We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed with a Family, enjoyed it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Meridien Lav Split
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Podstrana
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
111 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Stayed with a Family, enjoyed it!”
Reviewed September 11, 2007

We are a family of 4 with young children (age 5 and 3) and travelled with another family. We spent 10 days in this hotel.

The hotel is a big property, with many facilities onsite (casino, disco, a couple of restaruants, tennis, spa, swimming pool - indoor and outdoor, etc).

There was a great variety of choice for breakfast! There was even a special table for children to be able to reach and choose their own breakfast.

Our children loved the outdoor and indoor pool,and spent most of their time there. The children also ventured to the kids club, but did not stay. The staff seemed friendly enough and there was activities scheduled for children.

We hired a car during our stay, so was able to venture out of the hotel and into Split town center for dinner. We were recommended very good restaurants each time! We ate at the following restaurants: Boban, Adriatic, Adriana, Varos to name a few. Most of them were fish restaurants, which were all fresh!

We also took part in the water river along the River Cetina with Ivan, and had a great afternoon! You can book this adventure by the hotel reception area.

We would back again to Split. Next time, we would spend some time visiting the islands.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank stummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    811
    528
    149
    50
    32
See reviews for
390
651
52
192
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2007

Just returned from Split & have had terrible weather for most of our stay so i will try to be honest in my review of this property .

The hotel building its self looks ugly from the exterior very old eastern block style but on entering the the very impressive lobby you can see they have spent big money on modernising this place to a 5* standard.

Check in for us was ok but the front desk needs improvement in terms of oganizastion i saw on a few occasions a few irrate exchanges from other guests & they do come over as a litltle cold & lacking personality.

The room was again very clean & tastefully decorated we had two flat screen tvs but not much wardrobe space & a big bath but a shower that could only reach up to your chest ?? Who ever designed this room had not spent a week in it .

We found housekeeping to be efficient although they dont offer a turndown service at night .

The restaurant choice was limited but generally the food was ok the breakfast buffet was good but no fried eggs ?? Room service was awful waited 1 hour for a raw burger & a cold spaghetti went to bed starving hungry !! Oh & if you fancy a pizza for lunch then you cant get one in hotel, strange but true our tip is do a five min walk to just outside where there is a friendly & cheap little cafe called Fabios, Fab Pizza & Great Service !!

On first impression the Spa is very impressive but considering it has ony been open just under a year it is showing signs of wear & tear already.It was closed for a day when we were there for tiling work which it did need, indoor pool is nice outdoor pool is never big enough for trhe size of hotel, god knows how busy it would have been in peak season must have been a nightmare .

Casino & nightclub, why they bothered opening this i will never know, waste of time .Sat night @ 12 am Casino had around 30 people & the very well appointed night club had 4 people hardly a geat night out lol!!

The position is a long way out of town & be warned taxis are expensive 120 Kuna thats £12 one way ,although hotel runs a half hour shuttle bus mornings & evenings till 9, there are non in the afternoon & get there early because the bus only holds 8 people although in fairness we never had a problem & the driver Tony is a top man our tip is try to use him as an unofficial concierge he is very friendly & helpful.

Our biggest gripe with this place though is there seemed to be a lot of conferences on the week we were there & the hotel were more interested in the corporate side of things than than they were the average tourist if they want the holiday buck then they need to start making it feel like a resort hotel little things like no information on Split in rooms or in fact anywhere in hotel & they didnt seem to have a decent concierge either.

The best thing this hotel could have done was spend a little less on flat screen tvs & flash Italian furniture & employ a few decent expat event / guest relation managers to start looking after the tourists.

  • Liked — Very Clean & Stylish
  • Disliked — Lacking a soul needs some atmosphere also lack of information for tourists!!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2007

This is a superb hotel - suitated right on the beach and overlooking a stylish marina. Everything about this hotel has been considered carefully and finished to a very high standard. We experienced 5* service the whole time we were there, and the food in the restaurant, although a touch pricey, was money well spent. Be aware that there are no supermarkets or decent restaurants within walking distance and that buying drinks from the bar (both alcoholic and non-alcoholic) are expensive.

  • Liked — The rooms - 3 showers and two plasma screens!
  • Disliked — Nothing at all close by
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanneTMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2007

We stayed with our baby for two weeks.
On the good side were the total refurbishment, full pram accessibility, great spa facilities and closeness to beautiful Split.
On the downside – God, the personnel needs training! Everybody is quite friendly, but they seem to have problems following even the simplest routines. There was not a single day the housekeeping would not forget something – we eventually started placing bets on how many towels would be in the bathroom everyday.
Some tips:
-for massages ask for Alma, she’s goooooooooooooooood
-for those traveling with babies: do not bring nappies and jars with you. There are two supermarkets (Tommy and Discont Mikanovitch) and a 24/7 pharmacy (PrimaPharma at Stobrec) nearby stocked with Pampers and Hipp Organic.
-Family suits are really on the small side, you’d be better off booking a room facing marina – they are the largest, the quietest (so far, before the shopping arcade is not launched) and have sofa-beds in addition to double beds.

  • Liked — Value for money
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Travellesse07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2007

I am a fan of 5 star hotels. I love extravagance and this place has it in bucket loads. Marble floors, modern lounges scattered throughout and A very trendy looking bar overlooking the sea.

The rooms (we had a sea view - which is a must) are modern and large with especially big bathrooms. The rain shower was magnificent.

This hotel is massive but has a number of short comings. The spa was booked out for our entire stay so it is clearly under size.

The restaurants are good, but not great with no real ambiance. It's main restaurant, spalatum, feels like you are eating in the lobby. Try for an outside table.

As for service, well this is Croatia. Anyone who has travelled around Croatia would realise that service does not exist in any form. They just can't be bothered. So I won't hold it against Le Meridien. It did take 30 minutes to check out so keep that in mind.

Be aware that this hotel is not in or even near the main town of Split. It is a 30 minute drive. The hotel has a shuttle bus but it takes a maximum of 8 people and leaves every half hour. So you could miss out. A cab will cost about 15GBP each way.

One word of warning is STAY AWAY FROM THE CASINO. It looks like a gangster's lair. They even have a sign indicating NO GUNS. The women at the reception desk of the Casino make Russian weightlifters seem pleasant. Just don't bother basically.

At the end of our trip we returned to Split and stayed next door at Hotel San Antonio. This hotel is just as good, but smaller. It cost half as much, so check that out as an alternative.

  • Liked — The view from the room
  • Disliked — Full of kids, in the middle of nowhere and rubbish service
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E_Hemingway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2007

We are a young professional couple (29, 31) that have traveled many places with a taste of 5 star food and hotels. On this trip we found a good deal on expedia and overall had an enjoyable trip to this hotel. Let's start with the positives: there is a casino on site (a plus for me), a very good spa (a plus for the mrs) with professional staff using professional decleor therapists, the main hotel restaurant served overall excellent breakfast, lunches and dinners (in particular we enjoyed a "black & white risotto", the free salmon or tuna pate, the triple chocolate creme brulee dessert, a tiger king prawn caesar salad, and a good wine selection). Our well presented and large room faced the bay and we liked the fact that the hotel is only a 10 minute cab away from the town of Split (an easy hour's walking can have you easily see all the highlights).

In terms of negatives, we thought the pool was very small for the size of the hotel and many people were frustrated at the lack of number of sun loungers. Also, although the main restaurant was very good as described above, we felt slightly let down by the pizza restaurant that had a limited selection and closed quite early in the evenings. We also found the bar lounge had musicians that were much too loud - distracting any ability to chill in this area.

At the time that we visited, the hotel was very new and as expected there were a few teething problems. Nothing too major worth noting, but one could sense a "bit of sterility" - many shops and restaurants have yet to be fitted out and opened.

Overall we felt this was definitely a decent 5 star despite it's negatives, and we would consider returning (although there is still much more of Croatia to see!).

  • Liked — 5-star quality & spa
  • Disliked — small pool
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teeveetee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2007

I've been travelling to Split frequently on vacation and personal business for the last year. The city is quickly taking off as a destination and can certainly support some new upmarket hotels. Watch out for the renovated Marjan coming near the Riva.

The Lav hotel complex is too large for my personal taste but it has been refurbished to an exceptionally high standard - although there is little distinctively Croatian about the feel of the place. One advantage of its size is that it never felt particularly crowded, except maybe in the breakfast room. If you want a one stop "destination resort" close to a major city, this fits the bill.

Like previous reviewers, I was very pleased with the quality and comfort of the rooms (but pay for a sea view or you will likely end up looking out over the car park). The terrace bar is great and the indoor/outdoor pool and sport facilities are excellent. The casino is technically operated by another company but is efficient and well run. I didn't use the restaurants except for breakfast, which was perfectly good.

A few niggles; reception can be overwhelmed at peak periods for check-in/out especially as the hotel is a major conference venue. Some of the retail units on site haven't opened yet, so there is a lack of shopping for a resort of this size. Service at the bar and pool can be slow and it was irritating not to be able to order even an ice cream with a late drink on the terrace one night. On the whole though, these are probably teething troubles rather than anything worse. The staff were generally friendly and helpful.

Distance by car to the Riva is 15 mins door to door, so the out of town location is not a major drawback. Incidentally, the new look Riva is grotesque. This unique boulevard has been disfigured by Berlin Wall style floodlights and the attractive parasols replaced by uniform brutalist awnings. Too bad!

I would certainly return to Le Meridien.

  • Liked — "Just opened" feel
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ViennaMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Podstrana
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Split
0.4 mi away
Hotel Split
Hotel Split
#2 of 8 in Podstrana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
22.8 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#3 of 8 in Podstrana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
4.2 mi away
Dioklecijan Hotel & Residence
16.9 mi away
Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Lav Split? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Lav Split

Property: Le Meridien Lav Split
Address: Grljevacka 2A, Podstrana 21311, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Podstrana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Podstrana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Lav Split 5*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embark on a journey of coastal discovery. Found on a pristine part of the coast and featuring emerald clear waters a stone’s throw away from Split, the Le Méridien Lav’s unique location invites guests to easily explore the imposing Dalmatian coast stopping every few kilometers to admire scenic towns and villages including those of Trogir, Omiš, Solin (Salona) and Makarska as well as the nature parks of Biokovo (St Juraj) and Krka – all within an hour’s drive from the hotel.MOVE! A resort like no other in the region, Le Méridien Lav Split offers unparalleled facilities for those looking for action-packed travel. Energize your mind and body with an early morning jog along the beach or play away in some of the resort's numerous sport facilities (tennis courts, tennis, beach volley, boules, free climbing wall, archery, diving, water sports, yachting, cycling, wellness club ) Large superior and deluxe rooms and family suites are perfectly sized to accommodate two adults and up to two children. The Penguin Club offers a safe, educational and entertaining experience for the kids. Club's fully qualified nursing staff will keep busy their inquisitive mind! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Le Meridien Lav Split reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Lav Split Hotel Podstrana
Le Meridien Podstrana
Podstrana Le Meridien
Le Meridien Lav Split Croatia/Podstrana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing