We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the truth about the hotel.. the good and the bad:”
Review of MariRena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MariRena Hotel
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Amoudara
Reviewed September 20, 2012

my boyfriend and i stayed at this hotel. there were a few problems:
1. the hotel wanted 5 euro a day for airconditioning
2. breakfast was poor, i wasn't at dinner. at breakfast there was no salads, there were a few jams, cereal, cheese...
3. the hotel wouldn't give us towels to take to the sea. they said that the only place we can use it is only at the hotel, so we had to buy towels.
4. the pool was small.
5. there was no bath at the shower, and it was very small. our tap broke down. the lamp at the room didnt work, very very small tv
6. the reception closes very early and opens very late (we didn't check out!! we left the keys near the reception at their request)

the good things:
1. cheep - it's a good place to crash , clean bed, 10 minutes drive from heraklion on bus.
2. there are a few nice stores next to the hotel
3. staff is nice
4. very close to the beach.

in summary:
a good place to crash at low budget trip. my boyfriend and i only slept and showered there. most of the day we were all over crete. it's very recommended to rent a car in this case!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Shani S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 201 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed in this hotel last June 2011. We had a beutifull stay, big and clean room and very quiet. Friendly stuff and fantastic food in Dionisos taberna, just next to the hotel. HIGHLY RECOMENDED.

Thanks Maria and Costas!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Francesc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

It was a mother&daughter vacation. My mom picked the place, and I'm glad I trusted her, she made a great choice!!

The service was beyond excellent!! Every time we needed anything, and I mean ANYTHING, they were right there!! The reception team did amazing job!! Even though we came with the travel agency, Irini and Kostas were always much more help than our guide!! They organized couple of trips for us, worked out some routes, fixed other things for us. And they were happy to help!!

The room we had was nice looking and clean. During our stay towels and sheets were always changed, garbage bags were taken out every day. Some things in the room service could be better, and I'm sure if we'd have asked, they would have fixed it right away, but it didn't bother us much. Our room had 2 beds, futon, a coffe table, dining table, 3 or 4 chairs, balcony, a nightstand, armoire, mirror, small refrigerator, safe, kitchen sink. Bathroom in our room was alright, I wish it had a shower cabin instead of shower curtain, but it worked out, no complains.

The restaurant was also very good. We had breakfast and dinner included. We never had any problems with the food quality there. Waiters were also amazing!! Always polite and friendly, helpful and quick. It was a great pleasure to dine there!!

We were also very happy with the hotel location. It was literally 3-5 min away from the sea. The beaches there were nice, you could pick any you wanted: stony entrance to the sea, or sandy. And it's all very close. We never had to walk longer than 10 min to find the best one for us. MariRena is located in Amudara, which is 10-15 min away from Heraklion, the capital of Crete. So any shopping, banks are very close. Plus there are some things to see as well.

There are lots of tourist stores and restaurants and bars near the hotel. You might think it interferes with a night sleep, but with the shut balcony door we could hardly hear anything.

In a couple words it was a great place to stay for the price offered!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Irina_Ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Nice place, was clean and good food.We have been in this hotel 7 days .Friendly staff , not so far on the beach and also very close to the night clubs and nice pizzeria .
Thank you for that.

Stefan with Malgorzata of UK

Room Tip: Each room is't different but good price and with nice balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stefmimik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2011

The hotel was quite good especially with the food, (Cretan traditional food), the stuff, and with the high speed wifi (free of charge). Also the beach was not over 100 meters.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alexvertix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

just arrived back from a week,s stay at the marirena hotel and really enjoed ourselves. The rooms are typical basic greek rooms but very clean and constant hot water. We had a room on the second floor facing the side of the hotel and had no trouble sleeping. We agree with other guests who say on half board you have no choice of evening meal but the food was fine. George the owner was very nice and always stopped for a chat. The beach is only 100mtrs. down the side street and it is lovely and sandy and the sun beds are well spaced out not on top of each other.The hotel has a small swimming pool which we had all to ouyrselves on one of the days great!!.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roadrunner56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Do not choose this hotel pleaseeeee!!!
I’m going to give you , just a little insight of our stay:
-The owner tried to cheat on us, and wanted us to pay an extra fee for using the air conditioning ( five Euros per day) imagine!!!
-we arrived at 6.am and the reception only opened at 8ham, we had to wait outside
-you only have one hour of breakfast(8h00 to 9.00), and there were lack of food
-We had prepaid dinners, and we couldn't choose the food (they served us whatever they wanted), and we had to pay the drinks as extra.
-Last but not least, in the second day, someone used our toilet and forgot to flush, so we find a little present in the toilet, when we arrive from the beach!!!
If you can, please choose another hotel, don't give money to these people!!
The location was good and that's it!

Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
13  Thank anasantos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amoudara
0.5 mi away
Marilena Hotel
Marilena Hotel
#26 of 32 in Amoudara
417 reviews
0.3 mi away
Castro Hotel
Castro Hotel
#15 of 32 in Amoudara
175 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel LiLi
Hotel LiLi
#19 of 58 in Heraklion
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aptera Beach
Aptera Beach
#8 of 32 in Amoudara
83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Enorme Armonia Beach
Enorme Armonia Beach
#1 of 32 in Amoudara
119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Violetta
Hotel Violetta
#22 of 32 in Amoudara
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MariRena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MariRena Hotel

Address: Andrea Papandreou 120 & Naxou 8 | Gazi-Ammoudara, Amoudara, Crete 714 14, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Amoudara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Amoudara
Price Range: $37 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MariRena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your MariRena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marirena Hotel Amoudara
MariRena Hotel Crete/Amoudara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing