We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely place to stay”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Llia Cysglyd

The view of Fan Llia in the Brecon Beacons from Llia Cysglyd (Sleepy Llia)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The view of Fan Llia in the Brecon Beacons from Llia Cysglyd (Sleepy Llia)
The bedroom has fully fitted wardrobes ,dressing table with mirror and a chest of drawers Dining for 4 and a high chair available
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
The view of Fan Llia in the Brecon Beacons from Llia Cysglyd (Sleepy Llia)
The bedroom has fully fitted wardrobes ,dressing table with mirror and a chest of drawers
Dining for 4 and a high chair available
The en suite shower room
The lounge area with stunning views from the French doors
The Lounge has a bed settee ,tv,dvd player,WiFi,films,books and games
Beautiful surroundings.Watch the birds come to feed
The colours are ever changing from yellow/green to snow capped mountain tops
Take some time out to relax and enjoy the stunning views.You won't be dissapointed
Fan Gihirych and Fan Llia at dusk
The view from the top of Penyfan only 20 minutes drive
Spend a day visiting the famous Scwd yr Eira and waterfalls at Glynneath and Aberdulais
Take a picnic and enjoy the peace and tranquility
There is a Gas barbeque for those evenings watching the sun set
Sunset over LLia with a glass of your favourite tipple
Stunning Rhossili Bay Gower.Take a walk on the coastal path and lunch at Worms head with views
Nearby Llangorse lake, Wales largest natural lake and famous for its coarse fishing and watersports.
Stargazing is popular in the Brecon Beacons National Park Observatory at  Libanus
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Aberdare, Rhondda Cynon Taf, South Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Pauline P
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed May 30, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Great place to stay the annexe had everything we needed and was in the perfect place to see all the things we wanted to.
There are so many waterfalls to see only a few miles away, we did a gorge scramble and Alison kindly dried are wet clothes for us, lovely people.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiran_pur...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed February 12, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

What are lovely holiday we had. I booked this holiday cottage stay for my husband's birthday just based on the star rating and good comments that I saw on trip advisor. Guess what, got more than I expected and full five sparkling stars from me and my husband. The cottage is in a ship shape condition. Very very tidy, fully equipped kitchen, milk, bread, butter in the fridge, warm and pleasant interior decoration,  big spacious bathroom, power shower, nice bed and plenty of bedding with extra pillows, twoTV's, film dvd's, local info leaflets in abundance, absolutely stunning view of the snow capped mountains from the big bold French doors - WOW. The amenities are wonderful to have when on a holiday but I have to mention how amazing the cottage owners are.  Stephen and Alison have really put their heart into it.

We don't drive a car which is an inconvenience when it's comes to staying in this part of Wales. But we have been given loads of information about the local busses, trains to explore. Everyday we were given a to and fro ride from the train and bus stops. Stephen and Alison, thank you for your time, kindness and generosity. We managed to explore the Trehafod Heritage park hotel, Cardiff Castle,  The Gower, Caerphilly castle, Cyfarthfa museum castle, Penderyn distillery and the stunning waterfalls in Pontneddfechan, Nr  Glynneath. Llia Cysglyd is near to quite a few attractions and we made the most of it. We would surely come back again this year to explore more of beautiful Breacon's and the Welsh Valleys. Best part is the price is just right. Very affordable and the property has so much to offer. Must have self catering cottage holiday which is owned by the A-Team - Stephen and Alison, thank you.

Regards
Manish and Kiran

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 12, 2016
Thank you for your wonderful review.We do try our best to give guests to Llia Cysglyd a good experience of what South Wales has to offer.It was a pleasure to have you to stay.We so enjoyed chatting with you both and look forward you seeing you again.Alison and Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B
2 reviews
“Amazing!”
Reviewed November 22, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This review is a tad overdue! We visited in early October as we had tickets for the rugby World Cup and wanted to stay outside of Cardiff, away from the hustle and bustle.

From the moment we booked the communication with Alison was great. We enquired about travelling into Cardiff and about local places to eat and Alison astounded us with an immediate offer of a lift to Aberdare train station and offers of booking tables at the local pub.

This was just the start of Stephen and Alison's amazing generosity. Words fail me when I try to describe just how lovely this couple are!

We arrived on game day and as promised Stephen was waiting to take us to the station and even offered to pick us back up after our return journey!!

The apartment itself is lovely! A home away from home with beautiful views! Stephen and Alison had bought us bread, milk and butter, left us two welsh cakes and there was plenty of tea and coffee. The apartment had lots of leaflets, guides and a guestbook which helped us decide what to do for the duration of our stay.

The four falls trail is a must if you enjoy the outdoors, and Stephen and Alison have lots of other recommendations which we will have to return to fit in.

We ate in the pub across the road and the food was great. We returned here for drinks a few times and the landlord and all the staff were so friendly, going out of the way to make us feel welcome.

We were in here on our last night to watch England vs Australia and were lucky to be joined by Stephen and Alison after the game for a 'few' strongbows and a lot of laughs! Perfect company and the perfect way to end our stay!

If you are thinking about staying here, do not hesitate to book. We will definitely be back! The apartment, location and views are stunning, but it was the lovely owners who made our break so special!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 24, 2015
Thank you so much both for your lovely comments. It was an absolute pleasure to meet you both and we will look forward to seeing you in Wales again soon. We will keep a table ready for you in the pub lol
Merry Christmas and here's to the Six Nations !!
Alison and Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacinta O
1 review
“Can't wait to come back!”
Reviewed November 2, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My husband and 2yr old daughter had a delightful stay in this wonderful annex and only wish we could have stayed longer. The annex was spacious, immaculate and in perfect condition. We were met with a warm welcome from Stephen who also provided us with lots of great tips for things to do in the area. The welcome package of goodies including chocolate and Welsh cakes was much appreciated and the views from the loungeroom window were stunning. We thoroughly recommend this holiday retreat.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 24, 2015
Thank you Jacinta for your lovely comments.Hope to see you again soon and that you are well
Best Wishes
Alison and Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane B
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Perfect location to explore the Brecon Beacons”
Reviewed September 27, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Very nice clean modern apartment. The view out the backdoor is wonderful. Watched the fog rise from the valleys each morning. Convenient location to visit the Beacons, waterfalls, etc.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 28, 2015
Thank you so much for your review.We are glad you enjoyed the views of the Brecon Beacons from the apartment.Hope you manage to return and climb Penyfan
Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oreo_jo
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous - The nicest people I have ever met, EVER”
Reviewed August 3, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My mum, partner and I stayed here for one night in July 2015 and had the best experience. Although brief (because we arrived really late), we had the most pleasant experience. Alison and Stephen are genuinely the nicest, most friendly people I have ever met - they provided us with Welsh cakes, milk, tea/coffee, bread, jam, butter on arrival and were just super.
The house/accommodation space is lovely - well finished, easily accommodates 3 people with 1 on a pull out sofa and two in a separate double bed, and is just super.

We were staying in the area over a weekend in order to view wedding reception venues, and Alison & Stephen (at some point in their own time before 10pm and 9am!) did some research for us into possible venues....bless them!

Alison and Stephen are lovely people with the kindest of hearts and I would recommend anyone to stay in their delightful property. I do hope I can return any favour to them in the future, they are lovely lovely lovely!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Owners and accommodation
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 5, 2015
Oh Joanne thank you so much! It was a pleasure to meet you all .I only wish you could have stayed longer.I hope you have luck finding your perfect venue for your special day.Keep in touch and hopefully you will come back soon with all your pics to show off.Good luck Alison and Stephen x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulhird
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Great Place To Explore Waterfall Country”
Reviewed July 2, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

After seeing the waterfalls in the Southern Brecon Beacons on BBC's Secret Britain we decided to book a week there. We were not disappointed! This is the perfect base to explore the delights of "Waterfall Country". Both the "Sgwd Yr Eira" & "Henrhyd" falls (both of which you can walk behind) are within a few miles. We are walkers and found this a good location for both the waterfalls and the mountains like "Pen Y Fan". The accommodation is a self-contained 1 bedroomed flat in the owners' large new detached house in the village of Cefn Rhigos - about 5 miles west of Aberdare. It has a large and powerful walk-in shower, TV in the bedroom & lounge, and free Wi-Fi. The kitchen was well-equipped, although there was no full-sized oven - there was a mini oven though for grilling or cooking small items, so not a problem for us. The owners were really friendly and helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the living room
Liked least: Nothing really.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 23, 2015
Thank you for the lovely comments .Hope all is well with you both.Look forward to seeing you again soon Stephen and Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing