We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and staff”
Review of Century Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Century Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Dover, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and staff”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My partner and I have just come back after spending 10 days here. The hotel is lovely staff are helpful and kind. We had to change rooms as out first room was up the top of the hill and was too much for us but they moved us with no problems. I will say that the Mosquitos were everywhere and the products we took out were no good but there are things you can buy out there in the local shops that work well. We went bed and breakfast which was ok can get boring but there was a range of food that suits everyone. The pool bar staff were absolutely lovely had a great laugh with them. Hotel was 5mins or less to local shops, bars and restaurants there is a restaurant called Odysseus that had amazing food and very friendly staff. Would recommend and will come back again. Room service was brilliant clean towels and bed sheets everyday.

Room Tip: Rooms over 300 are based at the top of the hill so if you are not a walker then probably best off re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marios T, Front Office Manager at Century Resort, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Amy,

Thank you so much for your review. We're glad you had nice stay with us. Your opinion is very important to us as it helps us to improve our services.

Kind regards,

Century Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    77
    25
    7
    2
See reviews for
65
79
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We booked one week including breakfast through Neckermann from 28/08/2013 at 450 euros per person, and got room 53 (main building, above reception).
Room: reasonably clean, everything working, 2 airconditioners, 2 too small televison sets, separate bedroom, hard but comfortable twin beds, very badly finished and old but fully working bathroom, shabby towels, bring a mosquito plug-in!
Reception: quite efficient, helpful and friendly.
Breakfast buffet: nice breakfast, very bad frozen pack Douwe Egberts coffee and watery "juices", friendly staff, buffet very well organized.
Garden: quiet, well kept.
Car park: free but small.
Situation: not far, but far enough from main road with many restaurants, 10 minutes from beach, if you like it. We didnot at all and drove to Almiros every day. Without a car we would not have liked neither Acharavi nor neighbouring Roda, which appear to be horrible places for typical British tourists, and we would probably not have enjoyed the holiday. With the car, we now think the island and the local people are fabulous!
When you visit this hotel, notice the difference between the photoshopped official hotel pictures and reality, very funny!

Room Tip: room 53 does not have a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dorajean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marios T, Front Office Manager at Century Resort, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Dorajean,

We really appreciate your review as it helps us to improve the quality of our services, thank you very much.

Century Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My partner, me and our two children aged 9 and 5 came here for 11 nights. The hotel and villa were lovely. Every member of staff was friendly and genuine, from the cleaner, receptionists and waiting staff. The swimming pool is fabulous, with a shallow kids pool right next to it, and never any problem finding sunbeds even in the height of the season. There is also a good playground and kids' equipment.

The hotel grounds are lush and green, constantly watered and the apartment was serviced every day including clean towels and bedding if you want it. Breakfast in the hotel is great and offered everything we could have wanted, and went on until 10am so we could have a lie-in.

There was just a short 5 minute walk to the town of Acharavi. It was only a slight slope downhill - [we were led to think from some reviews that there was a 1 in 4 gradient to climb but this isn't the case]. ( If you don't to walk up a slight hill to your room, ask for a room near the reception / pool.)

The town is a bit scruffy in places, but nice to wander round. The restaurants near the beach are great. Walk down to the beach via the olive wood shop (right off the main road) - the nicest restaurant is at the end of the road right on the beach. Prawns in garlic were delicious. Sunsets are amazing. Loads of other restaurants to choose from and most were very good. Lemongrass is overpriced though in my opinion.

Beach is good but was choppy some days, so need to be careful with the kids.

The apartment was very nice and clean. Only suggestion would be a welcome pack on arrival with washing up liquid, sponge, cloth - so you don't have to buy them. Mosquitoes were not a problem for us as we took two plug in mozzy killers from home and sprayed anti mosquito stuff on every evening. We did see some people with nasty bites, so worth doing. The local shops sell the repellent and the plug ins.

Had a trip to Kassopi on the local bus, made a change and the harbour is pretty.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marios T, Front Office Manager at Century Resort, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Mel I,

Thank you so much for your review!!! We are very pleased with your opinion.

Century Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

A perfectly nice hotel, lacks the extras to be excellent. It is set slightly uphill from the main road (5min walk). The "apartments" were lovely and big, with bathroom, kitchenette, separate bedroom, and living room. Tiny tv! :) The pool area is very nice and fun, lots of inflatables for both kids and adults to play (e.g. volleyball). Pool bar staff are friendly and it serves decent food & drinks. The breakfast buffet is generous and in some parts very nice (fresh fruit, bread, feta cheese) and some parts not so much (scrambled eggs, ham, "juice", coffee...). The place is full of mosquitoes (day and night) so bring repellent.

No towels are provided by the pool area so bring your own beach towels. Despite what the hotel information booklet says, there IS free wifi in the hotel lobby. Use of the room safe costs a lot extra, as does wifi in the room.

Overall, a nice place to stay, friendly, with good rooms, good location, but don't expect any extras from the place or the staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtz22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Great Hotel with Great service, We loved the massage service by the pool the food is great and the beers were ice cold, Great Location 5 minutes from the Sea and 2 minutes from happening street in beautiful private surrounding gardens.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HellenicAmerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The photos looked so appealing.... unfortunately this resort didn't live up to our expectation.
We arrived very late at night/early morning, the person at Reception was not too interested in the very late arrivals and pointed uphill directing us to our apartment. First mistake - from the photos we thought the resort was on level ground.
We along with another family, trundled our way with heavy suitcases (we booked for 7 days) in pitch darkness up a steep climb. There were no lights on anywhere, luckily the other couple had a torch with them as there were many stairs also to wind up.
When reaching our apartment, it was very disappointing firstly to realize that we were soooo far way from the centre of the resort - the pool, dining, reception etc. Secondly the apartment it was so basic and sparse, and a bit smelly, you wouldn't want to stay in it any longer than you had to, that kind of place. We wholeheartedly agree with the review from 'PolyChelsea'
We had been traveling since early the previous morning and desperate for a shower - just our luck, no water from the shower, or any tap in the place.
So we hunted for complimentary bottle of water at least as so thirsty, but no luck.
What we thought would have been common courtesy in a hot country like Corfu, just didn't happen.
Also what we had not realized was the fact that we had chosen to come to a place where the toilets are so unsanitary - you do NOT put toilet paper into the toilet but deposit it in a small bin beside the toilet, which was emptied each day! not our idea of a pleasant stay.
The Reception was plagued with complaints the next morning from many individuals who had experienced the same as ourselves and were all desperate for a shower and dehydrated.
We were moved to another apartment down in the main building, very much closer to the pool area which was quite nicely laid out on a vast expanse of lawn and also closer to the dinning area.
This was the first time we had booked an "all inclusive deal" and unfortunately it will be the last.
The best way of describing the food was extremely basic, to us it was 'peasant food'. The first day it's all new and so it's okay albeit very different. But by day 3 you realized it's just a repeat every day of the same fare.
The communal 'do it yourself' toaster never toasted until the third attempt, by which time there was smoke everywhere.
Not too pleasant trying to eat outside with many stray, unhealthy looking cats mooching around looking for food also.
I won't go on, but I could - we came here in late June last year (2012) to escape the unusual cold UK was experiencing at that time.
Just very unfortunate that the staff at First Choice Holidays in Bristol where were visiting when we booked this holiday, had absolutely no knowledge of Corfu or Century Apartments so were no help at all and it was just a 'stab in the dark' literally for us.
Never to be repeated.
Do hope this is of some help to someone considering staying here.
We would hate anyone else to experience what we did. Especially paying good money, coming from NZ we did not consider that it was not a cheap holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwi15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marios T, Front Office Manager at Century Resort, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Kiwi15,
We would like to thank you for your review; we would like though to comment on certain of your issues.
In our website you can see clearly the whole structure of our premises. The free space, the nature and the quietness are among our big advantages our guests love.
All our rooms are furnished, cleaned and serviced daily in the same way, so it is kind of weird to find the first room basically furnished and the second according to your wishes.
In all hotels in Greece they use the same restrictions for the sanitary system in order to protect the tubes from inappropriate use. Toilet paper is self dissolved and it is suitable for the system to accept it. If you were a frequent visitor you would remember that.
Our hotel has his own pumping and distribution of water private network, which guarantees the 24/7 nonstop water existence to all premises.
As far as we know, the reception is full every morning from people needing information for excursions, rent a car and sightseeing. Please refer to previous comments to check the level of our guests’ satisfaction.
Our toaster is one of the best for professional use and toasts the bread in 21 seconds.
Last but not least we are not an All Inclusive hotel, so I am afraid you mixed up your comments and the name of our hotel with another property.
We will be really happy to see you in the future to our property in order to show you the good service and hospitality we provide to our guests.

Kind regards,

Century Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodrum, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Just come back from a holiday in Corfu where we stayed at the Century resort. A very nice hotel, clean and spacious. The pool is lovely and plenty of sun beds although it didn't ever get very busy. The only issue we had is that we had booked an apartment to sleep 4 people but when we arrived we had been allocated a room for only 3. They were helpful and gave us 2 rooms for the 1st night and moved us to a larger room the next day. We stayed in apartment 613 and yes, it is up a hill from the main hotel and pool but certainly isn't as bad as some of the reviews on here - I am not what you would call fit but it was fine for me. The breakfast food is basic but plenty of it and the pool bar serves some decent food during the day.
Just be warned the Location in Corfu isn't the best if you are looking for lots going on, it's very quite in The town due to many hotels moving to all inclusive but the travernas which are around are lovely.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rachellprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Acharavi
14.8 mi away
Corfu Holiday Palace
2.9 mi away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
2,056 reviews
20.4 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Ariti Grand Hotel
Ariti Grand Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kanoni
465 reviews
10.1 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
16.2 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Resort

Property: Century Resort
Address: Alexias Triviza & Odos Anais, Acharavi 491 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Acharavi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Acharavi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Century Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Run Property All Hotel Rooms very specious, Great Swimming pool. Lime PoolBar & Grill with a large selection of meals. A la carte "Kumquat restaurant". Departure and arrival transfers at extra cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Century Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Century Resort Villas Hotel Acharavi
Century Resort Acharavi, Corfu, Ionian Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing