We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views!”
Review of Le Fumarole

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Fumarole
Ranked #1 of 29 Ercolano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tartu, Estonia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful views!”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Beautiful and well maintained garden, nice rooms, sweet and kind owner and exceptional views from the balcony - terrific! We had a very nice evening sitting on the balcony, looking at the city lights, enjoying the company of the B&B's huge and elderly dog Augustus and listening to a band rehersal (sounded more like a concert actually, well played, guys!) from somewhere nearby. A cosy place to stay and the location is excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    60
    10
    8
    6
See reviews for
75
198
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We felt SO lucky that we found Le Funarole through Trip Advisor - 2 special nights as part of our 25th wedding anniversary trip through Italy and Greece. Perfect location from which we drove to Pompeii and Sorrento in one day, picked up take-out pizza and wine from the B&B recommended restaurant on the way home, took it back to the B&B and sat out with a view of the Bay of Naples. Then to make it even more special our hostess, Maria Grazia, lighting candles, providing plates and wine glasses, and then bringing out a bottle of wine from 3 generations of her family's wine making - remarkable, romantic and oh so special. The housekeeping was unbelieveable - even organizing our bathroom stuff into a beautiful basket! It is fully equipped (unlike many other accommodations in Italy) and Madonna and Maria Grazia make you feel right at home. Very much enjoyed and totally recommend. PS. Madonna's breakfasts were outstanding :-)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marnie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We found this wonderful b&b by searching the web and once we saw the great reviews on tripadvisor didn't hesitate to book it for the first four nights of our holiday. We were certainly not disappointed. our room was lovely, just as it was shown on the website, and the maid kept it immaculately clean, even folding the clothes we had left on the chairs! The views of the Bay of Naples from the terraces are stunning. it was very convenient having the Circumvesuviana train just a 10 minute car drive away and we were able to explore, Pompeii, Naples and Herculaneum. But walking up Vesuvius was a real highlight. The hospitality at Le Fumarole was just wonderful, Maria Grazia is a great hostess and even invited us to an evening at the b&b when she was hosting a christening celebration. We were the only non Italian guests but were made to feel very much at home. Madonna the lovely young lady who looks after everyone in Maria Grazia's absence is just delightful. She couldn't have been more helpful and also cooked us a really delicious meal one evening. Thank you Madonna and Maria Grazia for making the start of our Italian holiday so memorable. We will certainly recommend you.

Room Tip: We chose the Gaia room which had a lovely terrace overlooking the bay of Naples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet_M_13713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Barrington, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

A client had recommended Le Fumarole for its spectacular views and creatively decorated rooms.In addition,what we encountered was a delightful retreat while touring Herculanium, Pompeii and Naples with a hostess (Maria Grazia) possessing an unquantifiable generosity of spirit. And inspired breakfasts of her home-grown fruits and locally produced cheeses and breads. Don't forget to a have a conversation with her lovely assistant- innkeeper, Madonna.
in short, WE LOVED THE EXPERIENCE!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Naples room on 2 different occasions which was perfect for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed December 14, 2012

A great place! In the United States we call it southern hospitality. In Italy they must refer to it as B&B Le Fumarole hospitality. Maria Grazia and Madonna Gobechia cannot help but make you feel at home; it is in their nature. The rooms were comfortable leaving nothing more to be desired. Standing on the terraces of the B&B Le Fumarole, one has a breathtaking view overlooking Naples and its bay. The B&B Le Fumarole is a great location for visiting Mount Vesuvius and the ruins of Pompeii and Herculaneum. However, there is a great danger of not wanting to leave your accommodations and the company of these two lovely ladies. We were only able to stay one night but wished it was many more.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur_Tammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monteprandone, Italy
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My family and I stayed here while visiting a friend from Napoli. The B and B is spectacular. Clean rooms, friendly people and every detail was paid the most attention. The view of Napoli and the bay is outstanding. Located close to city and near to the ruins of Pompeii. If you are traveling to the Napoli area, this is where you should stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesse P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2012

A charming small B&B. Located on the Vesuvio Way, about 1/3 of the way up, with breath taking view of the bay of Napoli. The place is very charming, with great attention paid to every detail in the rooms - very colorful, artistically decorated - and outside. The owners and staff are very helpful, with the typical southern Italian charm and enthusiasm.
A little hard to find - simply ask or find the road to the Vesuvio and you can't miss it. I wish we could stay longer, since it is very convenient to reach Napoli, Capri, the Amalfi, Pompei and, of course, the Vesuvio. It was our first night in Italy, and I would not trade it with any other place.

Room Tip: All are good. Great views and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AviShelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ercolano
0.4 mi away
Andris Hotel
Andris Hotel
#2 of 6 in Ercolano
370 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Herculaneum
Hotel Herculaneum
#1 of 6 in Ercolano
359 reviews
2.2 mi away
Villa Signorini Events & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#2 of 4 in Torre Del Greco
438 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Marad
Hotel Marad
#1 of 4 in Torre Del Greco
333 reviews
1.9 mi away
Miglio D'Oro Park Hotel
Miglio D'Oro Park Hotel
#5 of 6 in Ercolano
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Fumarole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Fumarole

Property: Le Fumarole
Address: Via San Vito 142, 80056 Ercolano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Ercolano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Ercolano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Le Fumarole 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Le Fumarole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing