We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing value, friendly helpful staff and great facilities. Very impressed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amoudara Manos Studios Hotel
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing value, friendly helpful staff and great facilities. Very impressed!”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I must admit, before we booked our trip we were a little apprehensive due to the lack of pictures. The accommodation is very affordable and it seemed that there had to be a catch - but there wasnt!

The owner of the apartments, Fragiskos, emailed me detailed instructions for how to find the hotel prior to our arrival. Luckily we had booked an airport shuttle, but this was still very thoughtful of him and was greatly appreciated. By the time we got through the airport and made it to the hotel, it must have been about 8:30pm - but straight away we were impressed. The pool terrace was stunning, and because our shuttle bus took a wrong turn we entered the complex from this side so this was the first thing we saw. Although it was getting late, Fragiskos was waiting in reception to greet us with a smile. We found our room to be spacious and well-equipped, better than we were expecting in every way. Granted, the accommodation is no-frills, but equally nothing was lacking. Everything was spotlessly clean, there was ample kitchenware for our needs, and the room was a triple rather than the double we were expecting! We got changed and went downstairs to get a remote for the air conditioning in our room - straight away Fragiskos was keen to make sure we were happy, and he recommended a local restaurant for us to eat at. It was then, however, that he told us not to get too comfortable - there was a better room becoming available the next day, which we would be moved to!

Sure enough, we were moved to a 3rd floor budget studio on our first morning, which was bigger and had a view over the mountains. This went without a hitch and was another example of Fragiskos going above and beyond his duty to us. Again we had everything we needed - a small cooker/stove, pots and pans, and even a good sized fridge! It is notable that all rooms have their own balcony and space to dry clothes. The area isn't massive, but it's more than I would have expected from budget accommodation. We had a private safe in our room which there was no charge for and which had more than enough space for all our valuables. The bathroom was spacious and honestly, the only real annoyance we found was that because there was a small gap between the top of the shower tray and the bottom of the curtain, there would sometimes be some leakage. This is a very minor gripe though!

Throughout our whole stay (8 nights) we found Fragiskos to be consistently helpful and friendly. Even the maid, who appeared not to speak English, always greeted us with a smile. This really contributed to the experience and we asked for advice and recommendations on a range of different things - all of which Fragiskos was happy to help us with. At the end of our stay we needed to contact our airport shuttle company and he made this phonecall on our behalf without question. On our last night, we came in from dinner around 10pm to find that he was still working! We stopped to say our goodbyes and found that he was waiting for an arrival due at 11:30pm.

Throughout our stay, the maid cleaned our room and changed our sheets and towels every other day. This was always done whilst we were out so that we were not disturbed and everything was always pristine when we returned. There was a small charge for air conditioning, but Fragiskos explained to us that this was purely to cover his electricity costs and we had no issue with paying it. When a hotel is so affordable, it is only fair to expect to pay a little more for the luxuries. We opted not to pay for breakfast but instead prepared our own using our kitchenette. This was ideal as we didn't have to get up early and it was of course a cheaper option.

The local area, Amoudara, was pretty although a little run-down. Everyone was very friendly and there were plenty of shops selling just about everything - as well as some fantastic and very affordable restaurants (our favourite was Creta House). Amoudara beach was beautiful and had a number of bars. Unfortunately the sea was cold, as was the swimming pool at Manos, but this didn't bother us much. In early September the weather was hot but not unbearable and we still had the benefit of travelling during holiday season, just without the crowds. The local bus stop was about a minute away, serving the airport, city centre, and the nearby Carrefour supermarket (if you don't fancy walking!). To be honest though, we only went to Heraklion twice as we preferred to stay in Amoudara. During holiday season the shops of Amoudara tend to stay open until at least 10pm, some as late as midnight, so they really are extremely convenient.

All in all, we had a brilliant time at Manos and would happily stay there again if we ever return to Crete. If you are unsure whether or not to book this accommodation, do it. There is a lot to explore around Amoudara, all within walking distance, and you'll be made to feel at home from the moment you arrive. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Budget studios are perfectly adequate for couples :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jh384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    20
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
19
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

The hotel is only 300m from the beach and has nice restaurants and bus stops close by. The gentleman running the studios was always very friendly and helpful. The mattresses are a little old but no other complaints. We stayed for two nights. Overall a very nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank little4m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2011

The apartments are located about 40 min walk from Heraklion centre, although there is also a bus that stops not far from the hotel. Is about a 5 min walk to the beach (although it was empty, but given the weather this is not surprising!).

Plenty of bars / clubs / restaurants nearby, which cater for a range of tastes. Again, very quiet in October.

The manager was a friendly, laid back chap ( he rounded down our bill at the end of the stay to the nearest Euro). We stayed in a twin room which was spatious and had a balcony. Private kitchen facilities provided which were unexpected. No tv but I don't understand Greek anywho.

The other minor downside was the wifi, it was only useable in the lobby downstairs as the signal was too weak upstairs.

But for the price - 20EUR a night - I shouldn't complain at all.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fruitbeard115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

The owner of Manos (Fragiskous) showed us the best hospitality I've ever received from any hotel in my life. Due to taxis being on strike, he took the time out to pick up his customers regardless of the late hours. For €20 it was the best value. The studio apartments were very spacious and clean, equipped with comfortable beds, a full kitchen, cooking utensils and equipment, fridge, tv, washroom and balcony. This meant we could cook or store food here if we wanted to. Breakfast was provided by the pool every morning.

The beautiful Amoudara beach is literally a minutes walk away. There are a few little shops and restaurants near by as well. If you buy a drink or a snack from the beachbar you can use the chairs/umbrellas and facilities all day (great value!). Taking the bus to town is easy as well. The owner gave us all the bus details to get to Knossos, the port and airport. He included us in the Greek feast with his friends. He even treated us to an authentic Greek meal on another night and drove us to a little village in the mountains where we ate on a gorgeous river patio. It was the best meal I've had in Greece. I've rarely come across someone so genuine and helpful who goes above and beyond for their customers and treats them like friends. Fragiskous really helped us immerse in Greek culture, gave us the best tips, treated us with respect and went out of his way to create an amazing experience. Actually, we enjoyed the hospitality so much that we decided to extend our stay. I highly recommend this place :)

Thank you Fragiskous, you made our trip to Crete!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank farwa_kaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We booked a appartment for 3 nights in studios Manos. It was fantastic! We had a large room, with a clean bathroom and nice kitchen. Very nice pool. And the best was the owner. The taxidrivers were on strike and we arrived late with the boat, so he picked us up at 3 am!
The only downside is the location. There are a lot of restaurants in the neighbourhood, but it seems a bit boring. But to get to heraklion you need a bus of taxi.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2009

We stayed here for three nights in August. The hotel is only a short 5 minute walk to the beach and hip beach bars. To the main street in this beach town, it is about 50 meters - there is a nice bakery, shops and restaurants (we went to Petousis).

The pool was clean and private, but we prefered the beach. Breakfast was simple but good and the rooms were very clean and had lots of space. Our room had a nice little kitchen. We paid in August about 50 euros a night including breakfast, which is a cheap price for August.

The best part was the service - Fragiscos was really helpful. He helped us to find things in Amoudara, as well as to find things in Iraklion. He really went above and beyond to do what he could to make sure we were having a nice stay.

All in all - it is a nice location, clean rooms, good value and outstanding service. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Balloot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2009

From the moment i arrived the gentleman who managed this hotel was incredibly helpful. Frangesco ( sp) not only relayed messages from people I was meeting, he allowed me the use of the hotel phone and his cell phone for no charge. He even came up three floors to my room to give me the use of his phone to talk. He went out onto the main street and hailed a cab, and then gave the driver directions. If this isn't sevice above expectations, I don't know what else is.. He had breakfast ready every morning with the Greek special coffee that is called a Nescafe frappe. The room was spacious and extremely clean. It was only a short walk to the beach and many restaurants. The room for the busy August season was only 50 Euro a night. I will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crazeelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amoudara hotels
0.1 mi away
Castro Hotel
Castro Hotel
#11 of 33 in Amoudara
164 reviews
0.8 mi away
Creta Beach Hotel & Bungalows
0.2 mi away
MariRena Hotel
MariRena Hotel
#15 of 33 in Amoudara
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Stork
Hotel Stork
#10 of 33 in Amoudara
66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roxani Hotel
Roxani Hotel
#13 of 33 in Amoudara
86 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartments Minoa
Apartments Minoa
#12 of 33 in Amoudara
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amoudara Manos Studios Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amoudara Manos Studios Hotel

Property: Amoudara Manos Studios Hotel
Address: 14 Nimfon | Agiou Rafael 1, Amoudara, Crete 714 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Amoudara
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Amoudara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Amoudara Manos Studios Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ammoudara Manos Studios Hotel is a total of 10 studios with fully equipped kitchens, with a reception in the entry of the building and of course our swimming pool with the appropriate atmosphere to enjoy moments of relaxation. In the end we must mention that our four story building has an elevator for your facilitation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Amoudara Manos Studios Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amoudara Manos Studios Hotel Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing