We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bring extra cash to eat out and LOTS of mosquito spray”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gelina Village Hotel & Resort
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Acharavi
Reviewed October 20, 2012

i found the apartments spacious and kept well, cleaned every day
lots of grounds and nice swimming pools, suited to kids as well
but forget the water park, it was closed when we were there and looking
around it we were glad because it wasnt somewhere we wouldve wanted
our kids to go and certainly wouldnt have paid the price.
Beach ok mixed sand and pebbbles so swim in your shoes
Food however was inedible mostly :( i ate bread, feta and tomatoes
Staff not very friendly apart from the bar staff who were OVER friendly
towards us as women travelling without men, they all think theyre in
Shirley Valentine movie, lol
Acharavi itself was the biggest let down, dirty run down and very shabby
at least half of the shops closed and nothing to do at all.
Maybe in mid summer for a do nothing by the pool week it would be worth
a visit if you get a good price.
MOSQUITOS AND WASPS ARE RIFE, COME PREPARED

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank wombat523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (584)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 584 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

As my title suggests this place is all inclusive but is bad at everything it does.
It was rated as 5 star however I don't know where the other 3 stars have fallen from as it is only 5 star by North Korean standards.

The "beer" was completely alcohol free although the taste was enough to put you off drinking it. The wine would be better used as floor cleaner or to flush out the disgusting sewerage system.

The food at breakfast can only be described as appalling, lunch passable and dinner very predictable.

The hotel was devoid of any entertainment in the evenings and most people went to the local town which has many good bars and restaurants.

Due to the abundance of stagnant water on the complex there was a major mosquito problem. Everybody should take precautions especially if you have children with you. I know Greece is suffering from economic hardship but really how much does a lawnmower cost.

I often looked across to the barren coastline of Albania and longed to be there. At least they have sand on their beaches.

The staff were for the most part unfriendly and hard to find.I should not have to argue with and
cajole a staff member to get a replacement beach towel.The rooms were very basic and the bedding was height of fashion in 1971.

On the plus side when one escapes from the gulag bicycles, quad bikes or cars can be hired at
reasonable rates and within minutes you can be in the hills to see the real Corfu. The capital is an hours bus ride away and is well worth the visit.

If you are going to visit bring a lot of money with you as you will want to get out of this dump as often as possible.

Room Tip: Try Barbados
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Chorleyramblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

5* thats a joke ! the biggest disappointment ever , booked the last week of the gelina being open for the summer, never again the place was unkept selfcatering appartments and as for all inclusive what a joke ,drinks watered down and only allowed at certain times, the food was vile repeated daily ,we ate out alot but if u were brave enough to eat there u would be sharing a dining room with cats, wasps and mosquito's .no entertainment in an evening . All I can say looks can be deceiving DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL !!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ejma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My partner and I have just returned from our 10 day stay at Gelina Village. We had a large 2 bedroom apartment which was lovely and spacious and more than we expected The food was a plus at least 3 meat dishes to cloose from as well a large selection of veg etc and plenty of it not at all like the review we had read before which was very off putting.The staff were very helpful from the minute we got there getting us in for lunch before it closed and phoning for our transfers etc no problems at all. The beach was lovely a bit pebbly but weather was amazing for october 28 degree s most days happy days for us. We have both been to Corfu before and know mossies are a problem but this is not because this complex was built on a swamp as previously spoken about in a revue but because of the hot summer and rain about 2 weeks ago, Everyone got bitten but hey thats what you get this end of the summer. On a parting note this Hotel is not 5 star more like 3 to 4 but what a holiday we had it was lovely and so peaceful highly recommended by us.....

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shirley m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Went to the Gelina Village on 17th Sept for 2 weeks. It was great. Lovely hotel,good food,lovely wine. 3 pools and as a couple with no kids,we loved the pool by the entrance as it was so peaceful as it was adult only. We had a huge 2 bedroom apartment with 2 balcony's,kitchen and nice bathroom. It was cleaned every day. We used one of the bedrooms as the non-mosquito room,so we always kept the doors closed and used the other room and balcony when we wanted to sit outside. Yes the Mosquitos were bad but if you prepare yourselves by taking vitamin B tablets for a few weeks before you go and whilst there and obviously use lots of repellent from about 5pm. Also I was told to use Avon's 'skin so soft' body oil as they don't like it. I was bitten but not as badly as some people who'd obviously not protected themselves.
We would definitely go again as it was great value for money. Ignore the bad reviews.
Lucy and Simon.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I read most of the reviews before we booked a week there. The accomodation is in blocks spread all around the complex. IF you are lucky enough to stay in one of the blocks near the entrance of the hotel then your very lucky because that seems to not have as many mossies. I can see now why some people thought the accomodation was excellent and some thought it was poor as some of the accomodation is looking very run down and are infested with mossies. It certainly isnt a 5 star and we would also rate it around a 3 star. Food was very much the same thing every day. It was a fair old walk to the beach and the main bar didnt open until 5pm, if you wanted a drink during the day you had to walk to the beach/pool bar. We are glad we only went for a week because two weeks would have been unbearable. We hired a car for a couple of days and saw a lot of the island and there are much better places to go on the island we seem to be mossie free. The weather was good 32 most days but the swimming pools were freezing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the main entrance pool, not so many mossies there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lizzy232273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

My Husband and I have just returned from a blissful week at the Gelina! We at 2am to a very friendly Reception Manager who checked us in, explained all the facilities and had us and our luggage carted to our lovely room, we were also given a nice supper and large choice of drinks before we went to bed! Our apartment was central to everything which was great, a good size, very clean and comfortable. We slept in the next morning until after 11 so missed breakfast but went to the beach bar (pirates) where there was soup and sandwiches already available. Plenty of sunbeds on the gorgeous beach, breathtaking view, self service bar and super friendly bar staff. Lunch is a large variety of delicious choices, we were a little put off at first because the lunch restaurant seems to attract wasps! There were lots of them but we soon discovered if you ignored them they didn't bother you! Lots of water sports available, things to hire and also lessons available! Water park was good fun. Main pool had music playing, relax pool was quiet and quite secluded...fab! Also another pool quite central, all with a bar, all really clean. Evening meal...amazing!! So much choice, absolutely gorgeous food, salads fruit, deserts...plenty of different choices for all tastes! Evening entertainment varied, beach bar party's and performers in the outdoor theatre. There was quite a lot of mosquitoes in the evening, we took vitamin b before our holiday and my husband used a spray so if you get bitten (I don't!) Be prepared! Acharavi is a short walk from the hotel with nice shops and bars/restaurants. We went to Harrys bar which was great and central bar which had a fab atmosphere and a fantastic live singer (Darren May), really lovely people in the shops in particular in the Salvanos supermarket the owner, Vangillis, was such a nice chap!

We had read other reviews before we set off and we were a little apprehensive about our stay at the Gelina but honestly I don't understand how anyone could complain, we had a fantastic time, we are looking into another visit next year with our children (just the two of us this time) and our parents as it is a place for couples, families or groups alike!

My only issue would be pay a bit extra and get a private transfer or taxi as the coach tranfer took nearly 2 hrs :(

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MrsB2710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Acharavi
2.6 mi away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
2,235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Filorian Hotel Apartments
Filorian Hotel Apartments
#6 of 19 in Acharavi
95 reviews
0.3 mi away
Acharavi Beach Hotel
Acharavi Beach Hotel
#4 of 19 in Acharavi
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Melina Bay Hotel
Melina Bay Hotel
#1 of 10 in Kassiopi
251 reviews
20.7 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,476 reviews
16.5 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gelina Village Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gelina Village Hotel & Resort

Address: Acharavi, Acharavi 491 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Acharavi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Acharavi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Acharavi
Price Range: $90 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gelina Village Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gelina Village Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gelina Village Hotel Acharavi
Gelina Village Hotel And Resort
Gelina Village Hotel & Resort Acharavi, Corfu, Ionian Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing