We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good money for value!”
Review of Georgia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Georgia Hotel
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Amoudara
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good money for value!”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Great location, good breakfast (local greek food too), clean room, beautiful garden.
We are really enjoyed to stay here.
The beach was near to the hotel.
You can go to hotel from Heraklion by bus (number 6 or 1).
The Blu'n'Blum beach is very good, but a little bit noisy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kittcsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoudaraGeorgia, Manager at Georgia Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment .

Its very important to me.

Dimitris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    56
    29
    11
    14
See reviews for
49
105
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

great room, great mangement,close to beach ......Nothing was to much trouble...... good family cooked food .......would return on my next visit to crete .....well positioned in the middle of the island for days out to site see.....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoudaraGeorgia, Manager at Georgia Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment.

Next time we want to hear you singing.

You are a very nice couple.

Dimitris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iasi
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I don't know why this hotel has such good reviews, I had my hopes up after paying for the room 3 mounths in advance.

When I got there I was told there was no room for us (go figure!) were taken at the dirtiest hotel ever had to call the lady representing the agency to straighten thing out for a better room.

The next day we waited until the afternoon for our room wich was way different from the photos you see on the web site.

I did not take pictures to prove it, but the furniture was probably as old as I am. Breakfast was too basic, did not even have juice or anything to drink except milk.

The dinner was tasty, the owners were nice people and it was clean enought but that it simply it.
I've been to Greece many times before and have payed less for a room but it's the worst one I ever got.

Don't recommend it to anyone unless you don't care about the room itself.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank whisperitza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoudaraGeorgia, Manager at Georgia Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear madam, we are very sorry for your comment.

We dont say that we are good , we are trying to be always better and also to provide better stantars for our quests, sometimes this is enough some other times it is not.

Thank you for your comment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The good part: Even though it is neither close to the port or the airport, it is just one block away from the beach. The area where it is located is quiet. Only a one block walk to the bus stop. They give you a shot of ouzo at the patio as a welcome; then you opt for having dinner at their restaurant. Breakfast was good, just above average among the nine hotels we stayed in during this trip.

On the other hand, they gave us a very ugly and dark room, where everything was old. Everuthing was so tight it was difficult to walk through the room. It was a triple room, yet there was no surface available to put our luggage (three carry-ons). Half of the surface on the dressing table was covered by a big, bulky tv set with very poor, stormy signal. The room didn't have a single window, only a door to a balcony --with a very ugly view-- , but we had no access to it because there was a mosquito net fixed to the door frame. We could not open the drawers and one door of the wardrobe because they were blocked by a night table. The shower area was of four square feet, and you could bump into the sink corner, which was too close. I am posting some pictures; now I realize that unfortunately did not take enough to show how bad it was. We were very tired and stayed there for only one night, so we didn't complain.

We stayed for dinner at the patio after the ouzo (there are no restaurants around, it is a residential area). I asked for a glass of white Cretan wine. Dimitris said they had it, but insisted we should try the red wine that his father makes. BEWARE!! It is really bad wine. Dimitris strongly recommended us to have the fixed menu, which according to him was a really good deal. It was not, I would say it was a little overpriced, specially considering that they did not give us dessert, which they were supposed to do. It wasn't great cooking, either. There was no live music (Greek night), according to Dimitris it will start later in the season, but it is becoming increasingly for the hotel to host have them.

Dimitris gave us a plan of the city that was incomprehensible to us because it was all in Greek characters, but he explained in detail how to get to Knossos and the museum. Since they didn't need the room the day we left, Dimitris also provided us the possibility to stay in the room (not cleaned, obviously) until 5pm for 10 euros extra , which was good.

Room Tip: Don't accept an ugly, dark room; there seem to be some nice ones. Apparently, they are oriented...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katimuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoudaraGeorgia, Manager at Georgia Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Katy, thank you for your comment.

Its really a an honestly comment, the room is now freshly painted , all the furnish are new and all white because of your notice.

My wine is that, some people likes it some other not, i like it and i dont have headache next morning.

Also the majority of our quests like our cousine, instant of choosing one of the many other tavern of the area.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Georgia Hotel will make you so happy you chose Crete for your Greek vacation.. affordable, clean and super-friendly, this hotel is exactly what we wanted, and a central location walking distance (maybe 30 min walk) to Heraklion yet on a beautiful beach with lots of bars and restaurants nearby. The family that runs this hotel are friendly and knowledgeable and will do their best to make sure your stay is just perfect. The water is at the end of the road the hotel is located on. We could see the beach from our room and a beautiful sunset, the price is shockingly low for what you get. We loved it and plan to go back at the end of the summer.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the pool/ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank denisefromCA_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoudaraGeorgia, Manager at Georgia Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

I stayed at Georgia hotel so many times, every time i went, the service was even better...it is clean and the food is amazing. when i am there i never feel lonely and on one occasion i became sick and they took care of me like a daughter, i never regret going there and will do it at every chance i have... Christine

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoudaraGeorgia, Manager at Georgia Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you Christine, you know that you are always wellcome here.

Dimitris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Good choice next to the big Ammoudara beach. Good location for excursions if you have a car. Spacious rooms, friendly staff. Some rooms have a kitchenette.
Not cleaned regularly, acceptable cleanliness overall though. No elevator. Also, the rooms are not soundproof enough, you could clearly hear potentially loud neighbours.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ant-Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoudaraGeorgia, Manager at Georgia Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your review.

The elevator is on ready now and we had renovate all the rooms.

Hope to see you again once.

Dimitris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amoudara
0.5 mi away
Creta Beach Hotel & Bungalows
0.2 mi away
Hotel Akti Corali
Hotel Akti Corali
#6 of 32 in Amoudara
135 reviews
0.6 mi away
Santa Marina
Santa Marina
#5 of 32 in Amoudara
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Enorme Armonia Beach
Enorme Armonia Beach
#2 of 32 in Amoudara
64 reviews
0.2 mi away
Agapi Beach Hotel
Agapi Beach Hotel
#9 of 58 in Heraklion
622 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aptera Beach
Aptera Beach
#8 of 32 in Amoudara
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgia Hotel

Property: Georgia Hotel
Address: Vagias 10, Amoudara, Crete 71500, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Amoudara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Amoudara
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Amoudara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Georgia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When we decided to build Hotel Georgia, we had no choice but to bear in mind and imagine the kind of hotel that we, as visitors, we enjoyed like a friend's house where we spent our holidays.Being a family that has grown and nurtured in the classical sense of the Cretan hospitality, we have always prioritized what satisfies people more genuine and unpretentious sense of hospitality as we learned grandfather to grandfather. Therefore, Georgia hotel has been built to provide a place where repetitive quests- friends will come to meet again among friends in a familiar environment that everyone knows their name. The vast Cretan Sea with heavenly waters, the vast Greek sky, the green environment and the hospitality of the locals will undoubtedly fill your favorite holiday, and our hotel will certainly accommodate the Greek ... Your Dream! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Bookgreece.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Georgia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgia Hotel Crete/Amoudara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing