who stayed at the hotel next door (Matoula) told us that Thomas cook had done them same to them the year before. If the local hotels which are not set up to provide All Inclusive are forced to do so it would do irreparable damage to the local business and Taverner's and spoil the unique atmosphere of this resort. If you can book without going through Thomas Cook, I would recommend it. We only saw our rep once throughout the whole 2 weeks, but thankfully the friendly staff at the Eriva ensured that they were never required.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The apartments are a little dated but it looked as if there were improvements in hand so maybe these changes will be in place by next season. That said the ones we stayed in were a good size and clean and tidy - except the shower which was on the small side! I'm 6foot and wide at the should so found it a real squeeze.
The pool was kept beautifully clean - never saw a leaf, insect or anything that wasn't meant to be there in the water.
The pool bar was great - prices not hiked for a captive audience either. The Greek night was a laugh, except for my daughter who was embarrassed by her Dad dancing with a glass on his head! Dads eh?
A couple of points to note for consideration with this place:
The aircon costs are not included and for us, 2 apartments - each with 2 A/C units this was quite a bill. Other places may include it so worth thinking about when you're choosing.
Mosquitoes!!!!!!!! We were eaten alive but that was everywhere in the town not just at the apartments. Everyone we saw when we were out and about was bitten.
Overall though we had a great time and everyone connected to the apartments and pool bar were great so thanks to them.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
4  Thank Rabidrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed as a family in the Eriva for 11 nights and it was our first time in Corfu. I have to say that it really is a nice place to stay, typical greek apartments etc. The reception staff are OK, but the poolside staff are excellent. the location is perfect, right on the main beach. Only thing I have to say is the Entertainment in Acharavi is not all that good if you're a Karaoke or Tribute lover but, with a 10 minute walk to Neighbouring Roda, that settles it down. The hotel gave a good example of corfu and I wouldn't say i'd never return.

Room Tip: If you're a tribute and karaoke lover, in the night go to Roda. Also, if you want a good meal, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jakedavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Stayed for 2 weeks 15 to 29 June 2012. First impressions after arriving at 5.40am were good, basic apartment but clean and as expected for the Greek islands. We were in room 45 which was in the courtyard area near reception and overlooked bushes and tress and another set of apartments. Our room had 2 single beds and a large sofa which would be used for a 3rd person, a separate kitchenette and a bathroom. Basic cooking utensils, 2 ring cooker (which actually was pretty good and heated up quickly), kettle and sandwich toaster which we did manage toast on!
The pool area is brilliant and I can see why these apartments are popular with return guests. Never crowded, plenty of sun loungers and the pool is perfect, 1.75meters at it's deepest point so it was great to cool off in and felt like getting into a lukewarm bath. The bar does play music which was sometimes a little loud, but it wasn't a problem. We ate at the poolside snack bar 3 times and each time it was good quality and good value. The breakfasts are only served 9-11am which we naver got there in time for! The only thing I would say about the pool bar is that there wasn't much of an atmosphere, either during the day or at night. In fact we had one drink at the bar one night and left as it seemed awkward. I think the bar staff need to make more of an effort to get to know their guests and talk instead of just playing loud music. Bar prices very reasonable so I cannot understand why the bar was always empty on an evening.
Getting back to our room, there was a glitch in the cleaning, which meant we went for almost a week without a visit from the maids. This was odd as they were about everyday except Sunday and it was talking to people around the pool that we realised we weren't the only ones. I don't know what happened but a word with the rep and it was sorted.
The reception area has a good selection of used books and this is also where you can change your money.
Finally, we had a very early arrival in Corfu which meant we had a very late pick up, ten to one in the morning to be precise. We enquired about keeping our room on & were told we could until 6pm but would propably have to change rooms, and the cost 20euros. Talking to other guests and they mentioned that they could keep their room on until the coach arrived, so we went back and spoke to the lovely lady who wears black with reddish hair, and she arranged that we could keep our room (didn't have to move) until the coach arrived. That was fantastic as it added another day to our hol.
There are some nice restaurants nearby, Woody's was our favorite, reasonable prices, good food and excellent people.
We will probably return to the Eriva Apartments but I hope the bar staff improve.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fi&Lee35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Just back from 2 weeks in Acharavi staying with the Eriva family, we stayed 2 years ago it was good then and nothing has changed. the family make you very welcome and the appartments have all you need for a S/C holiday. The hotel has a good location only a 5min. walk to the town or the beach, the hotel is well looked after, the pool, gardens and pool bar are all nice and the prices for the food and drink are also very good. you cannot go wrong having a holiday at the Eriva.

Room Tip: We had room 41 which was a 2 bedroom and had the sun first thing in the morning and on the ground fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mrpFalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

i have written on here before regarding the evria apartments but would just like to say to all the customers who go back every year who may have been a bit worried after last year with the bar being a bit quite it has all changed the bar is now run by alexis and ellenor and of course maria who cooks a lot of the food alexis is georgia son so its back in the family you are made to feel welcome new and old guests the only sad thing is that natalie was not there but things change

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendychris132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Acharavi hotels
0.1 mi away
Matoula Apartments
Matoula Apartments
#1 of 19 in Acharavi
381 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lena Mare Boutique Hotel
Lena Mare Boutique Hotel
#2 of 19 in Acharavi
83 reviews
0.5 mi away
Acharavi Beach Hotel
Acharavi Beach Hotel
#4 of 19 in Acharavi
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Filorian Hotel Apartments
Filorian Hotel Apartments
#6 of 19 in Acharavi
95 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nireas Studios and Apartments
0.6 mi away
Corifo Village Hotel
Corifo Village Hotel
#5 of 19 in Acharavi
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eriva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eriva

Address: Acharavi, Acharavi 491 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Acharavi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Acharavi
Hotel Class:2 star — Eriva 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Eriva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eriva Hotel Acharavi
Eriva Hotel Corfu
Eriva Acharavi, Corfu, Ionian Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing