We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful seaside hotel with high standards”
Review of Hotel Eden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Eden
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Podstrana
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Peaceful seaside hotel with high standards”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights and loved it! Large, clean modern rooms with fabulous aircon (we had a heatwave during our stay so this was an absolute godsend). Very quiet in our room, which faced the sea. Very quick walk to the beach. Generous and tasty breakfast buffet. Dinner from the restaurant reasonably priced and good quality. The multilingual staff were among the most friendly and helpful I've ever encountered; they did everything from explaining the local bus system (easy to use) to giving us pointers for day trips. Will definitely return!

Room Tip: Take the 'presidential suite' if you can afford the upgrade - definitely worth it for the go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    51
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
37
63
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munstergeleen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Dear Trippers,

Me and my son visited Split for two days. This hotel is just a short bus travel away from the centre of Split. The bus which is very close to this hotel takes you there for 23 Kn. We took the taxi back to the hotel for 110Kn. So its not that necesarry that you take a hotel in the city centre of Split. The room was good and very clean. Nice bathroom with no bath but a pleasant shower cabine. Staff is very helpfull and friendly. Breakfast was very good taken care of and plenty things to choose from. There is also a nice beach near this hotel. Walk down the stairs and you will find yourself on a path to a beach walking to the right and an other one walking to the left.

Enjoy your stay in Split like we did! And thanks to the former review writers of this hotel!

The Heinles

Room Tip: Room 303 with seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheHeinles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This hotel is around 20 mins away by bus from the city of Split located in Podstrana. The bus stop in to Split is two minutes from the hotel. Coming back from Split, the bus stops right outside the hotel (12 Kuna per jorney). We were given a free upgrade to a seaview room. The rooms were very clean and well maintained. Good hot and cold breakfast available. The pebble beach is 5 mins down some concrete stairs, to the left, your 5 minutes away from the nicer beaches near the Le Meridien hotel. The staff were very helpful especially Goran. We used the hotel as a base to to vist split without the hassle of trying to find parking, to visit the island of Brac and the ancient city of Trogir. Spent three nights at this hotel. Would Have given 5 Star, but the free WiFi would not work in room and the mini fridge was a little weak. Highly recommended.....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PL_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
99 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

I used to come to Croatia regularly as my ex-wife was from here, and I also used to DJ a lot in the area. This hotel didn't exist back then, but I'm so glad it does now.

The rooms are all modern and comfortable, with a fabulous view back across the channel between Split and Brac.

Yes, it's 10 minute drive back to Split, but really, you can see the city in a day, and if you stay in a hotel in the city you'll be kept awake all night with noise from the bars, and the value for money compared to the central hotels far excedes the inconvenience of a taxi ride.

The beaches are standard Croatian rocky affair, but you can either opt for a quiet area near the hotel, or move to the beach at Le Meridien, or go past that to an even nicer one.

The Meridien is no more than 100m away, but you wouldn't know it, however if you feel the need for a bit more action it's fun for a night to have a cocktail at their champagne bar and look at the big boats at their marina. There are three supermarkets within 5 minutes walk for snacks, cheese, ham, beer etc....

However, when it comes to dinner, I cannot recommend the restaurant at Eden highly enough. The breakfast is a bit poor, very average ham and cheese and some fruit, but don't let that disguise the fact that the kitchen can produce the most wonderfull Dalmatian dishes in the evening. Yes it's a little expensive, but the seafood, salad, blitva, is as good as I've tasted anywhere. The lady who provides live music is terrific too.

I'd originally planned to stay for only 4 nights before heading to the islands, but was so happy with the food and room I stayed for the whole 2 weeks.

The only reason I give 4/5 instead of 5/5 is that I was moved to a neighbouring hotel twice to accomodate large group bookings, as they have some issue with online bookings, but as a solo traveller was happy with the compensation for the inconvenience.

Don't let that put you off though. It's a great hotel, in my many visits to the region my favorite by far.

I'd like to thank Matko, the owners son who manages it, and made me feel so at home, and Ante, the restaurant waiter, and a proper star in the best Dalmatian way, for all their hospitality and service, and I hope to see you all next summer.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank DJDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2011

The hotel in well located on the seafront. The buffet breakfast is very good with a wide selection to choose from. The room was very comfortable and quiet. Nice view...

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ALEX5_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2011

Service was great. Stuff was very helpful with anything you needed. Rooms were modern and clean. Close to the beach. Definitely would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank matheo062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
176 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2008

Stayed there for a fall weekend. Absolutely lovely place though a bit out of town; the public bus works well. The road noise is hardly disturbing as the hotel is downhill, and apparently the noise does not reach the building esp. the seaside where all balconies are.
The pool was not big and not very warm but well cared for; it's simply a matter of switching on the lights (though the staff prefers that you ask them for assistance) and 5 mins later plunge-you-go.
Buffet B'fast was nice, and so is the flatscreen satellite TV in each room. Restaurant also serves quite good dinners.

  • Liked — Balconies and view
  • Disliked — Distance from Split town
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ErikandSandya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Podstrana
0.2 mi away
Hotel Split
Hotel Split
#2 of 8 in Podstrana
235 reviews
3.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Split
3.0 mi away
Hotel Fanat
Hotel Fanat
#20 of 55 in Split
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Dioklecijan Hotel & Residence
0.6 mi away
Hotel San Antonio
Hotel San Antonio
#8 of 8 in Podstrana
90 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ark Apartments
Ark Apartments
#1 of 1 in Stobrec
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden

Property: Hotel Eden
Address: Strozanacka cesta 76, Podstrana 21312, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Podstrana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Podstrana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eden 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Hotel Podstrana
Hotel Eden Croatia/Podstrana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing