We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BRILL HOLIDAY”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Imperial Studios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Imperial Studios
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Amoudara
co, durham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“BRILL HOLIDAY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

We have just returned from these apartments and i have to say,we have had a exellent 2 weeks. Georgio and brother Zac are fantastic. On arrivel we were greeted at the entrance with a friendly smile and a warm handshake and lead to the bar for a free drink, which was lovely after a long flight. The studio's are what they say they are, studios not apartments. The pool area is lovely lots of grass that is cut regular and watered everyday so it is not dry at all. other places we have stayed at you have to be up really early to get a sunbed, not here though there is more than enough to go around. We did try the restaraunts in town but they could not compete with the food you get in the imperial .Especialy if georgio and zac have put the wood oven on in the garden, the food done in it was fantastic we had stiffado, kleftico, chicken and the lamb. We have been going to greece now for 5 years and I have to say the hospitality in these studios was exellent, it is what you expect to find in a family run greek place. We met some wonderfull people here and i have to say because it is a small place you do get to know everybody who is staying. We never run out of water either hot or cold whilst we we here and the rooms were cleaned daily exept a sunday by georgio and zac's mother maria who i think does an exellent job. Amoundora is a long road with bars and resturants on either side of it, If you want something lively amoundora is not for you. We used to go to a lovelly cocktail bar where you got popcorn and watermelon with every drink which only cost 3.70 euro, but she only ever charged 3.40 euro. I would say it takes you 5 min to get to the main street and 10 min to the beach. I can not wait to go back for a chilled out holiday where i no we will be looked after by a lovely family, Georgio Zac and Maria.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tracy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    13
    5
    3
    5
See reviews for
24
20
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Moonee Ponds, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

Imperial Appts
I have just stayed at these apartments for a week, and thank god I did not book any longer. First impressions were that this place was a bit of a dump, the next morning my fears were confirmed. The room was old and not very clean, there was no shower curtain and no water, hot or cold, in the bathroom at times, although it had been recently retiled. The fridge was in a disgusting state, filthy dirty and food encrusted on the outside and the inside, same goes for the cutlery and cupboards, disgusting. I know you have to give and take a little when in another country and I have travelled extensively from Australia over the years, but this was awful. The bar / restaurant at the front of the building was shut up and looked as if it had been closed for ages, old chairs and tables overturned, rubbish everywhere. The front of the building is old and crumbling with old light fittings hanging off at all angles, the pool area is grassed but overgrown and scruffy with what looks like two outside loo’s from a bygone age dumped by the side of it. The bar still remaining, is a free standing shack by the pool with a few old tables that look like they have seen better days with loud music all day. This place would struggle to get half a star. You would do well to steer clear of this place; the two brothers who own it are friendly but seem to not see the squaller all around them. Everyone I spoke to had booked this hotel on the strength of trip advisor reviews, the talk around the bar and pool is how dear and awful it is, one woman burst out crying after being dropped off here and I don’t blame her. Also the dearest beer I have come across so far in Greece, which is on average is around 2.5 Euros per half litre. The Imperial charges 4.5 Euro for half a litre, come on guys that’s over five pounds or $9.00 a pint. The special meals they cook are OK but nothing to shout about, the night I ate it was a little piece of chicken with soggy potatoes. The beach is a good twenty mins walk from here and no transport as the Imperial is outside the town in a semi market garden area, strange. Amadoura is the city beach for Heraklion and as such is very expensive, it consists of a main road with a few bars and restaurants on each side, the road is extremely busy and you take your life in your hands every time you want to cross the road. Definitely not a place for young children. Very, very disappointed and would not recommend it to anyone, especially those with children.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mosoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

Spent two weeks at the Imperial Hotel in July 2011. Only 12 rooms in the accomodation ranging from the apartment which sleeps 6 to rooms sleeping 2. This makes the hotel / studios just the right size to get to know everyone by first name. The complex is run by brothers Georgio and Zac. They get a lot of repeat visitors which is hardly surprising given the personal nature of the brothers to their work. They are both excellent company. Zac does most of the cooking - his meals cooked in the outside wood oven are excellent. On our visit we ate chicken, beef stifado and fish all cooked in there. The price of the drink is a little expensive but you are a captive audience after all.

The rooms are basic but clean - Georgio and Zac's mother cleans every morining bar Sunday. The hotel pool is excellent and there are sufficient sun longers available. It was very hot when we were there - around 40 degrees!

Ammoundara itself is basically a long road that runs parallel with the beach - complete with supermarkets, tavernas, bars etc. Most of the tavernas have exactly the same menu disappointingly. The beach itself is pretty busy with all the usual attractions.

I would recommend the Imperial to anyone wanting a quiet getaway chilling out by the pool or on the beach. The service is first class and would return at a furure date.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BEEVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

We booked the Imperial after reading a host of great reviews all over the internet. We managed to get a room for £85 for one week for the two of us which is incredible. Georgio welcomed us with a beer each on the house and introduced us to a lovely couple who were on their third stay there.

The bar and pool are behind the apartment block so that even sitting on your balcony you don't hear any noise which is perfect. The room was functional and clean, just what we wanted. No fancy frills but we spend our holidays exploring, not louging in a hotel room sot perfcet for us.

The room has two single beds, a bedside cabinet with drawers, a desk with drawers, good sized mirror, a wall unit containing a frying pan, cutlery, plates, glasses and coffee cups, a base unit under the kitchen sink, a fridge, a kettle and a hot plate. The ensuite had shower, sink, good sized cabinet over the sink and toilet.

Georgio and his brother Zac are usually found running the bar but they keep an eye on the hotel via CCTV - all the ways in are covered so you know any strangers will be challenged - offering you extra security on the rooms. Although I have to say we were not victims of, nor aware of, any crime.

Our flight home was in the evening so we spoke to Georgio who happily told us we could have our room until 3.30pm - no extra charge, no problems - what a lovely man! Our towels were changed regularly and our bins emptied every day but Sunday (remember that Crete is a religious county!). I take a teddy bear with me everywhere (at least I don't suck my thumbs!) and found him put carefully on my pillow every day when Georgio's mum came in to clean.

We explored a fair way along the North coast and thought that Ammoudara was one of the best locations, 20 mins from the airport but no airplane noise, lots of choices for eating, some of the lowest prices for tourist tat but without the crowds of Ag Nic, Malia, Rethminon or Heraklion.

On the day we left Georgio had just had an internet station set up so guests can surf the web. They also do meals so worth asking about that.

I would very happily stay there again and recommend it to anyone who cares more about a clean room as a base for their holiday than paying through the nose for posh paintings on the wall.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ffls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2010

I am so glad I read the reviews on this "peach" of a find! I was looking for a "bargain" break for myself and my 2 children (age 11 & 14), somewhere quiet but within walking distance of some shops, bars, restaurants and a beach - This is exactly what we got! On arrival around midnight the owner (Georgio) was there to meet us with cold bottles of water and a warm welcome. The accommodation which we were given initially was adequate but not quite big enough for a mum and 2 teenangers - Georgio promised he would sort it in the morning and true to his word he did just that - we moved to a much larger 1 bedroom apartment which was just perfect with plenty of space and a huge balcony over looking the mountains. We had a truly fabulous week and Georgio, Zac and Andreas could not do enough for us. I enjoyed peaceful mornings chatting to the owners and learning a little about Crete and the way they live. The children also benefited from some education on Greek Life. We practically had the place to ourselves and when we didn't it still felt like we did - the pool was situated in amongst an array of fruit trees and beautiful aromatic flowers. The food was absolutely FANTASTIC and as fresh as you could possibly get - Greek Salads to die for with the ingredients picked there and then from the garden. Nothing was too much for these guys. We had friends who were staying at the "all inclusive Neptuno Hotel" in Amoudara and they chose to spend most of their days with us at the Imperial for all the reasons above. We were within easy reach of the main shops and 5 minutes walk from the beach. We hired a car and drove up the mountains and to the Water Park (WaterCity) which was also fantastic - a great day out.
This hotel is just the most amazing value for money with everything you need! I wish I had enquired about the Air Con at the start of the holiday as I did not reaslise you could have this for a daily charge.
I would most certainly return to this hotel - maybe not ideal for teenagers unless they had friends with them but my 2 had a fantastic week!
Thank-you to Georgio and Zac for a very memorable week in Crete.
I now know why we met 2 sets of people who were on their 7th time at this hotel!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank traceymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2009

The Imperial Studios are a real find. The accommodation is clean and well run. the rooms are small and basic but quite comfortable with two beds, a full size fridge, sink and small cupboard and one plug-in hotplate and a kettle. Although it is sold as self catering this is quite difficult to achieve because of the limited facilities. The room was cleaned every day except Sunday - Σας ευχαριστούμε Maria! Air con worked fine once it got going and cost 6 euros per day.

Run by brothers Zac and Georgio who were thoroughly charming and generous throughout the holiday. They greet you with a free drink and a warm welcome whatever time you arrive and go out of their way to make your stay a happy one. With regard to food; pretty much everything they serve in their poolside restaurant is grown and produced by them either at their nearby farm (look on the CCTV for shots of the goats and their artichoke garden) or in their gardens at the hotel and nothing tastes like Georgio's Greek Salad which is picked from the garden and on your plate within minutes. All their food is wonderful and far superior and cheaper than anything you can buy in a restaurant in Amoudara. All their meals are cooked in the wood oven in the garden and the Stifado, lamb, chicken and roast potatoes have to be tasted to be believed. The brothers will only cook for a minimum of 5-6 people and you need to check with them each morning to let them know you want to eat that night. Dinner is at 9pm and is like attending a dinner party. If you get the chance ask Zac to cook a BBQ - it was the best of many excellent meals that we enjoyed there.

Amoudara itself was rather disappointing. Not very pretty and every restaurant had the same menu of grilled meat or fish, pasta, pizza, salads etc and none of them particularly good. We found one place called Creta House (Zorba's), quite a walk along the main road of the resort, that actually had a decent menu, a quirky old man owner and a lovely authentic feel to it. Don't bother with the very busy restaurant with the windmill outside - it wasn't very good despite seeming quite popular with the locals. The resort also has a big open air cinema and a little road train that takes you around the resort and up into the mountains.

The beach was good and very long - if you buy drinks at some of the smaller bars beyond the lido place you can use the beds for free. Quite busy though and a lot of loud music and we found it to be much nicer by the pool at the hotel. .

Weather was glorious - average 35 degrees every day on some days reaching 40 degrees.

We would advise hiring a car and taking trips out to places like Fidele, Elounda, Spinalonga, Knossos etc - all worth a visit.

So in all good basic hotel, made wonderful by Zac and Georgio and Maria their mother. Everyone who was staying there became friends and we felt as though we had been guests at a big house party. We shall definitely be returning and taking our family with us next time.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Molly01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amoudara
18.1 mi away
Dream Village
Dream Village
#1 of 9 in Piskopiano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Akti Corali
Hotel Akti Corali
#5 of 32 in Amoudara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
13.6 mi away
Sweet Memory Gourmet Apartments
Sweet Memory Gourmet Apartments
#12 of 39 in Kato Gouves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Nana Angela Apartments
Nana Angela Apartments
#82 of 174 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
18.7 mi away
Petra Village Apartments
Petra Village Apartments
#10 of 13 in Koutouloufari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
17.8 mi away
Elgoni Apartments
Elgoni Apartments
#8 of 14 in Piskopiano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Studios

Property: Imperial Studios
Address: Amoudara, Crete, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Amoudara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Amoudara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Studios 3*
Number of rooms: 277
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Imperial Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Studios Crete/Amoudara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing