We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Panoramic Setting, Five Star Expectations Met” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Meridien Lav Split

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Meridien Lav Split
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Podstrana
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Panoramic Setting, Five Star Expectations Met”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Le Meriden resort style hotel at Lav around 20 minutes from Split has a beautiful location with marina and beach frontage depending on the room. Shuttle to Split for around 40K person round trip, would have been a nice touch though if this was a complimentary service. Our room overlooked the marina and with ocean panorama to Split. Nice big deck. Room was furnished in a modern style , and appeared very well maintained. Public seating areas and bars nicely presented , but as this is a five star hotel ancillary services predictably expensive. A recommended day trip from the hotel is to Omis with a trip along the Certina river. Public bus stop just outside the hotel. Also easy to access Split town which was somewhat disappointing , visitors greeted with an ugly cement promenade incongruous with the presentation of the old town. Commercialism has really enmeshed itself In the old town. Avoid the so called "Nostress" cafe in one of the main squares , poor coffee, supercilious waiter.
So the Le Meridian Hotel is in a very good panoramic location , a very attractive alternative to staying in Split. There are nice local strolling areas around the hotel. Supermarkets also nearby.
All staff we came in contact with were friendly and efficient and we were kindly given a late checkout. Free WiFi in rooms appreciated. Overall a very comfortable and relaxing stay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank davestan12016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IgorNovakovic, Manager at Le Meridien Lav Split, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear davestan, As I mentioned to the previous review we always proudly say that in Le Meridien Lav Split everything comes with a view - we are so proud this and so proud of being in the destination that offers you amazing views. Thank you so much for taking time to write your review, see you back soon. Best Regards, Igor Novakovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    791
    518
    147
    48
    31
See reviews for
381
641
50
186
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
zagreb
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

was at the hotel on business, so could not use all leisure activities.

lobby is really nice, there is nice pool in front, as well as the beach. got the room that looks over the litle marine - could be noisy in the morning, maybe you could ask for room in the upper floor with the sea view. service is good, as it should be in this kind of hotel. location of the hotel is not so great - you are near Split, but have to take car (public transportation is also available - take the bus). apart from service, food is also good, even though we had exactly the same meal for lunch and dinner. breakfast is nice, but also does not change from day to day.

room is large, bed really big (2x2) but matress is pretty bad, I was awakining myself every time I turned during the night. also, quilt over the bed was double, I really prefer single one. was too hot whan you cover yourself, too cold when you uncover. both rooms and halls in part of hotel I stayd in are covered with carpet - the thing I hate the most, I firmly believe that you cannot clean those properly. had large balcony, with just two lousy chairs and a smole table. and there is no free wifi in rooms.

good part is the lobby, champagne bar, outside pool, little beach in front of hotel - all lookes really nice and in a sunny day it is a pleasure to enjoy common facilities.

in my opinion, room part is not a five stars experience and certainly does not prove the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank antea p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IgorNovakovic, Manager at Le Meridien Lav Split, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear antea p, I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with your bed - please remember next time that we can help you with any special request - we can make the bed suit your need, you just have to tell us and we will do our best to accommodate your wishes. There is free wi-fi in the rooms, there is free wi-fi in the hotel. Again, a simple call to our Guest Service staff would have resolved this issue. We are here to make your every stay your best stay, you just have to let us know how. Thank you, Igor Novakovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We spent 24 hours here, having arrived on a 6am flight from London and it was the best way to get over the early morning start. The spa facilities are really excellent. Two jacuzzis, two steam rooms, sauna and a number of heated stone seats and chill out areas and a graet pool too indoors and out. The food was a tad disappointing, 4-star standard buffet. Wine somewhat overpriced. Rooms clean and tidy. Their advertised courtest shuttle into Split town centre only runs in the high season, ie from June 1st. Overall, if you want a very relaxing spa hotel this is it, but if you dont care for the spa, there are probably better value options with better food closer to Split

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shenaniganso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IgorNovakovic, Manager at Le Meridien Lav Split, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear shenaniganso, Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. I will pass on your comments about the buffet to our food and beverage manager but I am happy to hear that our SPA managed to compensate with its excellent facilities and service. Thank you, Igor Novakovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you're looking for a peaceful and relaxing retreat in a boutique 5* resort, this is not it. If however you are looking for a lively large family hotel with excellent food, wine, sunshine and views then this is the place for you. I will start with the positives:

The staff and the views make this hotel. The staff are helpful, friendly and professional - after a few days they will remember your favourite drink and make sure you always get your spot by the pool – nothing is too much trouble!

Loved that the hotel was located away from Split (Taxi to Split 20 mins £15) as the views are magical. Being SPG gold members we were upgraded to a west facing sea view room where the evening sun and sunset views over the Adriatic were breathtaking! We visited the champagne bar every evening due to the quality of service, choice of drinks and the relaxing atmosphere overlooking the yachts in the marina. Best restaurant is on the marina side of the hotel called Skampino – although attached it is not owned by the hotel. The food here is fantastic!

Now for the negatives: This hotel is massive (the main lobby is more like an airport terminal) at one end is the open plan restaurant Spalatum and the other end is the Champagne restaurant - The noise travels which can ruin the atmosphere when the hotel is busy. Also, we had to walk a long way from our room on the 14th floor of the tower to the pool (two lifts and a long walk through the lobby).

Be prepared to share this holiday with other people. Large conference groups will often arrive and stroll around between meetings. The hotel is also popular with noisy families with small children (it’s was common to see kids in the restaurant at 11pm watching films on their ipads with the volume up).

The spa area is lovely but some areas are in desperate need of renovations. If you can look past the peeling paint and cracked tiles you’ll be fine.

Overall, a lovely hotel in a beautiful country – great for a short break... Maybe I’m just a bit fussy.

Room Tip: West Facing Sea View Room for Sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PrincessRhys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IgorNovakovic, Manager at Le Meridien Lav Split, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear PrincessRhys, Thank you for your kind words of praise. I am so happy to hear that you recognized our two main strengths - amazing views and amazing associates. We do hope to see you back with us soon. Thank you, Igor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed there in April for 5 nights and had superior room. Room was really spacious, good bathroom, large balcony with a seaview. Room was clean, rich breakfast with everything you could hope.
For the first night our room was facing to the marina (in fact it was located over the marina), and there was some kind of ventilation noise from outside.... and I who am sensitive to the noise had to use earplugs. We got a better located room for the next nights - no need for the plugs, and from there also the view was better than from the previous room. So, ask for the room facing to the sea and pool!
Hotel was aprx. 8 km from the center, and there were no shuttle service to the city. There were busses, but their timetable were not punctual.
Spa, pool and beach were great!

Room Tip: Ask for the room facing to the sea and pool - they are quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RitaK990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IgorNovakovic, Manager at Le Meridien Lav Split, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear RitaK990, Thank you for taking time to write your review full of praises. Glad to hear that you managed to get the room transfer as you did not like the noise, especiallly glad to hear that you got even better views in your new room. Best, Igor Novakovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
108 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

I stayed for 6 nights starting with meetings with colleagues followed by private stay. The meeting rooms are good and at least one big room with a wonderful sea view. Business centre equipped with PCs, scanner, fax and photocopying machine/printer. My room was good and relatively big with a big balcony and stunning views - and clean. The Bathroom good size (but no face cloth?). The outdoor pool area lovely with a great pool (thank you for not heating the pool!!) and extremely helpful 'pool man'. If you want to use the beach (it is worth it) bring special shoes as the stones are a bit difficult to walk on. I didn't use the spa/indoor pool or the gym but it looked great. The treatments on offer fine and the one I tried was excellent. The restaurant serves absolutely great food both for big formal dinner and lunch and for a 1-person dinner. Breakfast buffet with a huge choice. I would however have loved brown /multigrain bread. The hotel offers free wifi that works very well. The hotel is located outside Split and I believe there is a shuttle during the peak season (?) otherwise count 130 kuna for a taxi each way. But the biggest plus must be the STAFF. Everywhere (front desk, bars, restaurant, pool area, spa, concierge, cleaning) they are helpful, kind, smiling and just wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marianneBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Location of the hotel might be challenge for you, as the hotel is not located in city center of Split, but in Podstrana aprox. 15 min drive from center of the town.
My tip – don’t spend money on the taxi to the hotel – just simply rent a car – for stay more than 4 days it will be beneficial and you will also feel independent to get know local area- strongly recommend OMIS town as one day trip – not more than 20 min drive from the hotel. Road to the hotel is easy to find as on the way from the airport few times you will pass information about direction to the resort.
Rooms are specious and all of them are having balconies, housekeeping is doing their job spotless.
Bathroom has huge bath and quality of the towels is really good.
Breakfast – great value for the money- good choice of local specialties- Croatian bread and cheese. SPA area a bit without ambience . Outside (unfortunately not heated ) pool seems to be ok with the size when hotel is not running on the full occupancy, however it’s hard to imagine how it will fit to fulfill all guests expectations when become more busy.
Worth to mention…. This hotel has one of the BEST staff – since check in, through Restaurant, Lobby Bar and SPA – everybody are nice, helpful and smiling – making my stay really enjoyable.
I do hope to return very soon,

Room Tip: High floor- above 6th will give you chance to enjoy breathtaking views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauder T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IgorNovakovic, Manager at Le Meridien Lav Split, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Lauder T, Thank you so much for your kind words of praise, especially for recognizing that we have the BEST associates (with capital BEST). Hopefully see you back with us soon. Best Regards, Igor N.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Podstrana
3.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Split
0.4 mi away
Hotel Split
Hotel Split
#2 of 8 in Podstrana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
22.7 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#3 of 8 in Podstrana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
4.2 mi away
Dioklecijan Hotel & Residence
4.8 mi away
Hotel Luxe
Hotel Luxe
#7 of 57 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Lav Split? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Lav Split

Property: Le Meridien Lav Split
Address: Grljevacka 2A, Podstrana 21311, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Podstrana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Podstrana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Lav Split 5*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embark on a journey of coastal discovery. Found on a pristine part of the coast and featuring emerald clear waters a stone’s throw away from Split, the Le Méridien Lav’s unique location invites guests to easily explore the imposing Dalmatian coast stopping every few kilometers to admire scenic towns and villages including those of Trogir, Omiš, Solin (Salona) and Makarska as well as the nature parks of Biokovo (St Juraj) and Krka – all within an hour’s drive from the hotel.MOVE! A resort like no other in the region, Le Méridien Lav Split offers unparalleled facilities for those looking for action-packed travel. Energize your mind and body with an early morning jog along the beach or play away in some of the resort's numerous sport facilities (tennis courts, tennis, beach volley, boules, free climbing wall, archery, diving, water sports, yachting, cycling, wellness club ) Large superior and deluxe rooms and family suites are perfectly sized to accommodate two adults and up to two children. The Penguin Club offers a safe, educational and entertaining experience for the kids. Club's fully qualified nursing staff will keep busy their inquisitive mind! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, HotelsClick, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Le Meridien Lav Split reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Lav Split Hotel Podstrana
Le Meridien Podstrana
Podstrana Le Meridien
Le Meridien Lav Split Croatia/Podstrana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing