We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Meridien Lav Split
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Podstrana
Certificate of Excellence
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place to Stay”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

What a great location, the accomodations are first class, the view is even better. Very helpful staff and many activities here that you will not have to leave the resort once you arrive.
We would definitely return to this location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dNjs1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IgorNovakovic, Manager at Le Meridien Lav Split, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your kind words of praise and hopefully see you back in Dalmatia soon.
Best Regards, Igor Novakovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    829
    538
    154
    52
    35
See reviews for
396
666
52
199
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Lovely soft pillows, but firm beds. Other than that, nothing but good things to say! Beautiful view, excellent food, delightful amenities, good facilities- pools, spa, fitness room, etc. We did not use the internet, so, we can't address that. The food was good, but the lines were congested if you arrived at the beginning of dinner. I think the omelet station was our favorite- very tasty. We enjoyed foot massages at the spa and were quite pleased to have a restful, relaxing (albeit a little short...but what massage isn't too short?) break. We ended up using a driver from the hotel from the airport and he was very professional and on time. On our way home, we used the bus system which was clean and very easy to use. Most prices were very economical and we would love to make a return visit to Croatia.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IgorNovakovic, Manager at Le Meridien Lav Split, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Melissa C, We say that in Le Meridien Split you do 'Everything With a View' and I am very happy to read that you have found this to be true.

Thank you for taking time to write your review and hopefully see you back in Dalmatia soon.

Best Regards, Igor Novakovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, AU
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

My wife and stayed at Le Meridien for 2 nights in mid-October 2012. We loved the pool and the little beach on the Adriatic. We had a great view over the bay towards Split from our balcony on the 7th floor.

Also the restaurants and bars were fine and the breakfast buffet was very good. Apart from the hotel restaurants, there were several (not linked to the resort) downstairs at the boat marina. We enjoyed these, but they were nearly deserted since 'the season' (as they say) was definitely coming to an end at the time of our stay.

If you do stay here, be aware that the resort is at Podstrana, which is maybe 7km or so from Split itself. There is not that much near the resort - a few pizza stores and I think a supermarket not too far away. On the resort grounds they also have several shops such as a hairdresser and a little convenience store. The hotel does offer a shuttle service into Split, but we found that the schedule was not that convenient for us - from memory there were a few in the morning going into Split but you'd have to wait quite a while to get one in the return direction back to the resort. We ended up just getting the public bus into Split which runs from outside a pizza store just up the hill from the resort. We had a car, but had taken advantage of the valet parking and didn't feel like getting it out and trying to park in the center of Split.

The only thing I'd really criticize is the internet at the resort. On SPG's website they advertise it as being available both in the lobby and in the rooms. As an SPG Gold member I'd chosen 'high speed WiFi' as our 'free gift' upon arrival. We found that WiFi was almost impossible to access in our room. It was better down in the lobby, but even there it was highly variable in strength and quality. The menu was confusing ('basic' vs 'high speed' etc). I complained about this to the staff, and they said the hotel was changing over to a new system and they were having a few glitches with the conversion. I've checked the earlier reviews and haven't found many other complaints about the WiFi, so perhaps I should give them the benefit of the doubt that this was just a temporary glitch. Anyway, decent WiFi is an essential service these days and in a property of this quality and price we would expect to be able to access the internet from our room...Apart from that, we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djk_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IgorNovakovic, Manager at Le Meridien Lav Split, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear djk_au, I agree with you that a decent WiFi is a must these days and let me assure you that the system is now changed, set up and running very well and we lots of good comments from our guests. I am pleased to hear that apart from this you had a great time here in Dalmatia. Wishing you a good journey back home, Igor Novakovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I recently stayed at Le Meridien split with two friends and had an excellent stay due to the services of Giuseppe Nardiello nothing was too much trouble. The room was great, very comfortable with a beautiful bathroom, lovely views of the marina.and a huge balcony.The infinity pool was really great very clean with lovely comfortable beds to laze around on and also there was a "CREW" member of staff I think his name was Gabrielle and he attended to the need of everyone young and old with a smile' The breakfast had a great choice, something for everyone and the young chef cooking eggs etc was always happy and smilingl There was a courtsey bus from the Hotel into Split which took about 15mins for 20 kunas (about £2.50) but we used the local bus which stopped near the hotel and goes around every 25mins and only cost 13 kunas (around £1.50) it runs from 5am until midnight.I am really glad we stayed here as I was originally a bit concerned about the distance from Split old town but we had a very relaxing time during the day we could walk along the beach both ways which was really nice or just laze around the pool and at night went into Split which was lovely, lots of bars and restaurants and had a real buzz even though it was just out of season.We also went to Hvar for the day on an organised trip about £40 and was well worth it. I would recommend this hotel for a combined relaxing and city break .

Room Tip: ask for a room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patriciamhodson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IgorNovakovic, Manager at Le Meridien Lav Split, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear patriciamhodson, Thank you for taking time to write your review. We welcome the opportunity to enable our guest a chance to discover the amazing Dalmatian coastline (and in your case Islands too). We hope to see you back in Dalmatia soon. Thank you, Igor Novakovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We initially checked into a 'boutique' hotel next-door and were so mortified by the rooms, the service and the amenities we quickly left. For almost the same price, Le Meridien was fantastic. The rooms are beautiful (we had a deluxe member's room- it was huge, overlooking the marina, new, beautifully furnished and had a beautiful balcony). The pool is beautiful- a bit small and not heated, but there's a heated indoor right behind it, so even form the indoor pool you have the view of the sea. The staff were quite friendly (This is Croatia, remember), breakfast was good and it was only 10mins from town. The shuttle is really convenient and having the marina within the same complex is really cool.I would absolutely stay here again- don't even risk experiencing the smaller, locally run hotels.

Room Tip: Join the members reward program and ask for one of the member's rooms, or to be near the Marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ausroam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IgorNovakovic, Manager at Le Meridien Lav Split, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Ausroam, Thank you for your kind words again and I do hope that you will check again in Le Meridien Split in not too distant a future. Thank you, Igor novakovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We spend a week in october 2012. Hotel was nice but the food included with the room was horrible, worse than at the hospital......Do not eat to their restaurant !
For example, We had grillchese for lunch and macaroni for dinner... 5 stars restaurant??
If you like poor food or junk food it is the place for you.
You can find better place in Trogir less expensive and nicer

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IgorNovakovic, Manager at Le Meridien Lav Split, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Justin V, Thank you for your review. Please let me clarify that the group with which you traveled to had strict menu requirements imposed by the agency that organized the trip - hence the menu over which we had little say. Having said this if you were unhappy with the food provided by your agency then you could have eaten in any of the restaurants in our resort serving a la carte food. Should you have done so I am sure that you would have written a different review.
Best Regards, Igor Novakovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Lovely comfortable rooms with beautiful sea views... Also nice restaurants (not connected to hotel) downstairs on the Marina.

But a little bit 'conference-y' and impersonal, also far from Split centre (taxi one way costs 120 kuna = 17 euro).

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IgorNovakovic, Manager at Le Meridien Lav Split, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Megan2402, Thank you so much for your review. We are so proud of our position which allows us to say that here we do 'everything with a view'. Tip for eveyone is that if you take our shuttle bus service to town you will be paying only 20kn each way (€2.65) which is much cheaper than a taxi. We hope to have you stay back with us soon. Best Regards, Igor Novakovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Podstrana
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Split
0.4 mi away
Hotel Split
Hotel Split
#2 of 8 in Podstrana
235 reviews
22.8 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#3 of 8 in Podstrana
133 reviews
16.9 mi away
Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa
4.2 mi away
Dioklecijan Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Lav Split? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Lav Split

Property: Le Meridien Lav Split
Address: Grljevacka 2A, Podstrana 21311, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Podstrana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Podstrana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Lav Split 5*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embark on a journey of coastal discovery. Found on a pristine part of the coast and featuring emerald clear waters a stone’s throw away from Split, the Le Méridien Lav’s unique location invites guests to easily explore the imposing Dalmatian coast stopping every few kilometers to admire scenic towns and villages including those of Trogir, Omiš, Solin (Salona) and Makarska as well as the nature parks of Biokovo (St Juraj) and Krka – all within an hour’s drive from the hotel.MOVE! A resort like no other in the region, Le Méridien Lav Split offers unparalleled facilities for those looking for action-packed travel. Energize your mind and body with an early morning jog along the beach or play away in some of the resort's numerous sport facilities (tennis courts, tennis, beach volley, boules, free climbing wall, archery, diving, water sports, yachting, cycling, wellness club ) Large superior and deluxe rooms and family suites are perfectly sized to accommodate two adults and up to two children. The Penguin Club offers a safe, educational and entertaining experience for the kids. Club's fully qualified nursing staff will keep busy their inquisitive mind! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Le Meridien Lav Split reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Lav Split Hotel Podstrana
Le Meridien Podstrana
Podstrana Le Meridien
Le Meridien Lav Split Croatia/Podstrana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing