We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Corfu's hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Restia Suites Exclusive Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2011

Stayed at the Restia the first week of May for seven days. It is hard to find words to add to the many reviews that have praised the Hotel, Staff and Owners for their first class standard of accommodation and service but believe me every word is true.
Having just returned home two weeks ago we have re-booked to go back next week, just hope the weather is a little kinder this time.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wiggy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

378 - 384 of 458 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2011

Spent a week here in September, wish it could have been longer!

Welcomed with a glass of fizz on arrival and talked through all the facilities in the hotel, then taken to our suite and .....WOW.
I don't think we took in a word she said as we were to busy taking in the room, garden and pool to listen, it was stunning.

Our pool was at a lovely temperature as it got the sun for most of the day, it was not to cold to put you off a refreshing wake up swim in the morning and it remained at pleasant temperature for both an afternoon swim or an early evening chill out.

Inside the suite had an amazing bathroom, jacuzzi bath, twin sink, and a shower come steam room - this was a great pick me up when followed by a cool shower in the early evening.

We ate at both restaurants and the standard of food was very good, some reviews have stated that the menu was a bit limited in the upstairs restaurant but we felt there was enough choice to keep us happy - the service in both was first class. We'd definitely recommend the Greek Night.
We had intended to hire a car and see a bit of Corfu but the furthest we got was a walk into Archarvi now and again, the hotel just made you feel so chilled you didn't want to waste a minute! We did venture to Harry's Bar a couple of times and found a small Taverna about 200m away (can't remember the name but its on the same back road as Harry's) where we had a wonderful meal, don't worry too much about what is on the menu, just ask the owner what is good that evening, it worked for us. They also serve the best Tzatziki I have tasted in a long time, you could tell it was made with real full fat Greek Yoghurt, mouthwatering with their fresh home made pitta breads.

OK, Restia might be a bit isolated and the beach a bit rough and ready but we were their for the peace and quiet so it suited our needs. It has everything you could want for a totally relaxing holiday. If you have your own pool you can swim there all day, if you want pampered you can visit the Spa, which my wife did and she loved it. In the early evening you can relax on your terrace with a drink before heading down for dinner - one tip here, get the spirals from the hotel or the shop on the main road and light 2 or 3 to keep the mosquitoes at bay, also get a plug-in for your room! Oh and dont walk through the olive grove on the way to the shops in late afternoon as they are really bad then.

All in all a fantastic holiday in a great hotel with superb service (special mention to Charlotte here for keeping us fed and watered), if you want to relax, head here, we'll be back again.

A final note on the other guests, we found everyone polite and friendly and I am a Daily Mail reader ............................... but not on holiday, I'm there to chill!

Room Tip: Go for the pool suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank northotheborder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

We chose The Restia Suites as the photos looked amazing in the brochure... Usually a dangerous game to play. In this instance the photos did not even do it justice.

From the moment my new wife and I stepped off the coach we both got that feeling of excitement in our stomachs - immediately our bags were taken and we were welcomed into the Reception area and offered champagne! The owner/manager then took us on a brief tour of our room pointing out the many features included - private pool, jacuzzi, steam room etc. As mentioned we decided to have a room with our own pool, and would certainly recommend doing this as it not only provides the extra privacy but also protects you from any breeze.

The service from ALL the staff was first class all the time. The balance between friendliness and professionalism was spot on throughout our stay. The managers/owners were incredibly friendly and we never felt embarrassed to ask for anything and nothing was too much trouble.

We found the distance from Acharavi centre fine - although it did stop us eating out in the evenings as the walks back in the pitch black weren't too much fun, although we saw numerous fire-flies, which in itself was a treat! We upgraded to half-board when there and if this is something that would interest you I'd definitely recommend waiting until you get there as it was markedly cheaper than offered through Thomson.

The food was consistently good, without being spectacular - we tried the 'gourmet' menu once during our stay, which was lovely as a treat with exceptional service, although a little on the expensive side for us to do more. The view from the gourmet restaurant is wonderful and we were treated to a great lightening storm over the sea! Incidentally, the sunset (which is uninterrupted) is definitely worth waiting for too!

We hired a quad bike (recommend Hire 2000 as the owner is very friendly and offered a great deal) for two days which was a great idea as allowed us to explore while seeing all the olive and lemon groves in the little villages around the island. The locals were extremely friendly, especially when offering them a cheery 'Yasoo!'.

Acharavi itself was very quiet (I imagine due to the time we went - first 2 weeks in May), however this was perfect as it felt truly Corfiot and not tarnished by tourism. There are a number of lovely tavernas along the high street, yet some more traditional ones in the 'old town'. For sport lovers, Panda Bar offers great service with Kostas
(its owner) being incredibly friendly and helpful!

The bad points: Having to leave and returning to work!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sretter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

We had high hopes for this resort and we weren't disappointed. We had a private suite with a pool. The pool was a lovely size and our garden/pool area was completely secluded and we weren't overlooked at all. The suite was very nice, large and bright. The double jacuzzi bath was fantastic and the shower was great. The 'steam room' didn't work properly though, it wouldn't get hot enough. Personally, we found the bed uncomfortable, it was too soft and my husband had a terrible back ache because of it.
The breakfast was very good. There was a lot of choice and it was all delicious and very high quality. I was addicted to their pancakes! We ate in the restaurant a few times. We didn't think much of the a la carte menu, both times we ate there the food was very salty. However, the greek bbq buffet is not be missed. All the food was delicious and the meat so succulent.
Now the bad points. The hotel is in the middle of nowhere! Acharavi is a 15 minute walk away along the beach or main road which has no pavement. At night it wouldn't be safe to walk, not because Corfu isn't safe, but because of potholes and cars! A taxi costs around €6 each way. When we were there in September there was a terrible problem with mosquitoes. They were everywhere and even though we had repellent on we got bitten loads, even my husband who never usually get bitten at all. We ended up hiring a car to get around and also avoid the bugs! Corfu was easy enough to drive in and I'm glad we had the car as we travelled all over the Island. My last negative would be the other guests. So many of them were extremely snooty and seemed to think they were something special because of where they were staying. We got blanked on more than one occasion when wishing other guests good morning! As this hotel only has english guests, it certainly wasn't because they didn't understand. Get ready for the amatuer politics over drinks as well. Being surrounded by the Daily Mail brigade for two weeks was a bit much, but at least the only time we had to spend with them was over breakfast. Definitely get a private pool room if that's not your sort of thing.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angellore78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2011

We stayed in the villa with private garden and pool, and it was fantastic, we were greeted with champagne by five of the staff, I felt like I was famous, they whisked the luggage to the room whilst we checked in and then took us for a tour and showed us how to use everything.
The service was the best, you could tell the owner/manager really cared about making it the best they could, and it showed.
The general pool was always very quiet, and being adult only, it's got a permanent chilled atmosphere, with plenty of places to sit.

The location wasn't great, could do with hiring a car or getting taxi's to the local town, as it's a 15 minute walk down the side of the road and a dirt-track, but it does mean it's completely serene.

The gourmet restaurant is good for a little glamour and the menu was 5 star, around 100 Euros for two plus tip, so wouldn't have wanted to do it every night personally!

Even the apartments without pools are worth it, as like I said the general pool was so quiet, but having your own garden and a swimming pool meters from your bed is the best :)

One note was the pools are not heated, so in may were chilly, although the pool guy said they're like baths in late summer.

We will definately be going back.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TDommett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2010

This is the best location I have EVER been to in my life. So much so that my girlfriend and I have booked it again this coming year. The whole place is immaculate. The food excellent, and on this occassion we didn't see a cloud in the sky. We spent most of the holiday naked, just dipping in and out of the pool, or lying by the pool in our totally secluded space, except for one day when we went on the Blue Lagoon boat trip which was fun. - We also did the Corfu by Night trip, but that was just a bus trip to Corfu and you are left to your own devices. Apparently most people holidaying here were on honeymoon.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Archie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

We stayed at Restia for two weeks for our honeymoon in September and had an amazing time. I think the hotel only has around thirty-something rooms and it really benefits from this as it enables the service to be that more personal and friendly than what you might get at a large hotel.

We were welcomed on arrival by Louise, Joanna and Zafiris with a nice glass of champagne each and then shown to our room by Joanna. We stayed in a room with garden view as the VIP and sea view rooms were full when we had booked. Although I had worried that the whole experienece wouldn't be as good without the VIP room I really needn't have. We had a beautiful view over to the pool and the bar area and a really spacious seating area outside. The room itself was stunning and apart from the pool and garden they are exactly the same inside as the VIP suites (we managed to get a quick look around one of the VIP suites before new arrivals turned up later in the holiday). The rooms have everything you need; the only things we had to ask for were iron and a CD player which were promptly brought to us from reception on request. I have to say that the music selection on the tv is not great so bring your own CDs!

The food at Restia is delicious and the portions are HUGE! We originally booked B&B but upgraded to half board a few days into the holiday. If you are planning on going half board then a big tip is to wait to you are there and then upgrade. I think the special offer while we were there was 14 euros each per day, which includes a three course meal, much cheaper than what Thomson charge. We ate in the gourmet restaurant upstairs three times whilst there and the food and service were great. The only criticism I have is that some of the meals on the menu were unavailable but this may be due to problems getting hands on local produce, it wasn't really a problem anyway. If you are eating at the gourmet restuarant and are half board you get a certain percentage knocked off your bill. There was always a good selection of wine, with the staff on hand helping you decide what to choose, and the cocktails are also fab!

The communal pool was great. There were never any problems getting sun lounges which added to the stress-free attitude of the place! Chilled out music is played around the pool and the vibe is really nice; there are always staff close by to attend to drinks or snacks, they really go out of their way to tender to your needs. I was actually glad in the end that we didn't have a private pool as I loved the relaxed but friendly atmosphere round the pool. The gardens are so well looked after, (think the gardener was there every day) and it is just such a lovely environment to relax in.

There was entertainment most nights in the hotel. There were a couple of acoustic guitar players who were great and the 'piano man' who played upstairs in the gourmet restaurant and another night in the main restaurant, also brilliant.

The staff at the hotel were faultless. They are attentive and helpful but are not contrived or stuffy, in fact they treat you like friends but in a suitable way. Joanna and Zafiris were about most of the time which I think says a lot about the type of place that Restia is. The spa is also a must, the prices are very reasonable if you take advantage of the special offers, and the treatments are first class. We visited the gym once when the weather was bad and the facilites seemed of good quality with plenty of space and variety of equipment.

The only days out we managed were to Acharavi, Corfu town by boat and to Kassiopi. All were very nice but we couldn't wait to get back to Restia which probably explains why we didn't get out more than we did.

We would definitely like to return in a couple of years. It really is a mix of top quality, first class service, food and facilities without being formal or prim. Very jealous of anyone going there next year!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jayne023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Acharavi
10.9 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
2.2 mi away
Coral Hotel
Coral Hotel
#1 of 16 in Roda
650 reviews
10.4 mi away
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Matoula Apartments
Matoula Apartments
#1 of 19 in Acharavi
379 reviews
21.2 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,439 reviews
10.9 mi away
Art Hotel Debono
Art Hotel Debono
#1 of 17 in Gouvia
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Restia Suites Exclusive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Restia Suites Exclusive Resort

Address: | Almyros, Acharavi 49100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Acharavi
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Acharavi
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quietly located near Acharavi village, along the three-mile stretch of Almiros bay with white sand and a sea of crystal blue water, lies "Restia Suites" Exclusive Resort, the epitome of simplicity, elegance and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Restia Suites Exclusive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Restia Hotel Acharavi
Restia Suites Exclusive Resort Acharavi, Corfu, Ionian Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing