We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“can a B&B get any better??”

The Old Chapel House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Mabyn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Chapel House
Ranked #3 of 3 St. Mabyn B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Des & Ginny were superb hosts for our recent stay. Breakfasts are amazing and you are made to feel like it is your home away from home the minute you walk in. The attention to detail and care is superb... for example we asked for banana in porridge one day, the next day it is on the table / wine glasses appeared in our room when they noticed we had supped some the night before. Very clean and airy room and bathroom with fresh warm towels each day. We had the top floor bedroom which had a lovely sitting area for a little more comfort and great views. The stained glass and main living room is stunning.
They even let us go walking with Tamar the friendly retriever one day. They are full of local recommendations for pubs, walks, places of interest and also give top tips as to how to avoid tourist hassles such as parking. They even dropped us to the pub one night so my other half could drink! It is within striking distance of just about anywhere down south, and despite the british summer doing its best to dampen spirits, it was a marvellous break. They truely have got the balance exactly right between being truly professional and warm and friendly.

Room Tip: The top floor room has a lovely extra seating area and sofa for late night TV!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank payoungjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 61 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed just one night at this lovely b&b I had booked it on-line just from reading the reviews and it was so lovely, We stayed in room one and it was amazing, beautifully furnished and very spacious, the bed so comfy and the breakfast amazing .Des and Ginny were so friendly and helpful, in fact Ginny offered to drive us to the neighbouring villlage pub where we had supper and collected us when we called what a fantastic and kind woman.We will return and will recommend to friends

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed at the old chapel house for 3 nights and wished we could have stayed longer. Our room was absolutely gorgeous and Ginny and Des were the most amazing hosts. Ginny cooks an awesome breakfast and is full of fabulous tips about what to do in Cornwall and where to eat. We were away for 8 weeks in total and can honestly say that the old chapel house was the best B & B we stayed in. When we left, we felt like we were leaving friends. We would not hesitate to go again!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Stayed two nights here. A lovely welcome from Des when we arrived. We loved Ginny, she was so down to earth and gave us good advice of what to visit. We felt we had known her for years. Everything was perfect with the accommodation. Easy to find. Definitely return. Also loved their dog and beautiful cat. I am sure Nelson is now sitting on someone else's lap. We travelled all around Cornwall making this our base. We travelled to Port Isaac (Doc Martin country) and then went south to Falmouth. Lyme Regis was one of our favourite villages. Ginny and Des were exceptional hosts - have no hesitation recommending this B & B.

Room Tip: All rooms excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Ginny and Des are the ultimate B&B hosts - incredibly thoughtful, fantastic chefs and easy-going people.

The breakfasts were amazing, as was the local knowledge and setting of the Old Chapel.

We will be back! (and in the interim, recommending it to all our friends).

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Ginny and Des, who run this marvelous B&B, should be awarded with a trophy for Cornwalls most wonderful hosts! We couldn't have felt more at home and as a couple, you won't find a lovelier pair than these two. We stayed in room 2, which was very comfortable and equipped with everything we could need on our stay. The breakfast was fantastic, so good in fact, you'd find yourself looking forward to the next mornings breakfast, when you could experience it all over again! The view from the conservatory takes in a lovely small country garden and you can watch a variety of birds feed from the bird tables whilst dining. As animal owners ourselves, we were delighted to find a very loving cat and dog were part of the bargain at The Old Chapel House and spent some quality time relaxing in the lounge and conservatory with them as we miss our own pets when away on holiday. The B&B is ideally situated for exploring both North and South coastlines, which we filled our days doing. At least 4 places we visited were suggested by Des and Ginny who know the area so well and we are very grateful to them, as we discovered some real gems. We will most definitely be staying with Des and Ginny again (I've developed an addiction to the gorgeous biscuits Ginny leaves in the room!) and with all these great reviews, I hope we'll get a room.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kittenkat808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Have just returned after a weeks stay at this lovely B&B. We stayed in room one a fantastic room very comfortable and well equipped. Our hosts Ginny and Des made us feel very much at home. The breakfasts were delicious,and nothing was too much trouble for our lovely hosts What a find!! Location wise it was ideal for touring this part of North Cornwall

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ruthjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Old Chapel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Chapel House

Address: Old Chapel House Chapel Lane, St. Mabyn, Bodmin PL30 3BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bodmin > St. Mabyn
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in St. Mabyn
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Chapel House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Chapel House has a real wow factor, and is situated on the edge of one of North Cornwall's most popular villages, St. Mabyn. Surrounded by beautiful countryside and panoramic views; there is easy access to the coast, moorland, golf courses and country pubs and restaurants. Padstow is just 11 miles away. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing