We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly”
Review of Georgia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Georgia Hotel
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Amoudara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2009

from 9/6/09-9/13/09 small and nice place were we felt ourselves like in big family with very nice stuff.
Thanks from Estonia.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rintsik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoudaraGeorgia, Manager at Georgia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you for your comment.

Dimitris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 236 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2009

A friend and I, who did not wish to share a room, booked this hotel on the internet. All single room dwellers were put on the fourth floor in inferior rooms that bore no resemblance to the write up. Dodgy electrics that were hanging off the wall. Electrics that blew completely. No telephone. No table lamp. No television. (Presumably because he knew the electrics would blow when plugging these things in). No decent saucepan for boiling water for tea. We still await the kettle we were promised on the first night. A balcony that was only one and a half feet wide overlooking the roof and the constantly barking dog of next door. A shower curtain that did not reach the floor. The towels and sheets were changed once, the night before we left. No welcome drink for us. No chat about what there was in the area. Four flights of stairs and a smell comparable to bad eggs when reaching the fourth floor. Single travellers beware - second class citizens. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tannedgirlEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoudaraGeorgia, Manager at Georgia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear quests,

i remember you and im sorry for that comment.

I just want to say that 90% of my quests are lonely travelers , but sometimes people dont fit.

It was nothing personal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2009

This family owned hotel has great amenities with the intimate service one can expect from a top-notch hotel. The staff bent over backwards to help with travel info and any problems that may arise. The location is great for an easy walk to a very nice beach, traditional local tavernas and just 50 yards to the bus stop making shopping in Heraklion within 20 minutes. This is helpful as parking in Heraklion is almost impossible. Breakfast is included at the Hotel Georgia and they offer traditional Cretan dinners in the quiet backside of the hotel near the pool. Minor issue: the shower curtains were too short and the drains tended to overflow periodically getting the floors wet.

Our first night we were greeted with homemade raki (a very strong wine apertif) and light appetizers. While we were there, the guests came from many different countries and spoke many languages. The staff managed to communicate effectively with each. Each night, the front porch often had guests of different backgrounds playing games or just having good ol' fashioned conversation. This place is a real treat for those looking for a local flavor.

Tip: If you're looking for great value and excellent service and plan on an extended stay, you may well be able to negotiate a better nightly rate. Parking is limited on the street due to the popularity of the beaches of Amoudara.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelin-Optimist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoudaraGeorgia, Manager at Georgia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you for your comment.

Dimitris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Мы взяли апартаменты в отдельном доме где была эл.плитка, эл. чайник и холодильник.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank сергей п
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Ekaterina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tripandchips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
Thank Vilma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris P, Manager at Georgia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amoudara
0.2 mi away
Hotel Akti Corali
Hotel Akti Corali
#6 of 32 in Amoudara
149 reviews
2.8 mi away
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
#3 of 58 in Heraklion
1,762 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aptera Beach
Aptera Beach
#8 of 32 in Amoudara
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Violetta
Hotel Violetta
#22 of 32 in Amoudara
24 reviews
0.6 mi away
Santa Marina
Santa Marina
#5 of 32 in Amoudara
335 reviews
0.2 mi away
Agapi Beach Hotel
Agapi Beach Hotel
#9 of 58 in Heraklion
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgia Hotel

Address: Vagias 10, Amoudara, Crete 71500, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Amoudara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Amoudara
#3 Romantic Hotel in Amoudara
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Amoudara
Price Range: $30 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Georgia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When we decided to build Hotel Georgia, we had no choice but to bear in mind and imagine the kind of hotel that we, as visitors, we enjoyed like a friend's house where we spent our holidays.Being a family that has grown and nurtured in the classical sense of the Cretan hospitality, we have always prioritized what satisfies people more genuine and unpretentious sense of hospitality as we learned grandfather to grandfather. Therefore, Georgia hotel has been built to provide a place where repetitive quests- friends will come to meet again among friends in a familiar environment that everyone knows their name. The vast Cretan Sea with heavenly waters, the vast Greek sky, the green environment and the hospitality of the locals will undoubtedly fill your favorite holiday, and our hotel will certainly accommodate the Greek ... Your Dream! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Georgia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgia Hotel Crete/Amoudara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing