We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below average not much of a choice ”

Ristorante Villa Aprile
Reserve a Table
2
Tue, 9/17
8:00 PM
Ranked #91 of 133 Restaurants in Ercolano
Restaurant details
Reviewed July 18, 2017 via mobile

We visited this "restaurant " for lunch as part of a group. We consider this place to below average in every respect. There is no view nor any atmosphere to cover any deficiencies. The food was not something I would like to taste again.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank 586constantinosp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (23)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 23 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2017

We stayd at hotel Miglio d'Oro and had dinner at Villa Aprile. The restaurant is marketing big dinner galas and weddings but was not at least capable to serve or have contact with individual guests. At our dinner terrace there were mainly hotel guests and the service was poor, no presentation of the menu or wines. The waiter was almost unpolite and was just hurrying us to order. The dishes were mediocre.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank Tuulamarja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2017 via mobile

Despite seven out of eight seated at the table having ordered the same starter, it took them three rounds of serving over a period of between five and ten minutes before the first seven had received their starter. The eighth person received her starter a few minutes after that. The starters were decent, but not great.

Three different main courses were ordered: veal steak with potatoes, cod with potatoes and a vegetarian alternative. The potatoes somehow were both soggy and dry at the same time, the "steak" was a thin slice of stringy meat, and the fish was dry. The vegetarian alternative was not vegetarian at all, and was basically the starter without eggplant and with pork. After some complaints, the "vegetarian" dishes were returned, and came back some time later without the pork. The fish didn't arrive until the rest of us had finished eating.

We then waited a long while for dessert, which despite being the best out of the three courses was not worth the wait.

The wait-staff was not easy to communicate with, not able to speak much English beyond the few words required to accept payment for overpriced drinks. Overall a terrible experience for all the guests.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank audunskj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2016

We really struggled to find anything that looked a good place to eat in Ercolano. We came across this hotel restaurant by chance, as we wandered around the town and actually went in to the hotel to see if they could recommend somewhere. We were warmly welcomed and told we could eat as non residents, and were escorted through to a lovely courtyard surrounded by a lovely hotel garden. All good so far...but I'd say the food was good to average and the service pretty average. Hence the 3 stars given rather than 4. But in a town with few options I think this place is worth checking out for dinner if you're in the area (though you should try "new york new york" in a neighbouring town for an authentic Italian experience.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2016 via mobile

We went to this restaurant as we were staying in the hotel. On the night there was a nice sea breeze coming in and we were seated outside however it didn't appear that the staff were well prepared on how to manage the umbrellas or how to set up. If it wasn't so entertaining watching them struggle with service and wind we probably would of rated it 1 star. The waitress seems like the only competent person and working hard. No barman and no English speaking wait staff makes for slow service and mid-understanding. Literally have to chase staff, watched others take 30 mins just to be acknowledged. We had to ask 4 times for our drinks and they forgot to bring out starter but then didn't understand what the issue was, needed to point out to scratch from bill. 1 hour to get desert menu after asking every staff member...wouldn't of bothered but we were being entertained by "Manuel" and his colleagues and other "patrons" getting frustrated and angry. Umbrellas going over, glassware smashing and so on. Probably avoid this place unless you have a good sense of humour and dose of patience....oh yeah, food was ok but very small servings. We shouldn't of waited for desert!!!

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank thomasdJ637KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Villa Aprile also viewed

Ercolano, Province of Naples
Ercolano, Province of Naples
 
Ercolano, Province of Naples
 
Ercolano, Province of Naples
 

Been to Ristorante Villa Aprile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing