We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely homely B & B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Riverton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverton Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Riverton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Lovely homely B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is a lovely, homely B & B and Gay and Arch are delightful hosts . Our room was large, comfortable and had everything provided that you could possibly think of, from earplugs to sweeties, home made biscuits to playing cards. Best of all a complementary bottle of wine!! And free wi-fi is a definite bonus.
Gay cooked the best breakfast that we have had in New Zealand over the last five weeks, complete with home made bread and preserves - Fantastic, we didn't need to eat for the rest of the day! We would definitely come back again if we could.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheila c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4Rs, Owner at Riverton Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
I am so sorry this reply has taken so long, my spam folder took over "Trip Advisor", how dare it!!! Luckily I found it, and am so happy that you were both happy, it was such a fun time together albeit rather short, but when one is in a hurry, that is what happens, however I am sure you will have packed in a lot of info on New Zealand into your diary, which will probably make you want to return again I am sure, and I can only hope we are on your list.
We do have so many return guests, it makes us feel very proud, and humble, but the joy we have with our guests is so amazing. You take care you two, and just keep on keeping on.
Our kindest thoughts from Riverton Bed and Breakfast (4R's) Gay and Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
61
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

We normally don't "do" B&B's, but we liked Riverton so much and wanted to spent a night there, so we opted for a B&B, since there is not much choice in Motels or Hotels.
Well, are we glad we choose 4 R's B&B, that stands for Relaxing River Reflections @ Riverton!, the room was outstanding with super king size bed, lounge and modern bathroom, with everything you might need!
There was a bottle of wine in fridge, nibbles, chocolates and home baked biscuits.
And the Breakfast was the highland, lots of choices of home cooked food, eaten with lovely views of the surroundings and sea.
The hosts were fantastic, invited us for drinks and nibbles in the evening, while we still had the privacy of our rooms to go back to, with flat screen TV.
We definitely will be back, and highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: the sea view room has the morning sun, you can watch it rise over the sea from your bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jana50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4Rs, Owner at Riverton Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
What a surprise to see your very cute car come up our drive way, and what a delight to have you both to stay. So good to hear about other nationalities and your experiences, so wonderful to meet you both. Do hope your trip to Australia goes well for you, it will certainly make you appreciate NZ when you get back I am sure. We do look forward to your next visit when maybe we can give you another amazing sun rise. You still have lots of walks to do here yet also.
Take car of each other, in that strange country!! Kindest regards Gay and Arch @Riverton 4r's B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

Thank you Gay and Arch for yet another wonderful stay at your Bed and Breakfast!- We have been coming to Riverton for a few years now for work, and this is definately the best we have had. The Hosts, the rooms and the breakfast are all 5 star, - We will definately be back - Thank you again from the team at Gallop South

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4Rs, Owner at Riverton Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
How great it is that you are enjoying your stays at "our" place, having you come so regularly is so comforting. We are so happy to have you, and to have met most of the team now, makes it so much more interesting. It's great that we all agree on rugby results, and even better when we win. It was also great you were able to get those fab oysters, such a specialty in our area and so sort after. The Tui's continue to entertain us, the "family" seems to be growing daily, I guess the closeness of our table is an added attraction for all our guests as well.
Look forward to seeing you very soon again. Kindest regards to you all, Gay and Arch
@ Riverton 4R's B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

Our 2 nights with Gay and Arch were perfect. It was our first time in a B&B so weren't sure what to expect. From the moment we arrived we were treated like family and spoiled rotten. Nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel very welcome. We stayed in the sea view room with a nice lounge and lovely new bathroom with everything you would want re supplies. The bed was huge and uber comfy. Gay provided yummy wee treats in the room. Then there was breakfast - oh my god - it matched a 5 star hotel - fantastic choice and yummy - made all the better by beautiful Bellbirds and Tui's feeding just meters away. We were genuinely sorry to say goodbye when we left.

Room Tip: The sea view room has lovely rural views and a glimpse of the sea. The other room gets the afternoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helrus51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4Rs, Owner at Riverton Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
What great fun we had, and how much to learn of each other, it is so stimulating having such interesting people to stay and also who appreciate so much of our area. Your travels are so far and varied but you seemed to enjoy just as much in Riverton as you do around the world.
You just keep on keeping on and remember there is always something to do in Riverton, even if it is only to watch the sun go down, and then it's time to go dining wow, what a life eh.
Stay well my friends. Gay and Arch @ Riverton 4R's B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coromandel, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

Relaxing, Reflecting, River views @ Riverton. A darling little township, resting on the Jacobs River Estuary has a few surprises in store for a stopover. The Bed & Breakfast we chose was the 4 R's, situated up off the main road, so we had wonderful views of the harbour and the night lights from the balcony where we sat and drank a glass of wine and watched the afternoon sun go down. Our room was spacious, warm and welcoming. A very comfy bed and the room lacked for nothing, there was even a very thoughtful lolly jar, much to the delight of my dizzy blonde. Gay is a most welcoming and engaging hostess, with personality plus, made us feel like part of the family. We shared an impromptu supper with her and her husband., and in the morning we had a most sumptous breakfast I have ever had, you name it is was there, local, fresh and plenty to choose from, incredibly satisfying. We left at our leisure, feeling we had made two new friends.
Thank you Gay!

Room Tip: If you want to see the sunrise choose the left hand room or if you want to see the sunset choose the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank topsy90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4Rs, Owner at Riverton Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Wow, there are people in life, I am sure we are destined to meet, and you two were surely them.
How easy it is to host kind, and considerate guests. You, made your stay so enjoyable, it is a delight to have you now in our "life experience," Thank You. There was so much we could talk about, but the sad part was, your stay was tooooo short, but at least now you Aucklanders are finding that life in the south is pretty good, there are lots of you coming down here to visit. We now know how you live up there as well, but I guess no traffic lights, no crowds, no bright lights, but great restaurants, fabulous Museum, and lots of relaxation and NO stress, must be an amazing experience We are looking forward to your return visit, it will be such fun to have another evening together. Take care of each other, and keep on smiling.
Regards
Gay and Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

Gay & Arch really looked after us well. Everything laid on & much more! Including a lovely box of chocs & red roses for us both on Valentine's Day! Wine, home-made biscuits & chocs & licorice not to mention also EVERYTHING that was supplied in the bathroom! Gay organised a trip for 6 of us to the restaurant & we also felt very much at home with the drinks & nibbles supplied - not to forget the beautiful breakfasts-had to take a photo of the plate! Came home late one night & we were also invited to their dinner table.
Arch left the talking to Gay but when he did say something he was very amusing.
Thankyou for also giving us all the info that we needed-your museum is fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quita1519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4Rs, Owner at Riverton Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
How wonderful those three days were, they just flew by so quickly, and wow, did you two take every advantage you could of our little village and it's surrounds. I really think you may have been more places around here than some of the locals. It was also great that you took yourselves off to Manapouri and Te Anau for the day, and packed in even more excitement, I almost got tired watching you, and still you came home full of stories and laughter, and ready to go the next day, phew...... the other two guests from the UK enjoyed your company also, so it was just like a party of friends, how good is that.
Do hope you come South again, we need people like you down here to shake us up, and show us how to "smell the flowers" Thanks for choosing to stay with us. Loads of love from me and the silent Arch at Riverton Bed and Breakfast 4 R's B&B. (so pleased you got to see our wonderful reflections) Gay, (still talking!!! whats new)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponsonby, Auckland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

Recently I was planning a trip to Riverton and as soon as I saw Gay & Arch had a B&B there, I knew there was no where else to stay. I had stayed at a place they had in the Catlins years ago and loved it. When I rang Gay, she booked a table for us for lunch at Mrs Clarkes cafe and for dinner at the Pavilion. Both were great.
We were welcomed with a cup of tea, chat and cake, had a glorious sleep. The other guests they had staying were American and have stayed with them many times over the years, that says something about their hospitality.
After dinner we all came back for a drink and hogminay cake which was a first for me and delicious.
The B&B is halfway between the Rocks and the wee township and at breakfast I watched sheep in the paddock next door. I don't think I have ever seen a bathroom with so much supplied in it. We will be back as Riverton is such a special place and two days was not enough.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreatPonsTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4Rs, Owner at Riverton Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 19, 2012
Thank you Sasha from Ponsonby, for someone as experienced as you two are, I feel very humbled at your kind review, Thank You. We enjoyed the wonderful chance of reuniting after so many years, and to have two such intelligent couples at the same time, was extremely stimulating. The best part was, how you all enveloped our area, how you all got out and explored what we have to offer, in this part of the country. We will look forward to a return visit from you, so maybe we need more concerts near-by to bring you Aucklanders down to see how we really live down here.
Take care of each other, and don't work too hard. Take time to smell the flowers.
Regards Gay and Arch at 4 R's Riverton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riverton
17.5 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
19.0 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
24.6 mi away
Lands End Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Bushy Point Fernbirds Bed and Breakfast
22.2 mi away
Last Light Lodge
Last Light Lodge
#1 of 2 in Tuatapere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverton Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverton Bed and Breakfast

Property: Riverton Bed and Breakfast
Address: 13B Shrewsbury Street | Southland, Riverton 9822, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Riverton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Riverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Base yourself in Riverton, and explore the wonderful untouched area, walk, bike, jog, swim in the sea, visit Stewart Island, go fishing, visit Te Anau for the day, climb the Hump Track, it's all here, and it's not too crowded. - Relaxing River Reflections at Riverton. There are no strangers at our place, only friends we haven't met. At our home you have the choice of accommodation. We recently bought this property and spent many weeks redesigning the house, to give guests their own space, and separate wing. There are two en-suite rooms to choose from and everything is new, with lots of thought put into ensuring your comfort. Each room offers peace and quiet and superb views to either the river or the sea with magical sunrises and sunsets. Your hosts Gay and Arch Maley have been operating B&Bs and looking after the comfort of guests for OVER 22 years. The breakfast is to "Live For," giving many choices of home made offerings which can be eaten alfresco, or in the comfort of the dining room, still with wonderful views. Receive a FREE BOTTLE OF N.Z WINE when you come to stay with us. We also provide FREE WI-FI to all our guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing