We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chaos, not 5 or 4 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gelina Village Hotel & Resort
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Acharavi
Reviewed October 11, 2013

N0 where near a 5star resort the food quality was poor and very often was cold ,the dinning room at meal times was utter chaos , people running around like lost ants,drinks machines running out of beverages constantly,not enough cups or glasses for everyone.Don't think the water park Hydropolis is free everyday it isn't,open only twice a week Monday and Thursday,thursday being a change over day as well,any other day you have to pay 20euros each.as another reviewer has said owned by germans for germans if your english you seem to be left out .you pay extra for some things, room safe,Beach towel can be changed once a week for free any more than that you have to pay,towels in the rooms are not changed daily even when you put them in the bath as instructed when you want them changed, no room service on Sundays,no help with suit cases offered,long walk to some apartments,no lifts,aircon useless,take plenty of mosquito spray you will need it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sparr2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (581)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 581 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

......from a great week at Gelina Park. We booked this holiday and then read the comments on Trip Advisor. So we did not know what to expect. as I am an elderly gentleman ( well I think I am a gentleman!!!) I wrote to the hotel a week before travelling and asked them to allocate a room close to the main entrance
On arrival they had done this and we were on the ground floor in Nikki. So...full marks to the reception team
We found a good choice with the food although like other peoples comments it was sometime luke warm
For £24.42 per person per day we had three meals a day, all we could drink and good accommodation....what more can you ask for?

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gisburnguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Of course, we knew not to expect 5 star. But with offers it is the price that is reduced not the service level. That is why it is an offer and not a rack rate!

And certainly with this place the service was not great.The problems with the group that arrived in the early hours of the 30th September are well documented so I won't repeat them. Just a few points:

The management of this resort is at best chaotic, at worse appalling. You could see the attritional effect on the faces of the reception staff from check-in and throughout. Even for what is really a 3 star resort, the quality of the food (availability of the better fare being a bit of a lottery) and the drinks was poor; and getting hold of cups, saucers and glasses was a joke - the scrums with the other guests being particularly interesting! And there are insufficient tables for a busy service, unless you want to be attacked on the terrace by mosquitoes - and not all Greece has this problem with mosquitoes; a colleague of mine has just returned from Kos where no such problem existed. Spraying works.

Our (eventual) room was good, to be fair. also, the food did improve slightly towards the end of the week (perhaps due to a visit by a large group of Russian travel agents). The pool, beach, etc. good.

But, it was really the lack of care and concern that disappointed; we had a particular and significant issue early on that was simply ignored by the management, who failed to demonstrate any sense that our problem matterered to them.

The good bits of the holiday were the things that we did outside.

One tip: we paid a lot less for our boat trip by buying it in the village rather than through the 'rep'.

Should have known better. Will in future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MismoPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Yes, there are some issues with overbooking - we had to stay at a suite at the resort other than the rooms we booked for the first night, then we were moved to our requested accommodation. The place is clean, the food is good with plenty of choice, all inclusive covers a decent selection of alcohol, and the staff are friendly and helpful. No, it's not the Ritz, but what do you expect for the money you're paying!!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Claire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

On arrival we are told there is no room for us! A very unfriendly, unhelpful receptionist tries to ship us out to another hotel but in Roda, 5 minute drive away. We refuse to move and get put in a 'suite'. Not the sort of suite you get in the UK however. Next, the food at every service was lukewarm and very bland. Then on the 2nd nights entertainment was a show at the theatre, well they didnt show up and reception knew about this but failed to inform anyone queuing to get in! They ran out of big bathroom towels as the week went on so had to shower with hand towels! Water was not always warm. Finally the waterpark was supposed to be open on monday and thursdays. we went on the thursday only to find it closed along with all other queing guests.... again reception knew about this as the wernt going to open it that day despite the hotel being full and a lovely day. eventually they opening it and hour late but the lifeguard was a maintenance man! Doesnt fill me with confidence. All in all dont choose Gelina!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMW02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed here for 7 nights with my partner 29th September to 6th October. We didn't pay 5* Ritz prices so we weren't expecting it to be to that standard. Having had holidays in Greece in the past, we knew that it would probably be of 3* or 4* quality. The whole place is in a lovely setting with mountains on one side and the beach at the other. We didn't have any problems with overbooking and we were allocated a lovely 2 bedroom apartment with 2 huge balconies overlooking part of the gardens. Not much of a view but it was lovely and quiet which was just what we wanted really. We were in the Nikolas block in the middle of the complex so were never too far from any of the pool areas or the main building which housed the reception, restaurant and bar.

Our apartment was cleaned everyday with fresh towels, and the bed linen was changed at least 3 times in the 7 days. Mosquitoes are a problem anywhere in Greece so we went prepared with a plugin Mosquito killer for the room, Body Repellent to spray and some bite cream. The rooms do have a Mosquito net to pull down at night, and we didn't have any real problems. Just come prepared and you shouldn't have any problems at all. The beds were hard but we had a good nights sleep every night, and one night we slept for 10 hours!!

The food wasn't to everybody's satisfaction, but most meal times you could find something. Breakfast had loads of choice with eggs (boiled/fried/poached/scrambled), bacon, sausage, beans, tomatoes, various breads, cooked meats, fruit, Greek yoghurt, etc. Lunch had soup, salad, hot buffet, fruit and desserts. The evening meals also had plenty of choice, but over the course of the week, several dishes were duplicated so it did become a bit samey. We ate out in the town for 2 nights just to break up the week. The town centre is only 5/10 minutes walk and we went to the Pumphouse Restaurant which we would recommend you try.

The 'All Inclusive' drinks cover beer, wine, spirits, soft drinks, coffee and tea. The red wine was lovely and the beer was OK too. There is also 4 cocktails included which were fine. All the Spirits are 'local' and you get a good measure. Some of them were not brilliant but hey we were in Greece and you have to try these things.

Overall we enjoyed our holiday and got good value for money, would recommend you give it a try, come with an open mind and not expect too much for what you are paying. You wont get 5* luxury when paying 3* prices. We would come again but perhaps eat out in the evening.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trowydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

No room for us on arrival....had to go to another hotel that was not off the same standard for a night. Although their dinner was hot, which it never is at Gelina. The clean facilities mask a really poor service. Cold food and lack of choice. Slow service at bars. Even run out of vodka and gin on complex. We eat out after a few days even though we were all inclusive. Cold coffee from the bar. Rock hard beds. The list is endless. Not value for money. f

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank barrywhite1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Acharavi
2.6 mi away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
2,232 reviews
20.7 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,474 reviews
0.2 mi away
Corifo Village Hotel
Corifo Village Hotel
#5 of 19 in Acharavi
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lena Mare Boutique Hotel
Lena Mare Boutique Hotel
#2 of 19 in Acharavi
83 reviews
16.5 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
9.8 mi away
Blue Princess Beach Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gelina Village Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gelina Village Hotel & Resort

Address: Acharavi, Acharavi 491 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Acharavi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Acharavi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Acharavi
Price Range: $90 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gelina Village Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gelina Village Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gelina Village Hotel Acharavi
Gelina Village Hotel And Resort
Gelina Village Hotel & Resort Acharavi, Corfu, Ionian Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing