We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sadly past it's sell by date”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Miglio D'Oro Park Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ercolano
Reviewed October 8, 2013

What a shame! The web site offers so much more!!

Don't get me wrong - the potential is there, unfortunately that's really all that was there.

We stayed here mid September and after a long day at Herculaneum and climbing to the top of Mount Vesuvius, a dip in the pool could have been the perfect way to round off the day. Unfortunately the pool was chained off and thick with green slime - I presume it had perhaps been open earlier in the summer but nowhere did it advise the pool would not be open.

Also we happened to be saying there on a Sunday - almost everywhere in Ercolano is closed on Sunday evenings including the hotel restaurant despite a menu in the lift stating otherwise. However when we went to the dining room we found it, the bar and kitchen closed with not a member of staff in sight. We were saved by a lovely restaurant just a long the road which was the only place to eat that was open.

The room was comfortable, but the bathroom smelled strongly of drains and the floor was dirty.

I wouldn't stay here again, I wouldn't stay in Ercolano again. It's such a shame that a town with an amazing attraction and a hotel with so much potential just can't live up to the hype.

Room Tip: Stay in Naples or Sorrento especially if it's Sunday
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Innspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
There are newer reviews for Miglio D'Oro Park Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 383 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

This had to be truly one of the worst hotel experiences of all my hotel stays in the last 15 years. After reading reviews on this site I have to wonder if I stayed in a different hotel or perhaps something else is going on. Regardless, rather than a full diatribe I shall condense this down to these simple facts: 1)The hotel lobby and grounds of this converted villa are perfectly acceptable. This is to lull you into thinking the rooms will be nice.2)The rooms - deluxe room or whatever their elevated class was - were more akin to a budget room in a decrepit hotel. Paint - peeling. Bathrooms - mouldy like student digs and not remotely clean to the standard of a 3 star let alone 4 star establishment. Air con - ineffective and by the smell not serviced in half a decade. TV - too small to see from the bed. WiFi - inoperable. 3) Staff - initial friendliness turned to irritation as issues were pointed out. Oh well. 4) Location - for accessing Herculaneum you couldn't ask for more. Also, if one wishes to visit the dog excrement littered streets of Naples the train is quite quick from Ercolano. 5) Swimming pool - this is above average and in the grounds of the villa. This is a positive. Overall - the proximity to Herculaneum apart this was the worst hotel in terms of cleanliness and service I've experienced in quite some time. On the plus side, Vesuvius is overdue so perhaps a thorough re-modelling and renovation will finally occur.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sebastian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We had a 2 night stay here whilst on a tour of Italy. The hotel has beautiful rooms with high ceilings and is well furnished although a close inspection of some aspects shows that it does need some tlc in places. The staff were all very helpful and the pool was lovely. We ate here one evening and the food and service were great. It is very convenient for visiting Herculaneum which is just a short walk away. If arriving by train I would recommend getting off at Ercolona Scavi station. It is a slightly longer walk but on main streets, whereas getting off at Miglio Doro involves a walk through less pleasant areas.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChownA64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here for ten days in June, and enjoyed it very much. The hotel occupies the Villa Aprile, one of the great eighteenth century villas built along the coast below Mount Vesuvius. It is set in some ten acres of grounds, mostly laid out in a formal fashion and with a large swimming pool. We had a luxury-grade room on the third floor, overlooking the park, and found it spacious, comfortable and attractive. This being June, there were a number of weddings and First Communion parties, but these did not disturb us. The food, of a hotel style, was very enjoyable, though the service was erratic.

The hotel is less than five minutes' walk from the ruins, which allowed us to make several visits; follow-up visits in the late afternoon are particularly enjoyable because there are so few people around. The Royal Palace of Portici is just 15 minutes' walk away, and there are a number of other eighteenth-century villas nearby (Campolieto should be visited). Pompeii is easily reached by train, though Ercolano station is a 10-minute uphill walk. Ercolano, and the whole area, is poor and dirty, but at no time did we feel it unsafe and it is full of life.

Room Tip: The luxury grade is very good value. Park view is best, preferably from an upper floor (we were on t...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank screen1379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed at this lovely hotel for 4 days in May .Had the most amazing room ,the biggest that I have ever stayed in with wonderful views over the back terrace and garden .
Very friendly ,helpful staff who could not do enough for us . Several very good restaurants within walking distance ,train 10 mins walk away so very convenient for site seeing. Although in a busy district ,it is safe and quiet with secure parking .

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheena f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel for a great price. The rooms and bathroom are large and comfortable. The view was very pleasant...our room over looked orchards. This is a wonderful romantic get away or even just a lovely place to be pampered. The staff were friendly and accommodating. I intend to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed just the one night to visit the ruins but now wish we had stayed longer. We stayed in room 206 on the first floor. A huge, oval room about 8x5m, tastefully furnished in black, white and grey and with the bed set 1.5m from the end of the oval, with a massive bed head that was also a screen to hide the clothes hanging space and suitcase storage, so that it was possible to keep the room looking elegant for the whole of our stay rather than the tip it usually becomes. We loved our first taste of film star living. But there is more - the bathroom is equally amazing. About 5x3m, white marble everywhere, a huge two person shower, and with a balcony overlooking the park.

Inevitably this built up our expectations. Breakfast was OK, but not wonderful - it had the usual wide range of cereals, fruit, yoghurt, cheese, cold meat, fruit juice, breads, tea and coffee, BUT the coffee was the worst I tasted in Italy (felt like it had stewed all night), and the fruit was canned peaches and pineapple, which was a bit of a let down.

Lots of spacious public rooms with comfortable seating and good Wi-Fi signal strength but only near to the reception desk.

Out the front door, turn right, and the entrance to the Herculaneum ruins is about 200m along on the left hand side. The hotel's park is also well worth exploring.

TIP if you are arriving by car go to the front door first, unload your suitcases, then drive around to the back of the hotel to the car park entrance whose gate is opened remotely from reception.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a park view, best of all ask for room 206.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike-john-c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ercolano
0.6 mi away
Villa Signorini Events & Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Herculaneum
Hotel Herculaneum
#1 of 6 in Ercolano
374 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Marad
Hotel Marad
#1 of 4 in Torre Del Greco
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Puntaquattroventi
Hotel Puntaquattroventi
#6 of 6 in Ercolano
152 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#2 of 4 in Torre Del Greco
454 reviews
2.1 mi away
Andris Hotel
Andris Hotel
#2 of 6 in Ercolano
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miglio D'Oro Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miglio D'Oro Park Hotel

Address: Corso Resina 296, 80056 Ercolano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Ercolano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ercolano
Price Range: $99 - $940 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Miglio D'Oro Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Miglio D'Oro Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miglio d Oro Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing