We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel with poor customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Meridien Lav Split
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Podstrana
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A nice hotel with poor customer service”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I had a four night stay in Split, and had the impression that this was the only decent hotel in the area. It has a great pool and a small private beach, and our very nicely decorated room overlooked the sea.

I have to say, however, that the customer service was appalling. Room service could take up to an hour to be delivered, and they often got the order wrong. The staff in the restaurant in the mornings were very rude and unhelpful. Not the level of service you'd expect at a five star hotel.


Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank KNOrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirjana S, Manager at Le Meridien Lav Split, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear KNOrange,

Thank you very much for choosing Le Meridien Lav for your last visit in Split and for taking time to write about your experience.

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our amazing infinity pool and our private beach (of which there are two). In Le Meridien Split everything comes with a view and I am also really happy to hear that you enjoyed your room with a view.
Regarding Room Service order, it needs to be delivered to our guests within half an hour. Otherwise, guest is free to express his/her dissatisfaction in a form of complaint. I will pass on your comments to our Food and Beverage manager who oversees the Room Service operation, rest assured we take all such issues seriously.

I wish you happy journeys and really do hope to see you back in Dalmatia sometime soon.


Kind regards,


Mirjana Simunic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    829
    540
    154
    52
    35
See reviews for
397
667
52
199
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

It is a beautiful hotel with friendly helpful staff, a great champagne bar, a luxury spa, indoor swimming pool, infinity pool outside, beautiful beach with also yachts and jet ski's available but I wouldn't say that it's a complete five star hotel. The towels in the rooms are frayed on the edges and the tea and coffee is not always replaced.
There is a safe in the room with a small mini bar. The beds are comfy and each room has a tv. If you are travelling as a couple with a substantial amount of luggage, I wouldn't go for a standard room as the space is quite tight and not enough space to hang your clothes.
I stayed on the reception level facing the sea which had a balcony and a fantastic view.
There are a few restaurants downstairs which are quite pricy but five minutes up the road there's a local cuisine restaurant with delicious food. And if that is not too your liking then get a taxi into town which is only 20 mins away and will cost you about 120 kuna maximum.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank suerivet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirjana S, Manager at Le Meridien Lav Split, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear suerivet,

Thank you so much for writing your thoughts about your recent stay with us.

You are most kind for complimenting our luxury spa, infinity pool and other facilities. I was glad to read you enjoyed it all. Thank you very much for your constructive comments. Our rooms are larger than our competitors here in Dalmatia because we are the only five star resort here and, being just 10 minutes form the city center, we have ample space. Not only do we have larger rooms but we have a private marina, sport grounds (tennis, basketball, free climbing wall, mini golf) we even have two beaches and a little tunnel with a miniature chapel.

I sincerely hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Best regards,

Mirjana Simunic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
81 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel with great views. About 20 minutes from the old city which makes going to a restaurant for dinner inconvenient. Good meal at the hotel and restaurant overlooking the harbor. Overall we had a nice stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirjana S, Manager at Le Meridien Lav Split, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear jah123,

It is really nice of you to take the time and write your impressions of our hotel.

I was glad to read you enjoyed our hotel where everything comes with the view.

Split center is only 8km away from our resort and it takes a maximum ten minute ride by car or bus to reach all that Split has to offer.
Our concierge is able to provide a transfer service. There is also a taxi service conveniently just outside our hotel. Public buses are availble for very favorable prices and on frequent bus lines.

We would be happiest if you would decide to pay us another visit sometime in the future.

Kind regards,

Mirjana Simunic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua
Level Contributor
86 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I was at this hotel for a medical conference. The hotel was great- clean, fantastic staff who were not only very helpful but even followed up when I got back to ask if I found what I was looking for (a Catholic church). Hotel shuttle bus to go into town is a great service and fantastic deal. The gym is one of the best I've seen- they have a real squat rack and a bench press with barbell, as well as a full selection of other weight and cardio equipment. View is great. Restaurants in general were a little bit overwhelmed by the conference crowd- I think if they routinely have conferences there they need to work on that. Biggest complaint is absence of in room coffee. I miss it!

Room Tip: Harbor view was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExPatinNica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirjana S, Manager at Le Meridien Lav Split, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear ExPatinNica,

It is very nice of you to write your thoughts about your recent stay in our hotel.

It is really beautiful to read such kind words of praise and I am glad you found our gym to be one of the best you have seen. Your compliments for our service are most appreciated. Also, your constructive comment of overwhelmed restaurant will be seriously considered.

Please, do visit us again should your travels bring you back to Croatia in the future.

Best regards,

Mirjana Simunic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zagreb
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We have stay there several times. The hotel is very beautifull and beach is great. The service is good. Breakfest is pretty poor, before few years was much beeter. Restaurant in hotel(a la carte) is very bad and expensive. We love to eat and pay good staffs but the dinner was very expensive and BAAAADDDD. They don't have any deserts only same muss. The grill restaurant on the beach heve the most awful food i have ever tasted. They sereved us hamburger with finest beef but that was a poor slice of meet from supermarket and the bun was 10 days old and the price for that is 100 kn??????!!!!Also we have ordered alfredo pasta which have no taste. You don't expect that in 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andreja t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I will admit that I was very hesitant to book this hotel knowing that its located 10 to 15 minutes drive to Split. But after our 3 night stay we were so happy that we chose this hotel. Our original plan was to take a taxi or shuttle into town each of the 4 days we were at the resort but we enjoyed the pool and private beach so much that we ended up only going into Split for a total of 6 hours during our entire stay.

We got a marine view room and it was so beautiful to be able to see the Adriatic from the bed and the seating area. The balcony was also very nice too, as is the large bathroom with a full tub and separate shower. Our room also had a walk-in closet so you can keep all of your belongings and not have it out in the main living area.

Concerning the restaurants, we took coffee and pastries but did have a full breakfast one morning. I ordered the eggs benedict and the quality and taste is really good but it was so large that I had to ask if this was made for an American appetite. All other meals were taken off site as we wanted to explore the area a bit. In fact we found a few very good lunch spots about a half mile walk south of the hotel - Restaurant Amigo.

Tip: if you are headed into Split then I would definitely recommend taking the hotel shuttle versus a taxi. round trip on the shuttle will run approximately $7 US versus $40 on a taxi.

Room Tip: Marine view rooms could offer an unobstructed view since some of the rooms overlooking the pool and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JP_SEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirjana S, Manager at Le Meridien Lav Split, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear JP_SEA,

It is wonderful to read such a great comment. Feedback like this really inspire us to continue our good work in providing special and memorable service to each of our guests. I am delighted to read you enjoyed our facilities and found us rich with activities and offer that much so you did not even have to leave the property. It is our goal to serve all expectations and needs our guests might have and that is always with highest level of customer service and proffesionalism.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you again should your ways bring you back to Split.

Untill then, kind regards,

Mirjana Simunic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I visited on the 1st for just 2 days. The weather was perfect for relaxing by the sea in our own private beach or by the gorgeous infinity pool. All the staff were polite and attentive, the food was very good and the drinks also. Room was spacious and had a great sea view despite being described as "garden view". Would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirjana S, Manager at Le Meridien Lav Split, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear hersonissos,


Thank you so much for taking time to write your impressions of our hotel.

It is a pleasure to read our hotel met all your expectations and you enjoyed it this much. I am glad you discovered in our hotel everything comes with the view, the pool, restaurants, bars, „garden view“ rooms, even the tennis courts.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you again should your ways bring you back to Split.

Sincerely yours,

Mirjana Simunic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Podstrana
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Split
0.4 mi away
Hotel Split
Hotel Split
#2 of 8 in Podstrana
235 reviews
22.8 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#3 of 8 in Podstrana
136 reviews
16.9 mi away
Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa
4.2 mi away
Dioklecijan Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Lav Split? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Lav Split

Property: Le Meridien Lav Split
Address: Grljevacka 2A, Podstrana 21311, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Podstrana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Podstrana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Lav Split 5*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embark on a journey of coastal discovery. Found on a pristine part of the coast and featuring emerald clear waters a stone’s throw away from Split, the Le Méridien Lav’s unique location invites guests to easily explore the imposing Dalmatian coast stopping every few kilometers to admire scenic towns and villages including those of Trogir, Omiš, Solin (Salona) and Makarska as well as the nature parks of Biokovo (St Juraj) and Krka – all within an hour’s drive from the hotel.MOVE! A resort like no other in the region, Le Méridien Lav Split offers unparalleled facilities for those looking for action-packed travel. Energize your mind and body with an early morning jog along the beach or play away in some of the resort's numerous sport facilities (tennis courts, tennis, beach volley, boules, free climbing wall, archery, diving, water sports, yachting, cycling, wellness club ) Large superior and deluxe rooms and family suites are perfectly sized to accommodate two adults and up to two children. The Penguin Club offers a safe, educational and entertaining experience for the kids. Club's fully qualified nursing staff will keep busy their inquisitive mind! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Le Meridien Lav Split reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Lav Split Hotel Podstrana
Le Meridien Podstrana
Podstrana Le Meridien
Le Meridien Lav Split Croatia/Podstrana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing