We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey”
Review of The Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Residence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We got a tiny apartment with a small terrace open to the other terraces of the neighbouring aparts, it was very dark since the only light came though the terrace that was against a high rock. Plenty of mosquitoes, tiny pool. The beach was free but no sand and tiny. il was at maximum 2 metres large on low tide. You need to go early for a swim, there is lots of people coming to this tiny beach, impossible to lay down to sunbath. The alternative was to pay to access the larger pools at Le Meridien, the hotel next to it. Very little to do for children, you need to pay for everything (like mini golf or tennis at Le Meridien) It is far from downtown and there is very little to do. Really disappointing and expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tnd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsTreselj, Public Relations Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2011

Dear Sir,
I am very sorry to hear that last year your stay at The Residence was disappointing. Our garden units are small compared to other apartments (35 m2 in size), but lots of guests did love them because of the shade and greenery that they provide when outdoors temperatures raise above 30 degrees C.
If you decide to come once again, please, make sure that when making reservation you tell us your wishes and we will make sure to meet them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 84 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2011

The Residence was absolutely perfect. We have vacationed on the Croatian coast for the past 15 years. We have stayed all over the coast - in luxurious hotels and private apartments. Our 5-day stay at the Residence is perhaps our best vacation experience in Croatia!

Location: The Residence is located in Podstrana, a short drive from Split. While we preferred to stay at the property, it is very easy to make a trip (taxi, bus, rent-a-car, water taxi) to Split to see the sights. We felt it was a waste to leave the beach and property and stayed as long as we could.

Beach: The beach is a stone-throw from the property. A perfect Croatian beach. Simple as that!

Building: The property is right next to the 5-star Le Meridian Lav Hotel. For a reasonable fee, you can use the pool/spa of the hotel. Well worth it in my opinion. The building is well taken care of with a nice surrounding area.

Rooms: The rooms (suites and apartments) are simply luxurious. We spend 3 nights in a suite (bedroom with an extended seating area) and 1 night in a two-bedroom apartment villa. The suite was wonderful. The pictures on the website are a true representation of what the rooms look like. The two-bedroom apartment villa was to-die-for. A dream for any honeymoon or vacation. Again, the pictures on the hotel website are right on. If a sea view is important for you, make sure to ask for one during your reservation. It is worth it!

Services: The Residence does not offer all the traditional services of a luxury resort. There is a small check-in area with a 24-hour store for food and other basic items. All the regular full-service facilities are available next door at the Lav. This was not an issue for us. We wanted a beautiful hotel, luxurious room, and a location on the beach. We found just that at The Residence.

Customer Service: The staff at The Residence was amazing! Very professional and friendly. They went above-and-beyond our expectations from the moment we checked-in. It is clear that they want guests to feel welcome and return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Travel_Lav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2011

Stayed here in September 2010 for 5 nights. The residence is a new complex for 2010, and the rooms were very modern and clean. We were picked up by the residence's own transfer service, which was cheaper than normal taxi, and they also took us into Split one day for a discounted rate. Our room was a 'garden' room, which was effectively the basement, but it was still light and the outside, although there was no real view, was still a fairly pleasant place. We ordered breakfast one morning, which was huge and lasted us over lunch too! We also bought access to the next door hotel's pool, Le Meridien, which was a real luxury, 5 star experience, but you have to make the most of it as it is quite expensive? The residence's own pool was unfortunately in the shade and so didnt look as appealing, and quite small to fit everyone in if the apartments were all occupied.

There was a 24 hour reception, with a quite expensive room for buying essentials from. The staff were really helpful, friendly and dedicated, which was one of the main plus points of the experience. We got a lift back to airport from their service again, which was efficient and friendly. Ate out at a few of the Meridien's restaurants which were nice, aswell as a couple of podstrana's, and once in split. (bus ran back until around midnight which was good).

Overall, a really modern, clean apartment, in Podstrana which required a cheap bus (very regular) to split. The residence is basically a cheaper self catering option add-on to the 5 start Meridien, so to gain a full experience you really have to pay for and make use of their pool/beach, which is a little extra unfortunately.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phil_d0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

I stayed here 4 nights in september/october. I booked through hotels.com. Sadly i got a room in the cellar with close view to a hill with a stone floor garden that i never used. Probably if i had booked a room with higher price this would not be an issue. I payed 1600 kuna for 4 nights. If possible try to get a room much higher up with seaview. But then you are most likely to pay more. I could change from cellar room (so called garden) to first floor for an extra of 50 Euros per night. ! And be aware there are most likely mosquitos in your room, who leave their marks at night.

Anyhow, the rooms are all large. And if you are satisfied with your room the hotel is perfect. The service is also good. The best thing is that you can use the beach of Le Meridien, the cafe and bar, internet PCs and walk down the never ending pebbled beachline of Podstrana. If you fancy luxurious yachts theres dousins of them along the quay of Le Meridien just next to The Residence Hotel.

I found the location of this hotel to be perfect. On the beach belonging to fashionable five star Le Meridien, 10 min by car to mid-centre Split. 25 min by bus. Bus stop nearby, bus every 30 min and 12 kuna each way. For food you can by overpriced meals at the Meridien or fill your fridge from the grocery shop 10 min walk down the road towards Dubrovnik.

There is a big minus however. The bathroom tub is exactly of an height that risks ur backbones if you dont place the step towel on the floor before leaving the tub/shower. The batroom floor becomes slippery easily and i broke my back and it didnt get well before 2 weeks. So be careful when stepping out of the shower ! High risk of damaging youself ! .

If you have the chance drive or take the Livnobus to Livno in Bosnia. Its a 2 hours drive each way. And its well worth it. The area just after the Croatian - Bosnian border on the Bosnian side is one of the most beautiful places i have ever seen. Just after the border you come to a Scandinavian/ Alpine like landscape with a huge lake with the name Busko Jezero. It reminds very much of Norway and Switzerland. No one will bother you on the border control, neither Bosnian nor Croatian. If you have time you can travel further inlands towards Sarajevo. But for a day trip Livno and maybe Tomislavgrad (+1h) is enough. If you are polite in Croatia and Bosnia people will love you.

Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
1  Thank NorPak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

The residence are rather short stay apartments than a hotel but good alternative to the expensive hotel in the are.
The building is located in a small forrest near a big hotel (forgot the name) with marina, beach and casino. Using the beach is free (I think), using the car park isn't.
There is nothing bad to say about the residence, but there's also nothing outstanding. Solid average.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oeddel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

We arrived at The Residence knowing little of what to expect. As this development has not been long, we struggled to find any reviews from those who have stayed there in the past - but on the strength of what we saw - we booked - and were not disappointed!

We had a garden view apartment, which unlike the name would suggest, still had a very decent view if the sea. All facilities inside the apartment were as promised, clean and decor was of a very high standard.

Although there is a small pool area, access to the neighboring Le Meridien, Lav hotel is available for use of its pool area, spa, gym etc. which are excellent and 30% discount is provided if booked from The Residence to use this.

Staff are very helpful, attentive and are keen to recommend restaurants, travel in the area.

Podstrana is quiet, so for shopping and a busier nightlife, visiting Split is ideal.

We had a fantastic time and I had to write a review (having never done so before) purely because I couldn't find one when I booked to go there!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joshua2626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2010

The Residence Hotel is located within the 5 star resort of Le Meridian in Podstrana.The accommodation we stayed in was a suite and of an excellent standard with a large room, massive bed, plasma TV, bath with overhead shower and air conditioning.The room was almost brand new and we had a discounted rate of around £40 per night booked through hotels.com.
We couldn't fault the room in any way and was an absolute bargain. the location however is within a 5 star complex and if you wanted to use the complex in any way there was an extra charge. for example we asked if we were allowed to use the swimming pool and were politely informed that our hotel had an agreed discounted rate with the meridian of £22.50 per person per day!!! which meant we would be paying more to use the pool than we were paying to stay in the hotel. We felt as though we were trapped by the hotel and it was very much a case of you having to pay for anything and everything extra.
Our flight was leaving at 8.30 pm and we asked if we could have a later check out than 10 am and were told that we would need to pay 35 euro for this privilege. when i asked if we could leave our bags and only request a shower later we were told that there were no rooms available. When i informed the receptionist this was not true because if i paid the 35 euro i could have a room she just shrugged her soldiers.
The ladies on the reception are very charming and helpful so i wouldn't criticize them for only doing their job but i felt that there was a fee for everything we requested no matter how small.
Outside of the hotel the surroundings of the Meridian are very plush but in a 'you can look but you better not touch sort of way'. The Marina also has some of the most luxurious yachts we have ever seen but apart from that there really is very little going on in and around the hotel by means of restaurants and nightlife.
there is a good local bus service ' number 60' that runs every half and hour to and from the center of split from just outside the hotel which costs 12 lav per person and runs until midnight.
All in all if you want a cracking room with all mod cons but aren't that bothered about either being fleeced for extras or staying in the middle of nowhere then the residence will tick all the boxes.
Just as a guide we traveled twice daily on the bus to and from the center of split and if i was to return i would pay the extra to stay in the city and save the hassle but everyone to their own.
Hope this is of some help to you all.
David and Perla.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zipstobhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Podstrana
0.3 mi away
Hotel Split
Hotel Split
#2 of 8 in Podstrana
270 reviews
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Split
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#3 of 8 in Podstrana
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel Park
Hotel Park
#11 of 57 in Split
252 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel Damianii
Hotel Damianii
#3 of 7 in Omis
124 reviews
4.2 mi away
Dioklecijan Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence

Address: Grljevachka 2b, Podstrana 21311, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Podstrana
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 87 Specialty Lodging in Podstrana
Price Range: $63 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence reveals a new dimension of luxury in Podstrana, Croatia. Only 8 km south of Split, our brand new suites and apartments offer impressive premium features and modern interior designs creating a perfect living atmosphere. Located on the Dalmatian coast, the most beautiful riviera of the Croatian Mediterranean, and nestled in the five-star hotel resort, Le Meridien Lav, providing numerous facilities you can enjoy. The Residence serves as the perfect home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence Hotel Podstrana
The Residence Croatia/Podstrana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing