We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So disappointing - apartments mostly up a very steep climb”
Review of Century Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Century Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
139 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“So disappointing - apartments mostly up a very steep climb”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The photos looked so appealing.... unfortunately this resort didn't live up to our expectation.
We arrived very late at night/early morning, the person at Reception was not too interested in the very late arrivals and pointed uphill directing us to our apartment. First mistake - from the photos we thought the resort was on level ground.
We along with another family, trundled our way with heavy suitcases (we booked for 7 days) in pitch darkness up a steep climb. There were no lights on anywhere, luckily the other couple had a torch with them as there were many stairs also to wind up.
When reaching our apartment, it was very disappointing firstly to realize that we were soooo far way from the centre of the resort - the pool, dining, reception etc. Secondly the apartment it was so basic and sparse, and a bit smelly, you wouldn't want to stay in it any longer than you had to, that kind of place. We wholeheartedly agree with the review from 'PolyChelsea'
We had been traveling since early the previous morning and desperate for a shower - just our luck, no water from the shower, or any tap in the place.
So we hunted for complimentary bottle of water at least as so thirsty, but no luck.
What we thought would have been common courtesy in a hot country like Corfu, just didn't happen.
Also what we had not realized was the fact that we had chosen to come to a place where the toilets are so unsanitary - you do NOT put toilet paper into the toilet but deposit it in a small bin beside the toilet, which was emptied each day! not our idea of a pleasant stay.
The Reception was plagued with complaints the next morning from many individuals who had experienced the same as ourselves and were all desperate for a shower and dehydrated.
We were moved to another apartment down in the main building, very much closer to the pool area which was quite nicely laid out on a vast expanse of lawn and also closer to the dinning area.
This was the first time we had booked an "all inclusive deal" and unfortunately it will be the last.
The best way of describing the food was extremely basic, to us it was 'peasant food'. The first day it's all new and so it's okay albeit very different. But by day 3 you realized it's just a repeat every day of the same fare.
The communal 'do it yourself' toaster never toasted until the third attempt, by which time there was smoke everywhere.
Not too pleasant trying to eat outside with many stray, unhealthy looking cats mooching around looking for food also.
I won't go on, but I could - we came here in late June last year (2012) to escape the unusual cold UK was experiencing at that time.
Just very unfortunate that the staff at First Choice Holidays in Bristol where were visiting when we booked this holiday, had absolutely no knowledge of Corfu or Century Apartments so were no help at all and it was just a 'stab in the dark' literally for us.
Never to be repeated.
Do hope this is of some help to someone considering staying here.
We would hate anyone else to experience what we did. Especially paying good money, coming from NZ we did not consider that it was not a cheap holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwi15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marios T, Front Office Manager at Century Resort, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Kiwi15,
We would like to thank you for your review; we would like though to comment on certain of your issues.
In our website you can see clearly the whole structure of our premises. The free space, the nature and the quietness are among our big advantages our guests love.
All our rooms are furnished, cleaned and serviced daily in the same way, so it is kind of weird to find the first room basically furnished and the second according to your wishes.
In all hotels in Greece they use the same restrictions for the sanitary system in order to protect the tubes from inappropriate use. Toilet paper is self dissolved and it is suitable for the system to accept it. If you were a frequent visitor you would remember that.
Our hotel has his own pumping and distribution of water private network, which guarantees the 24/7 nonstop water existence to all premises.
As far as we know, the reception is full every morning from people needing information for excursions, rent a car and sightseeing. Please refer to previous comments to check the level of our guests’ satisfaction.
Our toaster is one of the best for professional use and toasts the bread in 21 seconds.
Last but not least we are not an All Inclusive hotel, so I am afraid you mixed up your comments and the name of our hotel with another property.
We will be really happy to see you in the future to our property in order to show you the good service and hospitality we provide to our guests.

Kind regards,

Century Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    75
    25
    7
    2
See reviews for
64
78
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bodrum, Turkey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Just come back from a holiday in Corfu where we stayed at the Century resort. A very nice hotel, clean and spacious. The pool is lovely and plenty of sun beds although it didn't ever get very busy. The only issue we had is that we had booked an apartment to sleep 4 people but when we arrived we had been allocated a room for only 3. They were helpful and gave us 2 rooms for the 1st night and moved us to a larger room the next day. We stayed in apartment 613 and yes, it is up a hill from the main hotel and pool but certainly isn't as bad as some of the reviews on here - I am not what you would call fit but it was fine for me. The breakfast food is basic but plenty of it and the pool bar serves some decent food during the day.
Just be warned the Location in Corfu isn't the best if you are looking for lots going on, it's very quite in The town due to many hotels moving to all inclusive but the travernas which are around are lovely.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rachellprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vale of Glamorgan
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Lovely secluded setting in pleasant resort of Acharavi. Either chill out by the pool or use this as a base which is handy for west, north and east coasts and about 45 minutes into Corfu Town. Good points are cleanliness, helpful staff, grounds, great pool with well equipped poolside bar, plenty to eat at convenient times.Apartments are pleasant. Not so good points : Food is average (school meal standard), there is a climb to the rooms which is ok for younger families but not for older clients or those with a disability, mosquitoes abound so come prepared.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank penboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Great Property , All Suites ! Food excellent, Bar people: Very Friendly, Great Pool, kind too quite , I would like it a bit more live , Very spacious rooms, ( Suites) Nice little Village, with nice bars, at the Beach and Main Street .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EU_Travel_Expert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Attiki, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Great Hotel, Food was Great, Location very good, near Restaurants and Bars, Near Roda and Kassiopi, only half an hour from Corfu Town-Great Hotel, Food was Great, Location very good, near Restaurants and Bars, Near Roda and Kassiopi, only half an hour from Corfu Town

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greek-Hotels G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We arrived on friday afternoon. We had heard that any room above number 300 was hard going to get to so as we were given room 308 we thought the trek wouldn't be too bad but after two slopes the second of which was a killer, there were three flights of stairs, oh well, look on the bright side, we would be fitter by the time we went home! Sadly I was unwell on the Saturday night and this left me feeling poorly for the entire holiday, the stairs and slopes made me feel like a prisoner and the apartment was so dreary and depressing. On the Tuesday we moved to another apartment, it's bright and airy and modern, so much better than the cave that we had spent the start of our holiday in, the cave high in the mountains that is! 
We visited Acharavi Park taverna as the reviews on Trip Advisor had been so good, we realised that we probably had already walked passed it on Saturday during our first foray into 'town' and like most of the tavernas it had looked nondescript during the hours of daylight, however it had transformed into a welcoming eatery with traditional Greek music, well traditional to us anyway, probably passé to the staff (probably similar to us running a pie'n'mash shop for tourists and playing all the old London tunes!) anyway we enjoyed our starters of dolmades and a delicious chicken soup, followed by baked, stuffed aubergine with feta and stuffed cabbage, we went back 2 or 3 times.
Went for dinner at The Pumphouse, we were disappointed that they had no whitebait as we both fancied that so we had to settle for the 'Poseidon's Platter' to share. And it was delicious, my favourite was the marinated octopus but there was also calamari, baby octopus, prawns, proper taramasalata, shrimp cocktail, mussels, anchovies and sardines, what a treat. I struggled with my main of mousakka. 
Made a visit to the museum, it was lovely, although I think they could do with some better advertising outside as even though it's a large building it isn't apparent that it is a museum unless you look very closely, and with a €3 entrance fee they are never going to be rich, but I don't think that's their aim in life. The museum depicts real life in Acharavi with displays depicting farming, school, home life etc. well worth a visit. 
We found 'Castaway Travel' and Sue! She's got a great business here, she arranged a car for us within minutes, fantastico! We collected the car on Saturday morning and we drove westwards through Roda and kept as close to the coast as possible. I'm very happy that we didn't book to stay in Sidari, it's a bit too touristy for our taste. Continued onto Peroulades and Avliotes. Stopped of at The Panorama restaurant, what a beautiful location, and a lovely spot for an evening drink just watching the sun go down. Onto Agios Stefanos and the little port, not so good on the nose as there are huge piles of seaweed on the side of the port, drying in the sun, but it is a working port so you have to expect anything. Our final stop off was at Agios Georgios (north). A lovely sandy beach.
On Sunday we ventured out in an easterly direction, towards Kassiopi, its lovely, we had a short walk around the headland but had to turn back as we weren't sure if there were any cut-throughs and the sun was getting stronger. Travelled on down the coast, passed through Kouloura and Kalami and found 'The White House' once occupied by the Durrell family. Onto Ipsos where we stopped again, it's quite a busy touristy place but nicer than Sidari. We parked at the port, found a shady bench and watched the world go by for a while. Drove back through the mountains on the windy roads, fantastic views of Ipsos and the surrounding area. Headed back to Acharavi for some lunch, couldn't decide on where to go so went with a Trip Advisor review and went to Zyphos taverna in Almiros. Scrummy. 
Went to see the 'ghost village' of Paleo Perithia. Mostly good roads on the approach but the car park left a lot to be desired, we were worried that the car's underside could be damaged. The village is worth a visit but there is no real historic or social interest, there are in fact new tavernas around the village square. It was quite easy to imagine what it must have been like prior to 1997 when the population left, they settled in a village nearer to the coast 'new Perithia'. Had coffee and home-made walnut cake in the Capricorn taverna and put the world to rights with our hostess. Drove into Roda, not as bad as I thought it would be although they cater for the English far more than Acharavi does. So now we know where to go for a pint of John Smith's and a full English complete with black pudding! No thank you! However, we did find a small beach further along to the West of Roda, just one taverna, 'Golden Sand' where we had milkshakes. Very nice. 
We managed to book a trip to Corfu Town for Tuesday evening, just €10 each, a better deal than doing it through Thomsons who were charging €22 each.
On the Wednesday we Went to Paleokastritsa, a long and winding road but worth the drive. It's a beautiful part of the island with several bays. We parked up and took a stroll along the main road taking in the wonderful views, we were hungry and as it was lunch o'clock we decided to find a taverna, there were several but we found one overlooking the harbour where we had whitebait for €6 each and a dish of homemade chips, lovely lunch.
Up at 6am in Friday going home today, mixed feelings as although I wanted to be home because I didn't feel well I also would have liked a bit longer here but in better health so that we could enjoy this lovely island. We had a 2 hour transfer but it was very scenic and soon passed.

Room Tip: Avoid anything above Room 300 if you're not fit
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PollyChelsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We came as a family (older children, 15-27) and had 2 rooms here. We were very impressed with the rooms, very clean and well furnished. Pillows were very hard though! We were staying right at the back, room 523 and 4 (I think) it was a really horrible walk up the hill everyday to get back to the room, I would not recommend getting a room there at all, it didn't get any easier as the week went on, the only silver lining is that you get a very good view of the sea and that it is quiet up there but the walk really is very horrible and we were not warned about it when we first arrived! Staff are soooo friendly, really nice. The breakfast is ok but more aimed at Europeans, you won't find egg and bacon there! We were only 1 of 2 or 3 UK families staying here, you will get a lot of Germans, Dutch, Swedish. Not a problem for us but we didn't really make any friends which would have been nice. Best restaurants are just at the bottom of the hill by the hotel, not on the main strip. I would recommend to stay here definitely. Would suit older couples or young families really as a nice quiet area, 15 min walk to beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bethanee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Acharavi
14.8 mi away
Corfu Holiday Palace
2.9 mi away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
2,010 reviews
14.7 mi away
Ariti Grand Hotel
Ariti Grand Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kanoni
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,169 reviews
10.1 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
16.2 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Resort

Property: Century Resort
Address: Alexias Triviza & Odos Anais, Acharavi 491 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Acharavi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Acharavi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Century Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Run Property All Hotel Rooms very specious, Great Swimming pool. Lime PoolBar & Grill with a large selection of meals. A la carte "Kumquat restaurant". Departure and arrival transfers at extra cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Century Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Century Resort Villas Hotel Acharavi
Century Resort Acharavi, Corfu, Ionian Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing