We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than the others---but with quirks”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barrhead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Barrhead Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Barrhead B&B and Inns
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Better than the others---but with quirks”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

There isn't much to choose from in Barrhead but this is the best (and newest) of 3. Still, the breakfast is as basic as you'll ever see anywhere, coffee, cereal and toast is about it. Internet is fast (12MBPS) but my room lacked a proper ordinary desk . A small coffee table that was too low had 2 chairs, a tiny higher table had none, it just seemed a very odd arrangement. You don't get soap, it's those liquid soap dispensors instead. The one in the shower was on the wall under the shower head, an impractical location once you actually use it. When you enter your room it will be dark, and to get power turned on you insert your room card into a holder by the door--except it is dark and you'll wonder why the darn lights don't come on. All in all, it is a new place that missed a lot of opportunities by somebody simply not thinking about what makes a very nice hotel instead of just being better than the others. And in Barrhead the bar isn't set very high to start with.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a desk and chairs, see if they actually exist.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank calgaryal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    6
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
10
3
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

This is not a bed and breakfast but a hotel. The staff were wonderful! The owner of this Hotel should be glad to have them because they make up for his shortfalls. I wanted a king bed so had to rent suite at an overpriced $200/night. Desk under tv was missing. Dead fridge and missing towels replaced immediately. Apparently not enough towels on stand by for rooms. Have to launder. Internet very poor. The staff keeps the place very clean and their friendliness goes a long way. The owner needs to put a little more time and investment into this property. Thanks to the staff!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Countrygal57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Hotel service is terrible. Breakfast was stale cereal and stale, moldy bread. Wi fi was sporadic at best. Pillows are tiny and flat. Left our room at 9 am, returned at 5, room still not cleaned. 2 towels provided in bathroom, Asked for a wake up call, was told to use alarm clock (which doesn't work). Will never stay here again. Definitely wouldn't recommend to anyone

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Happytravels12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-TheBarrhead, General Manager at The Barrhead Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Customer,

I am very sorry to hear that you had such a bad experience with us. I can honestly say that we pride ourselves in customer service and make a point of addressing any issues that are brought to our attention during and after someone's stay. We did have some turnover with our employees at the time and so it is possible that our staff on hand did not handle the situation correctly. I can assure you that since February we have brought on new employees who share our business values and as always we endeavour to improve our service on a daily basis. Again I do apologize for your bad experience but I can assure you that this is an isolated case and and my regular customers who have been coming back for over 2 years now can attest to this. If you do come back through Barrhead please do come back and let us prove that we value our customers and aim to give them a great experience at our property.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2011

I stayed with colleagues on a recent trip to Barrhead. It was nicely decorated and the very comfortable. I would definately recommend it as great value.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank EmrysDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-TheBarrhead, General Manager at The Barrhead Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Emyrs Daniel,

Thank you for your kind feedback and we hope to see you back again if you are passing through Barrhead.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barrhead
23.4 mi away
Ramada Westlock
Ramada Westlock
#1 of 4 in Westlock
364 reviews
22.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 4 in Westlock
79 reviews
22.0 mi away
Southview Motel
Southview Motel
#4 of 4 in Westlock
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barrhead Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barrhead Inn & Suites

Property: The Barrhead Inn & Suites
Address: 5905 - 49 Street | Box 4733, Barrhead, Alberta T7N 1A6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Barrhead
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Barrhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern & Contemporary lookUltra Modern Lobby & Reception Continental Breakfast High speed internet Wi-Fi throughout the building Flat screen televisions throughout Business Centre Conference Room with 47” screen & AV facilities Handicapped washroom & rooms with accessibility Same day dry cleaning & in- house laundry 47 fully furnished modern rooms & suites 2 Executive suites with Jacuzzi ensuite ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Barrhead Inn & Suites Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing