We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More like 3 or 4 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Meridien Lav Split
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Podstrana
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“More like 3 or 4 stars”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This hotel is nice. But I would not say it is a 5 star hotel room.
The rooms are very dated, but they were clean with a nice bathroom. We had a lovely view from our room and it was spacious.
The reception staff were not the most pleasant people but it was very busy when we were checking in.
Both indoor and outdoor pools were great, but we went in the summer and they were very very crowded as you would expect. The beach is nice (stones) but very very small. Considering the size of the hotel however, I would expect more.
It is quite a bit out of the city, you can jump on the hotel bus though (which you have to pay for and book) From the hotel there is not much you can walk to which we knew, but on reflection this was an error on our part.
Breakfast was awful considering the cost, the place where we ate it had fantastic views, but this in no way compensated for the poor quality of spread.
The bar also had wonderful views.
This place lacked any real character and the staff were not as helpful as they could have been.
Our stay was pleasurable, but we wouldn't' stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilPatel84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IgorNovakovic, Manager at Le Meridien Lav Split, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear NeilPatel84, I am glad to see that you have managed to discover that in Le Meridien Split everything comes with a great view and that you enjoyed our bars and pools. I am sorry to hear that you were not completely happy with your breakfast, something for which we are used to receiving praise.
Thank you for taking time to write your review. Best Regards, Igor Novakovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    815
    529
    151
    51
    32
See reviews for
392
652
52
195
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Went to Split on a conference trip with the whole company. The service was not 5-star, for example the bar was understaffed and the service was very slow, but everything else was 5-star!
The room that I got was fantastic with an magnificent view! It was big and clean, especially the bathroom. The beds were ok (3/5), but still good to sleep in.
The location was great for this purpose, a bit east of Split in Podstrana. Located close to the sea and close to the island of Brac for a weekend daytrip. The hotel facilities and restaurant were great!

Liked most: Location, food and beautiful Adriatic Sea view.
Liked least: Slow bar service and bed.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parasec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Let me start by saying that I recognize that European 5 stars and US 5 stars are different. I kept this in mind and had no expectation of a truly 5 star trip. However, my experience here was so bad I feel that this hotel doesn't even merit 2 stars.

I have traveled to Croatia before and loved it. The country is amazing. I would absolutely recommend that everyone see this amazing country.

THIS hotel, however, was horrendous. DO NOT book here.

The staff is rude and inattentive. It took 45 minutes of waiting in line to check out of the hotel. During my entire stay there, there was always a huge line waiting to speak to the desk attendants. The front desk was rude, unhelpful and overall unprofessional. It was as if they were all in training, yet no one was really there to help them.

They did not honor my room request reservation because they overbooked. WHY was their mistake my problem? Unacceptable.

They advertised a casino (which is about the only thing to do at the hotel) but when I arrived, I learned it was closed indefinitely. When I asked why booking websites never stated this, the hotel said the casino was run by a 3rd party company and they had no control over when it was opened or closed. I, personally, would not have booked here had I known this information prior. Sneaky, very sneaky.

The hotel is located NOWHERE near the downtown area. In fact, it takes 30 minutes via cab to get to the center.

The hotel offers virtually nothing to do. The excursions are all extra costs.

Be sure to check your bill upon checkout as they do add "extras" and don't remotely explain what they are when you ask. They removed them from my bill, but still never clarified what the heck they were.

Horrible experience. I would NOT recommend staying here at all, nor will I ever return. Frankly, anything could be better than this place.

Room Tip: Didn't matter because they overbooked and just put you wherever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Teri_Germanotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IgorNovakovic, Manager at Le Meridien Lav Split, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Teri_germanotta,
I am sorry to hear that you do not expect 5 start European luxury to be on the same level as you are accustomed to in US. I am also sorry to hear that you did not find information on many daily free activities this resort has on offer: Divine Body Yoga, Kinezitherapy, Aqua Gym, Archery, Table Tennis, Mini Golf, Fitness Circuit Training, Tennis Lessons and Breathing Techniques, Intermediate Yoga, Hatha Yoga and finally Solar Yoga. In the evening we have an exhaustive entertainment schedule.
The Casino which used to be in the same building complex as the resort (but never part of the hotel) is closed which was the decision of the third party running it.
Thank you for taking time to write your review. Best Regards, Igor Novakovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
115 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

This hotel was very nice, clean, and the facilities were wonderful (spa, infinity pool, beautiful lobby, etc).
Location: The hotel’s location had positives and negatives. I knew in booking it that it wasn’t very close to the old city. I thought the location might be a bit more relaxing, on the water with a pool and more amenities rather than staying somewhere crowded in the old town where I had heard it could get rather loud at night. It was quiet and we did have some relaxing time at the pool and the indoor spa facilities (free access to guests). There were a few cafes situated around the harbor by the hotel, and the hotel had several places you could eat, as well. However, it definitely wasn’t close to old town. You either had to get a taxi or take the shuttle (book times ahead and keep to its schedule—we called back to the hotel from town and got on the shuttle we wanted to on the way back without a problem). It was easy and cheap (I don’t remember exactly how much, but they just billed it to our room). Within 10-15 minutes you were dropped off right in the middle of things at the harbor front. I think the shuttle ran until 11pm or so, so if you were a night own (there are a lot of bars in town), then you’d probably have to catch a taxi back. Also, I don’t think it began running until later in the day, so it wasn’t an option for the morning. As long as it works with your plans it’s a good deal. A taxi would probably cost a substantial bit more.
Overall: Overall, the hotel was a great place to relax and unwind in an otherwise bustling city. The pool and spa facilities were great. The beach in front was a nice plus, but it was very rocky and the water wasn’t the clear water you see elsewhere (like in Dubrovnik), but that goes with the area in general. I have no complaints other than that the drinks we got from the terrace bar could not have been made any weaker unless there was no alcohol at all in them (and I am not one to want a strong drink). The hotel was immaculate, and the food we had for lunch from the restaurant by the pool was decent. The lattes we got from the bar in the lobby in the morning were very good (and cheap). The lobby in general was lovely and made me want to spend time there just watching the bustle of people going by.
Hotel Staff: The staff went very out of their way to welcome me as a Starwood Preferred Guest and offer any assistance they could. The person checking us in even went and got her supervisor to come and welcome us and offer any assistance she could. They upgraded us to a nicer room and overall were very good. Even the shuttle driver was pleasant.
Room: Our room was wonderful. We were upgraded to a nicer room with a sea view at no additional cost, so I’m sure I’m a bit biased. We had a little balcony we could sit out on and relax. The room was a bit larger than a regular one, as well, so we had a bit of room to stretch out. It wasn’t enormous or anything, but it was a good size for 2 people. The bathroom was nice and felt new. Overall, I don’t have any complaints about the room at all.

Room Tip: SPG Gold gets you much better service and possibly a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meghan429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IgorNovakovic, Manager at Le Meridien Lav Split, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear meghan429, Thank you so much for taking time to write your review. I am so happy to hear that you were happy with our resort and services. We hope to see you back in Dalatia some time soon. Best Regards, Igor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I was in the hotel within 3 days. The room was nice and clean with very convinient bad and with view to the yachts. The breakfast and dinner are not so bad, but always almost similar. The distance to the center of the city is aproximately 20 minutes by taxi (120 kunas). It only one inconvinient thing that I noticed was beach with plenty stones in the water, so you should be very carefull when swimming. It is very pleasant and nice hotel for the couples or business meeting.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oleks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IgorNovakovic, Manager at Le Meridien Lav Split, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Oleks, Thank you for your kind words of praise. Hopefully see you back in Croatia soon. Best Regards, Igor Novakovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The hotel complex and rooms were very stylish, staff all very friendly and breakfast excellent. Only problem was hotel had a Wedding on the Saturday and even on the upper floors of the hotel you could hear the music at 1am. We complained and were treated well, but think the hotel should either turn the music down after 12.00 in consideration of non Wedding part guests.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burchett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IgorNovakovic, Manager at Le Meridien Lav Split, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear burchett, Thank you for taking time to write your review. I am especially happy that we gave you the chance to experience Dalmatia in style. I am also happy that you are content with the way we handled your request for turning down the music. We hope to see you stay with us again soon. Best regards, Igor Novakovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
73 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We spent a week there at the end of September and had a very good time. Being a member of the Starwood hotels gave us a room in an area that seemed reserved for members according to signs. The room was nice, but the bed was too hard and a few more pillows would have been nice. No walk in shower, so one had to stand in the bathtub to take a shower. Carpet looked a bit stained, and there were no place but the bottom of the wardrobe to place non hanging items. Other than this we liked the room and the side view to the sea from the balcony.

Indoor pool and outdoor pool were both nice, with excellent sun beds at the terrace by the outdoor pool. Being a bit off season we had no problems in getting a free bed. Free towel could be picked up at the spa, but I also saw the pool assistant bring some to some persons. Nice little bar with sandwiches and salads made it easy to spend the day by the pool.

We only had pedicures, but those were among the best we have had. Sadly they were fully booked when we finally decided to try a massage as well. Very friendly and not pushy staff at the spa unlike some other resorts we have been to.

We had booked half board, and enjoyed the omelettes made by the friendly young man at breakfast, but the coffee was bad. For a European palate it was just as bland and weak as most coffee served in the USA. And it was the first time I ever saw grappa offered at breakfast... I sometimes do indulge in a mimosa when bubbly wine is offered, but grappa is out of my league. One morning I didn’t feel like walking down and my husband felt rather bad when he went back down to get me a roll in a paper napkin and was told off by the manager. By then they should have known him and know that we never had breakfast at the same time, so a polite question to why he came back would have been more becoming, after all we had paid for two persons. Dinner buffet was quite good, but after a week one has seen most of it. We liked the starters and main courses better than the desserts. They had very nice sommeliers who gave good advice when we wanted to try the local wine.

The hotel is big, so big that is was a slight problem to a bad walker. To have an aperitif at the terrace of the bar before dinner meant a good walk to get to the restaurant for dinner. But the hotel had ramps in all areas, even if some of them were rather steep, so even with a wheel chair this hotel would work well. The staff was friendly and we were sad to hear that some of our favourites were loosing their jobs for the winter season, but I guess it had to bee done due to lover traffic. We had an early evening flight out of Split, so we appreciated the late check out given us. It meant that we could enjoy the morning by the pool and still shower and change before we left our room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polarlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IgorNovakovic, Manager at Le Meridien Lav Split, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear polarlady, Thank you so much for taking time to write your review. Our Spa is very popular as our therapists are really skilled and really do try to give the best service possible at all times.
We do hope to see you back with us soon again. Thank you, Igor Novakovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Podstrana
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Split
0.4 mi away
Hotel Split
Hotel Split
#2 of 8 in Podstrana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
22.8 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#3 of 8 in Podstrana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
4.2 mi away
Dioklecijan Hotel & Residence
16.9 mi away
Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Lav Split? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Lav Split

Property: Le Meridien Lav Split
Address: Grljevacka 2A, Podstrana 21311, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Podstrana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Podstrana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Lav Split 5*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embark on a journey of coastal discovery. Found on a pristine part of the coast and featuring emerald clear waters a stone’s throw away from Split, the Le Méridien Lav’s unique location invites guests to easily explore the imposing Dalmatian coast stopping every few kilometers to admire scenic towns and villages including those of Trogir, Omiš, Solin (Salona) and Makarska as well as the nature parks of Biokovo (St Juraj) and Krka – all within an hour’s drive from the hotel.MOVE! A resort like no other in the region, Le Méridien Lav Split offers unparalleled facilities for those looking for action-packed travel. Energize your mind and body with an early morning jog along the beach or play away in some of the resort's numerous sport facilities (tennis courts, tennis, beach volley, boules, free climbing wall, archery, diving, water sports, yachting, cycling, wellness club ) Large superior and deluxe rooms and family suites are perfectly sized to accommodate two adults and up to two children. The Penguin Club offers a safe, educational and entertaining experience for the kids. Club's fully qualified nursing staff will keep busy their inquisitive mind! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Le Meridien Lav Split reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Lav Split Hotel Podstrana
Le Meridien Podstrana
Podstrana Le Meridien
Le Meridien Lav Split Croatia/Podstrana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing