We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money and very friendly staff”
Review of Kamari Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kamari Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money and very friendly staff”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Just arrived back yesterday, and missing Kamari already. A little apprehensive after reading some poor reviews. Firstly, remember what you are paying for your holiday, if you are used to staying in four or five star hotels, then don't book Kamari and be prepared to pay 2 or 3 times more money!!

The apartments, are great for the money we paid. Had a 1 bedroomed for 4 people which had a double bedroom and then 2 single beds in the lounge/kitchen area. Had a massive balcony accessible from both rooms and wooden shutter doors that allowed the room to be shaded and kept it cool without paying for aircon.

We were welcomed by Eva on arrival who was very friendly and helpful throughout the holiday as was her husband Zak and daughter. Never found Zak grumpy as per some reviewers have said. Food and drink very reasonable, soft drinks 1.5 euros, and beer (Mythos) only 2 euros for a large glass. You can even buy cocktails for 4 euros, but be warned, Greek cocktails are STRONG!!!

Facilities:-

Great swimming pool, though chlorine does tend to turn white things, slightly green :)

Free sun loungers, though very frustrating that some people (all Brits!), leave towels on sun loungers 24/7 during their holiday!!! Managed to find sun loungers but had to get up early to ensure we got one.

Free wifi round the bar (as is the case in many Acharavi bars)

TV in rooms (can get CNN and Sky News in English)

In the area:-

Turn right out of Kamari and head up the slope to the main road to Acharavi. Turn left onto the main road and you will see Sbikes, a mini Market and your bus stop to Sidari/Corfu town. Cross the road and wait for a bus to get to Kassiopi. Acharavi town is about 10 mins walk down the road, the first park of which is poorly lit so take a torch!!

Turn left out of Kamari and you will end up at the beach, which is pebbly. When you are facing the sea, you can turn left to Roda (about 15 mins) or right to Acharavi's beach bars. The road particularly to Roda is pretty worn out but vehicles still use it, so watch for cars/mopeds. Also the road to Roda is poorly lit so again take a torch!!

Things to beware of:-

1) Mosquitoes!! Most are more like we in GB call Gnats, but they are vicious little creatures. I got attacked the first night walking to Roda, and had a bad night with around 30 bites! Subsequently we sprayed with repellant at least every 2 hours!! Repellant and plug in repellers are NOT optional. On this note, if you do get bitten and your bites swell up (as mine did), get to a Pharmacy ASAP and get Celesoderm-V with Garamycin. They will have to see your bites before they give it to you as it's a steriod/anti-biotic cream (that would probably need prescription here), but the 6 euros it cost was well worth it.

Food ripoffs!! - Food is generally fairly cheap as is drink, however watch the below!!

Yoghurt - a couple of places you can get a yoghurt pot and fill it up with yoghurt/smarties/nuts etc, however, this will cost you 2 euros per 100 grams or about 7 euros a full pot!!

Mini cakes - In Corfu town, bakeries often have very nice looking mini cakes. If you order they put them in a foil container and then saturate in nuts/Nutella and charge you 25 euros per KG!!

Waffles - 1 scoop or ice cream and nutella around 6 - 7 euros!!

Buses - Only went to Corfu, bus (aircon coach), 10 minutes late and then was full!! Driver said another was on the way and 20 mins later it finally arrived. Eventually got to Corfu town (which is very busy particularly crossing roads). Got the 6.30pm bus back and when we arrived at the bus station, the man there told us the Sidari bus would call at Acharavi too, so got on the bus as did far too many other people until 20 or so were standing!! They then decided that the Sidari bus would become just the Acharavi and Roda bus, so anyone wanting Sidari now had to get off!!! Fortunately that meant we got a seat thought there were still half a dozen standing for the 1 hour bendy trip back to Acharavi.!

Excursions - Tour operators excursions ARE expensive!! Walk into Acharavi and towards to far end of town you will find the British run Castaway travel. A Corfu by night on a boat will cost you 18 euros. The same trip with your tour operator is about double!!

Toilets - Be aware you CANNOT flush toilet paper etc down the toilet!! To us Brits this is a bit disgusting but on Corfu/Crete the sewers can't cope with it so loo roll goes in the bin next to the toilet. Also be aware that public loos don't generally exist. If you need the loo you will probably have to but a drink in a bar and use theirs!!!

Water - Whilst the water in Corfu is OK, it's generally not recommended for drinking. Personally we cleaned our teeth with it and made hot drinks, but otherwise used bottled water which even from mini markets is only around 2 euros for 6 x 1.5 litre bottles.

Thomas Cook - Booked with Thomas Cook and everything went smoothly. Plane, 757, very poor legroom (worse than 737), but had inflight movies on shared screens. The tip is buy your headphone adapters BEFORE travelling and bring headphones, I bought 4 from Ebay for 3 quid. Thomas Cook charges about £2 each + another £3 or so for headphones. Thomas Cook reps were "functional"! Lady on the bus, didn't seem to know much about Corfu or where abouts we were. Sian, our onsite rep was again "functional", but not particularly friendly and the same applied to the lady on the bus back.

All in all we loved Corfu and will definitely return. We also loved Kamari and the great hosts, Zak and Eva. Kamari isn't a 5* hotel but they are great value apartments for a great price with great hosts and also smack bang between Roda and Acharavi.

Room Tip: We had room 47 which is upstairs and had a great balcony and view of the pool. Views are generally...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Dedward67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    48
    25
    5
    13
See reviews for
52
83
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

I am sat at the bar at kamari writing this in my last day here!! Been here 4 a week and after reading the other reviews the first thing I want 2 make very clear is that Eva and zac are lovely, friendly and extremely helpful.. They certainly make your stay an enjoyable 1... The bar, food, apartment and pool area are very nice (especially considering the price) those expecting the Hilton, should go and pay Hilton prices!!! A little further from roda than I would have liked but the walk probably did my bingo wings some good with all the food I've eaten!! Plus the beach is only 5 mins down the road! If you want a quiet, relaxing, friendly holiday at the right price then I would certainly recommend trying kamari out :-)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Spink81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at kamari from 16 - 26 August, first off I just want to say that Eva is the most loveliest person you can find, she made our stay so pleasant didn't really see zac much but when we did he always spoke, the apartments are good, some have been modernized we were in these, pool area and bar was excellent, the apartments are a little way from the centre of acharavi (about a 15 min walk) but there is shops and bars along the sea front and main road,all I will say is that it is very dark at night walking back has there is no street lights and u have to walk up the side of the road where the cars go flying past so be very careful,the mosquitos have been really bad this year so take lots of repellant with you, u will definitely need it.over all this was a very nice
place and for the money we paid it was well worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kell1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Just returned from two weeks at the Kamari apartments in Acharavi.(Aug. 2nd to Aug. 17th)
The hosts Zak and Eva could not be more pleasant and hard working (and both speak English) trying to please all your needs. The rep on site was also very helpful (Sian) and always available on hand or by phone.
Studios were a little small but we only used them for sleeping and showering(No.9). Cleaners in every day to empty bins and general mop up.
The pool and bar were perfect for all, except do not wear white in the pool, tends to go green, the bar very reasonably priced. All the food cooked fresh in front of your eyes, and Eva is a good cook. Beach very close and the main shopping area in Acharavi about 15/20 minutes away.
For the cost of the holiday this place is great. it would be worth going back just to say hello to Zak and Eva.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pauldido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We really enjoyed our holiday because we made the most of it, however it could've been better if the brochure had been more informative. If you have a disability issue I would not recommend that you stay here. The apartments were fine for mobility if you stay in a ground floor room, but to get to the bus stop you have to walk up a fairly steep hill. My mum has a walking disability so we were limited to staying within the apartment complex and going as far as the beach. Also with regards to the apartments themselves there were a couple of issues which may not have been a problem if we could've got the bus and got out more. There were not enough sunbeds so we had to be up at 6am to put towels out, the 'self catering' facilities were a hob and microwave so you have to go out to eat and the cleaners only cleaned and changed the beds once in the 2 weeks but only because we asked at the end of the first week, and our towels were changed about 4 times.

Room Tip: It may be worth booking 2 rooms if there are 3 people rather than a 3 person studio as the 3rd bed i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 weeks, last week of July and first week of August 2013. On arrival was met by Eva who took us to our apartment. Apartments are very clean and more than adequate enough for a self catering holiday. There is a lovely pool, adult and child's including a slide. There are loads of inflatable stuff left by other people for children to play with. Sunbeds available around the pool most days but the beach is a 2 minutes walk away. There is a bar area with a great selection of food and drink including alcohol at a very good price. We did eat out and the best restaurants we found were Woody's, which is turn left out of Kamari and down to the beach and turn right walk about 5 mins and you are there. It is best to book for Woody's. The other is in main Acharavi called the Acharavi Park. Both are very good prices and portion sizes are good. I highly recommend the boat trip to Paxos and Anti Paxos, we booked through the rep at 40 euros, its a long day but well worth it!Also did a afteafternoon and evening boat trip to Corfu town, thst is good but Corfu town was still 30 degrees at 8.30pm. Take lots of water. We did see dolphins on the way down, which was lovely.
On the resort the rep came every day apart from Thursday and always asked if we were ok, very helpful and friendly rep. There was also a gardener/odd job person who worked very hard every day not surr how he did it in the heat.
As well as Eva her husband Zac also helps, he has a very dry sense of humour and can be mistaken for bring miserable, he is not. Eva's daughter was there for the first week helping out. They are a lovely family who make you feel very welcome anf it makes you hoilday more enjoyable.I would recommend this resort to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bekki73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Well. Where do I start praising the fantastic place... Lets stray with Zac and Eva. Absolutely lovely couple. When on arrival Eva greeted us straight off the coach and showed us to our room!. Room was lovely,very spacious, double bed, plenty big enough for just two! Food was lovely as Eva went away for a few days with her daughter Zac took over and my word didn't he do a fine job! Kept everyone happy and nothing was ever too much for him. He went out of his way to help! Very long hours that he worked and throughout the day he was smiling! Absolutely loved this holiday! Met some wonderful people Mark, Caron and Reanna. Who have been previous guests. They go back every year and I think they said this was their 7th time back!!! Defiantly going to arrange with them all and Zac and Eva when to go back! To anyone who has never been to the Kamari I would strongly suggest you visit!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Victoria_atkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Acharavi hotels
0.4 mi away
Matoula Apartments
Matoula Apartments
#1 of 20 in Acharavi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nireas Studios and Apartments
0.3 mi away
Eriva
Eriva
#3 of 20 in Acharavi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Corifo Village Hotel
Corifo Village Hotel
#5 of 20 in Acharavi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.8 mi away
Acharavi Beach Hotel
Acharavi Beach Hotel
#4 of 20 in Acharavi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lena Mare Boutique Hotel
Lena Mare Boutique Hotel
#2 of 20 in Acharavi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamari Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamari Apartments

Property: Kamari Apartments
Address: Acharavi, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Acharavi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Acharavi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kamari Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Kamari Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamari Apartments Hotel Acharavi
Kamari Apartments Acharavi, Corfu, Ionian Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing