We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful Restia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Restia Suites Exclusive Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk, England
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Restful Restia”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Just returned from a two week stay at the very end of the season. First impressions are of a small but impressively laid out hotel, and the charming owner and his trusty dog are there to greet you. The hotel is well designed, with nowhere far to walk between amenities and rooms. The location is quite remote in terms of walking out, and although there are a few nearby tavernas, going anywhere else on foot means walking along the path-free main road, which is a bit alien to us Brits. The owner will run you into Acharavi (5-10 mins) at set times during the day, and taxis are readily available for the return journey. Local buses linking Sidari, Roda, Acharavi and Kassiopi (from the main road near the Supermarket) are easy to use and reasonably priced, and a bus to Corfu town calls at the hotel's beach entrance at 10-10:15 and is much better value than an excursion.
The rooms are spacious and our upstairs sea view one had good views of Almyros Beach and beyond. The bed was large and comfortable, there was ample wardrobe space (though a few more hangers would have been useful), and there was a large bathroom with dual taps but a shared sink. The wet room had a very good shower and loads of room (it doubled as a steam room, and a voluminous hydro-massage bath.
The pool area was well supplied with sun beds, although some of the parasols needed a good clean and the small tables were in poor condition (most were removed during our stay). Both the pools had algae on the floor surfaces, and we saw no evidence of them being cleaned while we were there. The beach had a few hotel owned sun beds and straw parasols, the latter much in need of some TLC. The beach itself was a mix of shingle and sand, and providing you picked your spot, the water was easy to get in and out of and despite other comments, we didn't see the need for swim shoes. Once in, the water was shallow and the bottom sandy, and the temperature much warmer than the unheated pool.
The food, whether it was breakfast, lunch or dinner, was consistently good, and the upstairs restaurant had a different menu to the main one downstairs. After two weeks, the menu got a bit "samey", but most nights there was a special main course choice. We sampled the speciality evenings upstairs with Greek or Meze menus and either traditional dancing or music, which allowed us to try some of the more adventurous local food and drink.
There is a very well stocked library near reception, so there is no fear of running out of reading material. The best part of the holiday was being made to feel genuinely welcome by the excellent and friendly staff, who went out of their way to make your stay memorable. While this review reflects a very "end of season" feel, which may not reflect on the experience at any other time of the year, the guests pay a lot of money to stay there and standards should be maintained for any hotel branded 5 Star until the very last day of opening. Having said that, we would have no hesitation in returning to the Restia Suites and would recommend it for a totally relaxing break.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor rooms (unless you want your own pool) as you get more bugs indoors and the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malcolm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    24
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
408
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed at the restia suites first two weeks of September in a vip suite with private pool,which was very nice. However the location is isolated with no street lighting or walkways to enjoy an evening stroll, If you do venture out be prepared to pay expensive taxi bills approx. twenty euros each way to Kassioppi, but at least it was pretty and lively. The beach opposite the suites is basically scrubland and swim shoes a must for the rocky sea . Main pool not well maintained quite green with algae and whirlpool section a glorified bird bath , and never working . No entertainment of an evening unless you book the overpriced themed night. Food just average and on a two week stay repetitive ,also if you dinned late the nicer things would be all gone and just the cubes of leather left (beef skewer) . The courtesy shuttle service to Acharavi is the hotels best kept secret , it is just the owner taking his own car once a day, it has to be booked a day in advance and with a total of 60 guests at most times your chances of getting a ride are slim , and that's provided you know about it. We spoke to the reception staff a few times about going to Acharavi and were just directed to the bus stop. The owner does greet you on arrival and departure, the rest of the time he can be seen lighting the tea lights around the eatery area. This is not a good value for money holiday ,we paid approx. three thousand four hundred pounds, and for the same money could have gone back to the Caribbean , all inclusive with fab beaches. There is a big mosquito presence here spent a lot of money on repellents to no avail .Just telling it how it is so think carefully before you spend your hard earned money, there are far nicer placer places to visit. Will not be going back to Greece.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank sharonshols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

There are some issues with this hotel, and since it has so many full marks I felt a bit off-put to be that one guy who has problems. Thankfully nothing is wrong with the service, which is always most important. The staff are fantastic, friendly, and you can often see the owner about the hotel assisting guests and staff all day.

The first issue is possibly just a personal preference, so don't let it put you off if it sounds like your ideal place... We felt the biggest issue is that there is zero atmosphere, it's too quiet and the lack of entertainment was jarring. The hotel seems to be aimed at (older) couples that just want a peaceful place to sit and relax.

It's a small hotel, and the space is limited in the bar and pool area - we also felt very closed in at the restaurants with other guests conversations being fully overhear-able at all times. There are only a couple of seats that have the option of shade unless you want to go sit by the pool, which is an issue if you are not a sun worshipper like us. The shaded seating was always taken in the afternoon.

Despite the clearly favoured English orientated touches, including some english restaurant staff and proper bacon, the food was hit or miss. Some nights excellent, others average. Especially good was the Greek special restaurant which is reservation only - it books up very fast as the room has only a few tables. Other nights we were served cold food and leather boot beef, which at a 5 star hotel you do not expect to get.

The last issue we had is less important but it must be solved. Wi-fi - please do not advertise Wi-fi in rooms when it is down to availability. We waited 5 days of our 7 day stay before we got a router in our room which, at a 5 star hotel in 2013 is unacceptable. Free and readily available Wi-fi is an absolute must now.

We visited Kefalonia a few years ago for the same price we paid here and the hotel / holiday was only 4 star, but a lot better than here. The location of the hotel in general is awful, you have to get a 30+ min taxi or walk for an hour before you reach anything worth seeing. The beach is right on top of a fairly busy road that sits between the hotel and the sea... another jarring unadvertised feature. Corfu Town is miles away and the local bus sometimes doesn't even stop. Corfu itself is not that great either, I would recommend Kefalonia for a much more Greek experience.

I think the bottom line is for £3,000 you expect a bit more of a 5 star experience. Will not be returning to Corfu.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kye e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Had a wonderfully relaxing holiday in this beautiful hotel which is in a lovely location with beautiful scenery. Slight downside to the location is the mosquitoes, difficult to avoid getting numerous bites.
Restaurant provided probably the best food I have had on a package holiday although slightly limited if you are staying for two weeks and are not a meat eater.
The only slight disappointment was when we tried to book the Greek restaurant and were told it was fully booked - we felt this was our fault for not booking earlier and went away satisfied, but the next day I heard a couple been given a booking for the restaurant for the night we requested and when we asked at reception how this had happened we were given a very unsatisfactory explanation by the receptionist and no apology. I felt this was very unacceptable from a hotel of this standard. Later in the day we were offered a place in the restaurant, but I felt as if it was us that was being difficult and not the hotel that had handled this very badly so we declined the offer and went out for dinner - badly done!!
However I would recommend this hotel as we found everything to a high standard and the staff were wonderfully welcoming .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Its hard to add to the many excellent reviews. A few points, a taxi is a must to get to Restia from the airport, we heard 2 hours 15 mins mentioned by those using the coach, our taxi 50 mins!
We stayed in one of the suites and found we benefited from a bigger room and whilst we didn't have the private pool, the main pool was spacious and benefited from the attentive staff serving us great cocktaills. Do venture out, excellent local taverna to the right called AVRA, great lunches. Also try the Fuego Beach bar, relax with a cocktial and watch the sun set.
A final mention to Super Mario AKA Candy Man, any dessert you want, he will make.
Thank you all for a most enjoyable and relaxing stay, true attention to detail and excellent service.

Room Tip: Take a touch if your venturing out at night along the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed at Restia Suites at the beginning of September in a VIP suite with own pool on a half board basis. Totally relaxing. We didn't venture out, only to the local shops to stock up the room fridge with wine/beer. The food was very good and the theme nights make a change, although at an additional cost.

The staff are all excellent and very helpful. Booked already for next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jennydods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Had our honeymoon here and it was incredible! So sad we were only there a week. The staff were brilliant. Our room was fantastic, had our own private pool and it was luxury. We love our privacy so it was perfect for us. Food never disappointed either. We will definitely be returning for our anniversarys. I cant wait to go back

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank littlemoonpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Acharavi
10.9 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
1.3 mi away
Matoula Apartments
Matoula Apartments
#1 of 20 in Acharavi
360 reviews
21.2 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Grecotel Eva Palace
Grecotel Eva Palace
#1 of 3 in Kommeno Bay
1,364 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
2,099 reviews
10.4 mi away
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Restia Suites Exclusive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Restia Suites Exclusive Resort

Property: Restia Suites Exclusive Resort
Address: | Almyros, Acharavi 49100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Acharavi
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Acharavi
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quietly located near Acharavi village, along the three-mile stretch of Almiros bay with white sand and a sea of crystal blue water, lies "Restia Suites" Exclusive Resort, the epitome of simplicity, elegance and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Restia Suites Exclusive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Restia Hotel Acharavi
Restia Suites Exclusive Resort Acharavi, Corfu, Ionian Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing