We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always comforting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Meldrum Bay Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Meldrum Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 1, 2013

enjoy meldrum bay inn, my husband and i have been going to meldrum bay for over thirty years.
we had als parents anniversary here , with family .
this year we were there for a wedding on the island in meldrum bay the van every farm elizabeth vanevery married ory menzies, amazing wedding the island people helped in every way. and of course wouldnt have missed the oppurtunity to spend time at the inn.
so much to do, for i bike to the light house about 16 klms one way then swim in the water , spend time identifying the wild flowers along the road side, took pictures of the deer in the feilds , now kayaking is my new challenge,take time to enjoy this area , you will want to come back time after time this completes my year.the camerons

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steepcameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 78 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

My humblest apologies for not reviewing last year after our visit; and it was so memorable! My husband took me here for my birthday and we absolutely loved it. The staff were warm and inviting and made us feel like we were VIPs.
I usually ask for dressing on the side for my salads but the owner assured me the dressing would be light and wouldn't overwhelm, She was so right; the caesar salad was one of the best I've ever had.
We both had the whitefish; OMG, it was out of this world. A huge fillet, very lightly pan-fried, I ate the whole thing.
We shared a dessert; cheesecake with a home made fruit and liqueur topping.
Thank you so much for an incredible meal and we'd love to visit again.
We did not stay overnight (we had a cottage nearby) so can't comment on the rooms.

Room Tip: Try the whitefish and the dessert.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank curlygayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirin G, Owner at The Meldrum Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Thank you for sharing your special day with us. We wish you great years ahead. Happy Birthday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My travel companion and I spent a wonderful night at this fine old Victorian Inn in Meldrum Bay. Our Host greeted us when we arrived and showed us to our room. The room is decorated in the very old style. It is a spotlessly clean hotel and the room was very comfortable. The bathrooms are "down the hall" and there are two of them. Very clean and modern. The food was a wonderful experience. One of the best meals we have ever had and the very best on the Island for sure. The choice of wine was also excellent. We will return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KitchenerJimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirin G, Owner at The Meldrum Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Jim, We have been blessed having wonderful guest like you. We truly enjoyed your company and look forward having more chances to be your host. Thank you for sharing your experience.
Regards, Shirin & Bob Grover

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We recently had the pleasure of staying at the Inn for a couple of days. The whole atmosphere is completely relaxing and unique. The room was very comfortable and the decor was perfect. We dined at the Inn both evenings and had fantastic meals all served and prepared by our wonderful hosts, Shirin and Bob. The breakfast Shirin served us each morning was plentiful and the fresh fruit bowl was delicious! I would highly recommend staying here as a perfect place to unwind and in my case reconect with my spouse leaving the hectic world behind.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room #1 which looked out over the water and the upper deck which was perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirin G, Owner at The Meldrum Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Dear Brenda,
It was a great joy being your host. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 days there and just returned home today. We were warmly welcomed at the door by the owner Shirin. It was the most relaxing and enjoyable stay we have had in a long time. This place is cozy and spotlessly clean. The beds were perfect in comfort. The food was outstanding in taste, quantity and presentation. Sitting on the porch with a glass of wine and looking out over the North Channel and Meldrum Bay will be an expeirence you will not forget. Shirin and her husband Bob are wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cruiser003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirin G, Owner at The Meldrum Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

It was a great pleasure being your host and we look forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My fiancée had a simply wonderful stay here, the place is flawless and tastefully decorated with antiques the inn keepers have locally sourced as well as from all over the world.

The room was very comfortable, and spacious. The renovations the owners have made were well executed with thoughtful upgrades. Make it a point to check out the marina building as well.

The poppy seed bread is great for breakfast, but the whitefish for dinner is not to be missed. Don’t stay indoors the whole time; the inn is situated in a very beautiful corner of the world.

Room Tip: Just say you saw the reviews on Trip Advisor ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justinkungpow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

My girlfriend and I had a lovely weekend here. We enjoyed the outdoors and had a great time hiking and biking (we didn't expect to have such lovely weather so the hosts were kind enough to lend us their bicycles). It's a great place to get away from it all, while still having the comforts of home. The hosts were very welcoming, the food was excellent and the views were spectacular. We will be recommending this spot and will be returning every year for sure. Thank you Shirin and Bob.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank SilveradoZ71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meldrum Bay
57.6 mi away
Manitoulin Hotel & Conference Centre
47.4 mi away
Manitoulin Inn
Manitoulin Inn
#1 of 1 in Mindemoya
64 reviews
64 mi away
My Friends Inn Manitoulin
My Friends Inn Manitoulin
#1 of 2 in Manitowaning
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.2 mi away
Evergreen Resort
Evergreen Resort
#1 of 3 in Gore Bay
37 reviews
52.3 mi away
Red Lodge Resort
Red Lodge Resort
#1 of 34 in Manitoulin Island
72 reviews
57.4 mi away
The Hawberry Motel
The Hawberry Motel
#5 of 7 in Little Current
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meldrum Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meldrum Bay Inn

Address: 25959 540 Hwy, Meldrum Bay, Ontario P0P 1R0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Manitoulin Island > Meldrum Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Meldrum Bay
Price Range: $130 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Meldrum Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Meldrum Bay Inn was build in 1870's and is located on the most western tip of Manitoulin Island it offers you all the amenities while you can step back in time & enjoy the wonder of nature. We offer a fully-licensed dining room, parlor and verandah where you can share the ambience of a tiny maritime hamlet with our resident hummingbirds and enjoy fine cuisine on a panoramic bay view of North Channel. Visit us at the end of the rainbow in one of those rare and beautiful Ontario Villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Meldrum Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meldrum Bay Inn Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing