We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B awesome hostess”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Riverton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverton Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Riverton B&B and Inns
Invercargill, New Zealand
1 review
“Great B&B awesome hostess”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Gay was an amazing hostess, room was comfortable, spotlessly clean, warm and an amazing bed there lots of extra special touches around that I wouldn't have thought of but were a great surprise. Breakfast was awesome I have an unusual egg request and she delivered perfectly. Every need tendered to n we were made to feel welcome at all times. Just like the sign on the door says enter as strangers leave as friends, can't wait to go back

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _k8tpi_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4Rs, Owner at Riverton Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Wow what a wonderful weekend. It was just like having all my family at home. You two are such a neat couple, do hope you have many years together.
Our weather continues to be so good for the Winter down here on the coast, and lots of snow not far away near Queenstown for the skiing.
I will bring your Chocolate into town one day real soon. Please continue to love and be loved.
Take good care of each other, lots of love
Gay @ Riverton B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
61
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

It was a real pleasure to stay at this b&b. Spacious and comfortable accommodation with many delightful 'extra' touches including views over the estuary. Gay made us feel welcome from the start and cooked a lovely and more than ample breakfast in the morning. We would definitely recommend this b&b for anyone travelling in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asis29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4Rs, Owner at Riverton Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
How lovely to hear from you again. So pleased you enjoyed your time here, as much as I enjoyed having you both to stay. I know our Country is so like your own, so no wonder you enjoyed it. Hope the weather was good for you for the rest of your time, and I am sure you will come back again, after all we are kindred spirits in so many ways. It has been a busy season with so many guests from so many Countries, it has been such fun learning, more about the people who live in them. Take good care or each other, and look forward to your next visit.
Gay @ Riverton Bed and Breakfast 4R's (Relaxing River Reflections @ Riverton)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

We were lucky enough to book this B&B and felt part of the family after our two night stay. Gay is a perfect hostess who looks after your every need. Gay's cooking is amongst the best we have sampled during our five week stay in New Zealand. The bedrooms are comfortable and cozy. We know we will be back in the future.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GapYearTraveller63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4Rs, Owner at Riverton Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
What a brilliant trip you are having, and how smart are you to send a review from your phone, one day I will learn to do it also!! It was such a privilege to have you to stay, and for you to enjoy it all so much, is so good. Our weather doesn't always help with some of the options one has, but there are always so many alternatives. Life in the fast lane at Riverton is quieting down a little, so a bit more time to do the gardens etc. Today I sit and gaze out at the reflections, they are amazing, which reminds me why we love living in this unspoilt area of our wonderful Country. I am sure you will come again, and I am sure we will meet again. Stay well and travel safely. Regards Gay @ Riverton Bed and Breakfast 4 R's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Gay, the owner of the Riverton B&B, is amongst the elite of those well recognised New Zealand gracious and generous B&B hosts. The accommodation and food are excellent and Gay has lots of stories and is very entertaining. Her recommendation for dinner, and organised transport to and from, was terrific. We arrived as guests, but think we left as friends and hope to return.

Riverton is a delightful spot, not on the traditional international tourist route, but well worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clyde90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4Rs, Owner at Riverton Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
A very warm welcome to you both and very grateful thanks for all the lovely things you say about me, the truth is, it is so easy to be happy with amazing people like you two. It truly warms ones heart, to have such instant camaraderie, and so much fun. It was a wonderful evening and makes us realise how lucky we are to have people from all over the world to stay in our humble home, which seems to make people happy, especially the comfy bed, and then the fun starts again at Breakfast, (which sometimes comes quite quickly) Do continue to love and laugh it guarantees longevity. I do hope that one day we will meet again, when you come to the "Riviera of the South"!! Gay @ Riverton Bed and Breakfast 4R's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balclutha, nz
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We found Gay's Riverton B&B in 2011 and returned there in 2013. Gay, the owner, is charming, very helpful and a fine chef (ask for her breakfast eggs with her secret sauce!). She knows the area and makes every effort to make your stay memorable. Gay, we will be back! Thanks so much, Annie and Mike

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank picklesBalclutha_Nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4Rs, Owner at Riverton Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
It was such a lovely surprise to have you both visit us again, you are such an interesting couple and make me feel alive, I do hope the travels to this wonderful country of ours never come to an end, just think, soon you will be able to bring the grandchildren with you!! Our summer has at last begun with very high temperatures, so our lovely view is enhanced with the sunshine. Recently we have had lots of dolphins swimming up the river at full tide, and when they return as the tide changes, it is such fun to watch the children of the village jumping off the bridge and swimming with them, how wonderful is nature.
You take good care of each other, and come back soon, to Riverton Bed and Breakfast 4R's. Archie also sends his love. Best wishes to you and yours Gay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

Gay is a very friendly and helpful person to her guests. She is also a splendid cook and raconteur. If you ever visit this lovely area of South Island, please look her up, you will not be disappointed. Gay:very many thanks for a wonderful and memorable stay!

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank rod m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4Rs, Owner at Riverton Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Hi Rod so good to hear from you, F & D are still here, and we were wondering where you were/are? It was so good having you to stay and to see you doing so many interesting trips, good on you! It has been relatively quiet since you left, but the weather has just continued to be amazing after the roth of the early summer storms, time for you to return!!
It was so amazing talking to you and hearing all your travels, just keep on going around the world.
Look forward to your next visit, thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. Take care and travel safely. Kindest regards from Gay and Arch @ Riverton Bed and Breakfast 4R's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Gay welcomed us on arrival and from that moment could not have been more helpful, friendly or indeed entertaining.
The room was comfortable and clean. The breakfast very good. If you are visiting Riverton stay here, a real home from home.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidswiss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4Rs, Owner at Riverton Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Greetings from Riverton. Well you have had my mind racing today with your choice of title for your review, I have pondered all day wondering which was the "Old Fashion bit" I am hoping that it was my welcome to you both and during your stay, as I so love people I sometimes get carried away!!! It was such fun having you to stay and hearing all your travel plans, living in two Countries must eventually get very tiring, but you are such interesting people, and I guess this is why. It was a privilege to have you both staying and to see how much you enjoyed our lovely area in the 2nd Oldest town in New Zealand, was so good.
Do hope you might visit our shores again sometime. Thank you for sharing the time with us.
Gay and Arch @ Riverton Bed and Breakfast 4 R's (relaxing river reflections @ riverton)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riverton Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverton Bed and Breakfast

Property: Riverton Bed and Breakfast
Address: 13B Shrewsbury Street | Southland, Riverton 9822, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Riverton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Riverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Base yourself in Riverton, and explore the wonderful untouched area, walk, bike, jog, swim in the sea, visit Stewart Island, go fishing, visit Te Anau for the day, climb the Hump Track, it's all here, and it's not too crowded. - Relaxing River Reflections at Riverton. There are no strangers at our place, only friends we haven't met. At our home you have the choice of accommodation. We recently bought this property and spent many weeks redesigning the house, to give guests their own space, and separate wing. There are two en-suite rooms to choose from and everything is new, with lots of thought put into ensuring your comfort. Each room offers peace and quiet and superb views to either the river or the sea with magical sunrises and sunsets. Your hosts Gay and Arch Maley have been operating B&Bs and looking after the comfort of guests for OVER 22 years. The breakfast is to "Live For," giving many choices of home made offerings which can be eaten alfresco, or in the comfort of the dining room, still with wonderful views. Receive a FREE BOTTLE OF N.Z WINE when you come to stay with us. We also provide FREE WI-FI to all our guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing