We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some TLC needed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Miglio D'Oro Park Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ercolano
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I agree with the previous reviewer . . this otherwise very nice hotel in a good location for the excavation site is in need of a good energetic manager.

The restaurants were open in the second week in March, and the meals were good, but the service was sooooo slow. On one evening we waited over an hour for the first course. Subsequent meals were more efficiently delivered.

Breakfast is Ok, but soon ran out of fresh fruit and scrambled eggs.

There is a PC for use, but that is even slower than restaurant service.

There are extensive garden, but they, too, need some work. Sad to see a place that almost has it all and not reach its potential.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the gardens are quiet. If you walk through the gardens at the rear and out of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malaita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (400)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 400 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights in February before driving to the Molise district of Italy where we had an apartment booked. I booked via the Amex travel service. My choice was based on convenience for the Herculaneum excavations and on the description of the property.

This hotel is ideally situated for anyone wishing to visit the excavations. The description of the property as given on their website left much to be desired, however. I did not expect the outdoor swimming pool to be in use in February but the website did not mention that in February none of the 3 restaurants nor the bar would be open and neither would there be any room service. This meant we had no choice but to venture into the town in search of an evening meal on both nights we were staying. Fortunately we found a fantastic ristorante/pizzeria, "La Terra d'Ecole", on which I will write a separate review, but had we not done so we would have been most unhappy. Yes, there was a mini-bar with one bottle of beer and a few soft drinks but no kettle in the room.

As for the room itself, we were on the top floor in a very large room with a high ceiling overlooking the gardens. There was a large bathroom with his/hers sinks and a jacuzzi bath which was a nice touch. As others have commented, it was all a bit tired and in need of updating. The wall-fitted bedside light on one side of the bed was missing completely and the other one did not work. Also, there appeared to be no way of controlling the heating in the room so we had to sleep with the windows open as the room was so hot.

On the plus side staff were very helpful and customer service was excellent.

This was once a very nice hotel in a great location for Ercolano but now needs some investment to bring it up to traveller expectations in the 21st century.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed here for one week in October. Superb situation for visiting Herculaneum which is about four minutes walk away. The hotel itself is beautiful, spotlessly clean. However, our fridge did not work, nor our bedside lights. The grounds are extensive and peaceful but it was a huge disappointment to find the swimming pool full of green slime despite the high temperatures and sunshine; we would have loved a swim. BEWARE - some of the room overlook the main street and the traffic is relentless day and night. We managed, but could not op0en our windows to let in any fresh air. Eating: we ordered a bowl of soup on our first evening and were charged £12 for something very ordinary. Outrageous! On the third morning we ordered breakfast in our rooms. this as a fiasco. ~It was half an hour late arriving and they got the order wrong three times! I really wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Sleep in a room overlooking the grounds. the others overlook a noisy main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pattod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

What a shame! The web site offers so much more!!

Don't get me wrong - the potential is there, unfortunately that's really all that was there.

We stayed here mid September and after a long day at Herculaneum and climbing to the top of Mount Vesuvius, a dip in the pool could have been the perfect way to round off the day. Unfortunately the pool was chained off and thick with green slime - I presume it had perhaps been open earlier in the summer but nowhere did it advise the pool would not be open.

Also we happened to be saying there on a Sunday - almost everywhere in Ercolano is closed on Sunday evenings including the hotel restaurant despite a menu in the lift stating otherwise. However when we went to the dining room we found it, the bar and kitchen closed with not a member of staff in sight. We were saved by a lovely restaurant just a long the road which was the only place to eat that was open.

The room was comfortable, but the bathroom smelled strongly of drains and the floor was dirty.

I wouldn't stay here again, I wouldn't stay in Ercolano again. It's such a shame that a town with an amazing attraction and a hotel with so much potential just can't live up to the hype.

Room Tip: Stay in Naples or Sorrento especially if it's Sunday
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Innspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This had to be truly one of the worst hotel experiences of all my hotel stays in the last 15 years. After reading reviews on this site I have to wonder if I stayed in a different hotel or perhaps something else is going on. Regardless, rather than a full diatribe I shall condense this down to these simple facts: 1)The hotel lobby and grounds of this converted villa are perfectly acceptable. This is to lull you into thinking the rooms will be nice.2)The rooms - deluxe room or whatever their elevated class was - were more akin to a budget room in a decrepit hotel. Paint - peeling. Bathrooms - mouldy like student digs and not remotely clean to the standard of a 3 star let alone 4 star establishment. Air con - ineffective and by the smell not serviced in half a decade. TV - too small to see from the bed. WiFi - inoperable. 3) Staff - initial friendliness turned to irritation as issues were pointed out. Oh well. 4) Location - for accessing Herculaneum you couldn't ask for more. Also, if one wishes to visit the dog excrement littered streets of Naples the train is quite quick from Ercolano. 5) Swimming pool - this is above average and in the grounds of the villa. This is a positive. Overall - the proximity to Herculaneum apart this was the worst hotel in terms of cleanliness and service I've experienced in quite some time. On the plus side, Vesuvius is overdue so perhaps a thorough re-modelling and renovation will finally occur.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sebastian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We had a 2 night stay here whilst on a tour of Italy. The hotel has beautiful rooms with high ceilings and is well furnished although a close inspection of some aspects shows that it does need some tlc in places. The staff were all very helpful and the pool was lovely. We ate here one evening and the food and service were great. It is very convenient for visiting Herculaneum which is just a short walk away. If arriving by train I would recommend getting off at Ercolona Scavi station. It is a slightly longer walk but on main streets, whereas getting off at Miglio Doro involves a walk through less pleasant areas.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChownA64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here for ten days in June, and enjoyed it very much. The hotel occupies the Villa Aprile, one of the great eighteenth century villas built along the coast below Mount Vesuvius. It is set in some ten acres of grounds, mostly laid out in a formal fashion and with a large swimming pool. We had a luxury-grade room on the third floor, overlooking the park, and found it spacious, comfortable and attractive. This being June, there were a number of weddings and First Communion parties, but these did not disturb us. The food, of a hotel style, was very enjoyable, though the service was erratic.

The hotel is less than five minutes' walk from the ruins, which allowed us to make several visits; follow-up visits in the late afternoon are particularly enjoyable because there are so few people around. The Royal Palace of Portici is just 15 minutes' walk away, and there are a number of other eighteenth-century villas nearby (Campolieto should be visited). Pompeii is easily reached by train, though Ercolano station is a 10-minute uphill walk. Ercolano, and the whole area, is poor and dirty, but at no time did we feel it unsafe and it is full of life.

Room Tip: The luxury grade is very good value. Park view is best, preferably from an upper floor (we were on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank screen1379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ercolano
0.6 mi away
Villa Signorini Events & Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Puntaquattroventi
Hotel Puntaquattroventi
#6 of 6 in Ercolano
160 reviews
2.1 mi away
Andris Hotel
Andris Hotel
#2 of 6 in Ercolano
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#2 of 4 in Torre Del Greco
480 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Marad
Hotel Marad
#1 of 4 in Torre Del Greco
362 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Herculaneum
Hotel Herculaneum
#1 of 6 in Ercolano
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miglio D'Oro Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miglio D'Oro Park Hotel

Address: Corso Resina 296, 80056 Ercolano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Ercolano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ercolano
Price Range: $103 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Miglio D'Oro Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Miglio D'Oro Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miglio d Oro Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing